5 Star Series Review: The Magicians by Lev Grossman

July 10, 2015 Fantasy, Favorite Books 0

TheMagiciansbanner

 

Hello Readers! So, I realize that I’ve been gone for a while. In January, I decided to take a month blogger break and well, one month turned in to two which turned in to six. Here’s the thing, not only was I experiencing a bit off blogger burnout, I was in a MAJOR book slump. It hard to imagine really. Here I am, surrounded by all of these fantastic books, and NOTHING could keep my attention. I picked up books and just as quickly put them back down. I decided not to push it, and figured it would happen when I was ready. I tried books of all genres and FINALLY, something stuck. I searched for something in fantasy, genre I’ve always loved. (Not the juicy, kinky, sexy fantasy, but the dragons and magic kind of fantasy.) I stumbled on The Magicians by Lev Grossman and the blurb and the reviews had me intrigued. I one-clicked, started reading, and before I knew it, I had FINISHED A BOOK. And even better, I loved it. I immediately read the rest of the series and I’m officially out of my book funk!! Check out the blurbs and my review and if this type of story is your cup of tea, I highly suggest you give it a try.

 

My Review

My Rating: 5 Stars

“It didn’t matter where you were, if you were in a room full of books you were at least halfway home.”

The Magicians series drug me kicking and screaming out of a devastating, mind-numbing reading slump. It was no easy task I assure you but these books had me hooked. I breezed through the entire and series, and when it was finished, the spell was released. I looked around, disoriented, blinking, and bleary-eyed, and realized I just read/witnessed something special. No, something magical.

I’ve heard this series described as “Harry Potter for adults”. Maybe, but that’s quite a stretch. There’s a magic school and it’s a coming of age story but that’s where the similarities stop. Perhaps if Harry Potter was darker, grittier, and more introspective. He’d also have to drink more. The Magicians has it’s own unique and realized world, many worlds really, and our cast of magical misfits moves through them, encountering adventures and wonders, horrors and heartbreak.

The Magicians begins as a coming of age story and follows as the characters move in to adulthood. Adulthood for anyone is complicated, but when you must save magical worlds, manipulate the elements, and defy the Gods of the universe, life is infinitely more difficult. It’s a story of friendship, romance, death, vice, and magic.  It’s about finding yourself, fighting your inner demons and the demons of the world, and sacrificing yourself to save the one you love. Childhood fantasies collide violently with an alternate magical reality and the result is a beautiful and imaginative series, a true fantasy gem.

“He’d been right about the world, but he was wrong about himself. The world was a desert, but he was a magician, and to be a magician was a secret spring-a moving oasis. He wasn’t desolate, and he wasn’t empty. We was full of emotion, full of feeling, bursting with them, and when it came down to it that’s what being a magician was. They weren’t ordinary feelings-they weren’t the tame, domesticated kind. Magic was wild feelings, the kind that escaped you and into the world and changed things.”

 

About the Books

 

The Magicians coverThe Magicians (The Magicians #1)

Like everyone else, precocious high school senior Quentin Coldwater assumes that magic isn’t real, until he finds himself admitted to a very secretive and exclusive college of magic in upstate New York. There he indulges in joys of college-friendship, love, sex, and booze- and receives a rigorous education in modern sorcery. But magic doesn’t bring the happiness and adventure Quentin thought it would. After graduation, he and his friends stumble upon a secret that sets them on a remarkable journey that may just fulfill Quentin’s yearning. But their journey turns out to be darker and more dangerous than they’d imagined. Psychologically piercing and dazzlingly inventive, The Magicians, the prequel to the New York Times bestselling book The Magician King and the #1 bestseller The Magician’s Land, is an enthralling coming-of-age tale about magic practiced in the real world-where good and evil aren’t black and white, and power comes at a terrible price.

Amazon | Goodreads

 

The Magician King coverThe Magician King (The Magicians #2)

Return to Fillory in the riveting sequel to The New York Times bestseller and literary phenomenon of 2009–The Magicians.

The Magicians was praised as a triumph by readers and critics of both mainstream and fantasy literature. Now Grossman takes us back to Fillory, where the Brakebills graduates have fled the sorrows of the mundane world, only to face terrifying new challenges.

Quentin and his friends are now the kings and queens of Fillory, but the days and nights of royal luxury are starting to pall. After a morning hunt takes a sinister turn, Quentin and his old friend Julia charter a magical sailing ship and set out on an errand to the wild outer reaches of their kingdom. Their pleasure cruise becomes an adventure when the two are unceremoniously dumped back into the last place Quentin ever wants to see: his parent’s house in Chesterton, Massachusetts. And only the black, twisted magic that Julia learned on the streets can save them.

The Magician King is a grand voyage into the dark, glittering heart of magic, an epic quest for the Harry Potter generation. It also introduces a powerful new voice, that of Julia, whose angry genius is thrilling. Once again Grossman proves that he is the cutting edge of literary fantasy.

Amazon | Goodreads

 

The Magicians Land coverThe Magician’s Land (The Magicians #3)

Quentin Coldwater has been cast out of Fillory, the secret magical land of his childhood dreams. With nothing left to lose, he returns to where his story began, the Brakebills Preparatory College of Magic, but he can’t hide from his past, and it’s not long before it comes looking for him.

Along with Plum, a brilliant young undergraduate with a dark secret of her own, Quentin sets out on a crooked path through a magical demimonde of gray magic and desperate characters. But all roads lead back to Fillory, and his new life takes him to old haunts, like Antarctica, and to buried secrets and old friends he thought were lost forever. He uncovers the key to a sorcery masterwork, a spell that could create magical utopia, and a new Fillory–but casting it will set in motion a chain of events that will bring Earth and Fillory crashing together. To save them he will have to risk sacrificing everything.

Amazon | Goodreads

 

 


Excerpt, #Giveaway, and Series Reading Order: SPARROW WAY (Saving Angels #5) by Annie Rose Welch (@angelwriter11)

February 24, 2015 Book Tour, Current Giveaways, Fantasy Romance, Romance, Series Reading Orders 0

I haven’t actually read this series, YET. I do have the entire series on my kindle and it’s way up there on my TBR. It looks really, really good and so many reader friends have recommended it so I saved all of the books up for an epic binge read. I’ll let you know how it goes!

 

23436806

AddtoGoodreads amazon

*At the time of this post, the book is priced at only $0.99 for a kindle countdown deal!

 

About Sparrow Way

 

The final journey of the Saving Angels series has come to an end. All roads have led you to….

“What’s the address?” she asks.

“Eleven Sparrow Way.”

She closes her eyes for a moment. “I like that. Our journey has flown us here, flown us home….”

Gabriel Roberts found his happily ever after at The Crossroads of his life. He found his brother, Michael, his history in the Legion, and the love of his life, his Evangeline. He has finally arrived at the place he always yearned for—home.

But time stops for no one; not even an angel.

For years Gabriel has guarded what is most precious to him, Evangeline and their transcendent love story. When the opportunity presents itself in an unexpected way, Gabriel decides to tell his story, and in doing so, answers the riddle of his heart: If life is the journey of years, perhaps love is the journey of a lifetime?

 

wedding dress with text color frost bokah

 

Excerpt

 

My eyes savor every inch of her bare flesh. The gentle sway of her body, the way her waist melts into her rolling, swinging hips. Her body is soft, but firm. Her eyes are full of longing and bright fire. Her stare melts me, like a slow burn. My will drips, drips, drips as she moves into me.

“I can’t get you close enough, fast enough,” I breathe. I want to drink her, absorb her, until every pore in my body is overflowing with her. Her tongue tastes like warm, sweet honey. I can never have enough of her this way. Of this I am infinitely positive.

Her head tilts backward. Her lips curl in an upward smile of pleasure. Her hair falls around her back, uncovering her breasts. The sweet smell from her bare skin enraptures me. Her hands rush through my hair. She traces the lines of my face; her fingertips seem to float across my skin. “Memorizing you,” she breathes out as her hands make their way to my body, undressing me.

I move into her, trembling, dripping with heat. My fingers pulsate and pull against her soft skin and her knees buckle.

“When you touch me, you feel like thunder pounding against my skin,” she whispers.

I’m careful now—the want needs to grow until it can no longer be controlled. Like a beast being released after years of being caged.

The tension builds, causing my soul to stir.

 

Enter the Giveaway Below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Series Reading Order (Click on covers)

 

18157917 18397194 20933719 22676500

and #5, Sparrow Way

23436806

 

About the Author

 

Born and raised in New Orleans, Annie has a habit of shortening her words and telling long stories. She speaks with a southern flair and cooks with it too. At the tender age of twenty- one, she hitched up her wagons (took her first plane ride) and moved out west to the big shake (California).

Her writing career began one sleepless night when she imagined a gorgeous woman and a man with maniacal hair floating above her like lightening bugs falling from the sky. Curious about them, their story, and why they were floating around in her head, she sat down and penned (typed) her first novel, Marigny Street. A dream come true for her, she hasn’t stopped writing since. She loves a damn good love story, always has, no matter what the genre. She is particularly moved by imperfect love that in its own unique way is perfect, the notion of love at first sight, soul mates, and things that are generally out of the norm.

When she’s not writing she enjoys dabbling in photography and finding new, inspirational music to add to her collection. Deciding on a whim to hitch up those same wagons, Annie currently resides in Texas (where everything is bigger) with her husband, daughter, and their two peculiar dogs, Boudreaux and Tabasco (who, call her crazy, bark with an accent).

For lagniappe (a little extra), a virtual cup of café au lait and beignets, please visit Annie’s website:
www.annierosewelch.com

She can also be found on Facebook & Twitter.

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads  | Amazon Author Page 

 


Book Review: JUST ONE SIP by Scarlett Dawn @ScarlettDawnUSA

February 11, 2015 Book Review, Romance 0

23532822

AddtoGoodreads amazon

 

About the Book

 

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, Scarlett Dawn, turns up the heat with two best friends, who were always meant for each other, in the first novella of The Club series, Just One Sip

Lucy Plume knows Jet Mak is the man she wants to marry. Her thoughts have never wavered to another. Lucy knows all of Jet’s secrets, his family’s secrets, and doesn’t give a damn. He is her best friend, her lover, her confidant…her all. But can she finally find the courage to say yes?

Jet Mak knows Lucy Plume is the woman he wants to marry. He’s known since they were children. Lucy is the only woman who can make him smile and groan at the same time. She tests his patience beyond what most men would endure, but he doesn’t care. He wants her, and everyone knows it. If only Lucy would say yes…

This is a multi-author project–you can find all The Club books at http://www.theclub.website/.

 

My Review

 

My Rating: 4.5 Stars

” ‘You know Jet isn’t the type of man to take just one sip from.’

My lips twitched. ‘Actually, you’re wrong. He’s the man I want to take just one sip from every minute of every hour of every day. For the rest of my life.’ “

Though it’s just a novella, Just One Sip still has all of the elements of a good read: intriguing characters that are well developed, even in a short format, a juicy romantic plot, and just enough steam. Jet and Lucy’s best friends to lovers story is sweet, hot, and satisfying.

The book’s timeline skips around a bit, so it’s important to check the heading when starting a new chapter so that you know where you are. It took me a couple of chapters to get used to it, but the story still flowed. It  made complete sense and the glimpses in to the past enhanced the story of the present. As with all of Dawn’s books that I have read, the writing style is uniquely hers: clear and well-written, with genuine dialogue and emotion, sexiness, and a quirky sense of humor.

Though Jet and Lucy’s romance is a story all in it’s own, it seems that there’s more going on in the background. There’s a mysterious air surrounding Jet and Lucy’s family, as well as The Club. I’ll be looking out for future books in the series to see where this story might lead.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book for the purpose of honest review.

 

About the Author

 

Scarlett Dawn is the author of the Forever Evermore new adult fantasy series, which include King Hall and King Cave.

She lives in the Midwest, where she loves to ‘people watch’ and daydream. She adores her music loud and her fries covered in cheese.

Scarlett Dawn’s website: http://www.scarlettdawn.net.

CLICK HERE to read more of my reviews of Scarlett’s books.

 


Cover Reveal: LOVE STARTS WITH Z by Tera Shanley (@TeraShanley) #FavoriteAuthor #FavoriteSeries

January 27, 2015 Cover Reveal, Favorite Books 2

I’m so excited to share the cover for book #3 in Tera Shanley’s Dead Rapture Series, Love Starts With a Z! I love this author and her post-apocalyptic zombie books are some of my favorites. The books perfectly combine action and heartfelt emotion. This series is a must-read for fans of zombies and romance alike!

 

Release Date: February 17, 2015

Love Starts With Z cover

AddtoGoodreads

 

About the Book

 

Book #3 in the Dead Rapture Series. “She was Dead and human, and no matter which side she chose, she was a traitor.”

Twenty-four years into the Dead outbreak that ended the world, Soren Mitchell sticks out like a sore thumb in the remains of the human race. She’s an anomaly: a hybrid of human and Dead, created by her mother’s genetic immunity. Like her parents, she’s fierce and strong. But despite their hopes for her happiness and safety, and even though she is no real threat to the colony, she has let the humans muzzle her and confine her within the walls of Dead Run River in search of a cure.

When Kaegan Langford stumbles into the colony with an injured friend draped across his shoulders, her world is turned upside down. Intrigued and affected by her, he asks her to come to Empalme, Mexico with him to fight in the war between Deads and humans. It’ll be a long, treacherous journey to the coast, but she’s had all she can take in the colony.

Battles with Deads, betrayal, injury, kidnappings, and a criminal-run train ride stand between them and the war. But in the end, it’s not just the war with the Deads that could be the death of them.

Tera Shanley’s final book in the Dead Rapture series will thrill your heart…and your braaaains.

 

About the Author

 

Tera Shanley writes in sub-genres that stretch from Paranormal Romance, to Historic Western Romance, to Apocalyptic (zombie) Romance. The common theme? She loves love. A self-proclaimed bookworm, she was raised in small town Texas and could often be found decorating a table at the local library. She currently lives in Dallas with her husband and two young children and when she isn’t busy running around after her family, she’s writing a new story or devouring a good book. Any spare time is dedicated to chocolate licking, rifle slinging, zombie slaying, friend hugging, and the great outdoors. For more information about Tera and her work, visit www.terashanley.com.

Facebook | Twitter

 

Read the rest of the Dead Rapture Series

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


*New Release* Excerpt and #Giveaway: THREE LITTLE WORDS by Maggie Wells #EroticRomance

December 15, 2014 Adult, Erotic Romance, New Release, Past Giveaways 1

Three Little Words

 

Three Little Words_Maggie Wells (683x1024)

AddtoGoodreads

Title: Three Little Words

Genre: Erotic Romance 18+

Author: Maggie Wells

Sexual Content: Explicit

Publish Date: December 15, 2014

Publisher Lyrical/Kensington

Type of book: Stand-alone novel

 Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Kensington | Kobo | iTunes | Google Play

 

About Three Little Words

 

It’s never too late to make the best impulsive decision of your life.

Jo Masters isn’t the party girl she used to be, but now that she’s a woman without obligations, she’s ready to recapture a little of her misspent youth. Her niece’s wedding, with its open bar and dark dance floor, proves to be the perfect opportunity to let loose.

Gregory Stark is just trying to make it through his son’s wedding day… and make some time with the gorgeous brunette on the bride’s side of the aisle. His kid’s wedding probably isn’t the best occasion to put the moves on the sexy woman, who introduces herself only as ‘Josie’, but his best friend is closing in on her too and he has to act fast. With a couple of tequila shots under his belt, Greg propositions Josie — and neither wants to refuse

 

Excerpt

 

The line at the bar wasn’t long, but she needed a drink–a real drink–and she needed it fast. Jo twirled her empty champagne flute and tapped her toe as the DJ made a cringe-worthy segue between Louis Armstrong and Pink. A pang of regret tweaked her stomach when she spotted her eldest brother, Tony, leading his baby girl from the dance floor, but that was nothing new. She’d suffered so many pangs in her life they’d become a part of her autonomic system. Breathe in, breathe out, pang. Blink, sniffle, sneeze, pang. Go to bed alone–again–pang!

At the tender age of twenty-six, her niece had managed to accomplish everything Jo never had. Kaylin had a career, a home of her own, and a man she loved so much she actually glowed. Literally glowed. Jo hadn’t known such a glow since her mother stopped slathering her sunburns in Noxzema.

Radiant happiness was enough to drive a woman to drink.

Three groomsmen bellied up to the bar and jockeyed for position in front of the pretty blond bartender. Their voices rose as they trumped each other’s orders. Each successive suggestion was an obvious attempt to prove the issuer was more worldly, and therefore manly, than the last. The misguided boys must have believed their ability to chug grain alcohol might make or break their chance at ending the evening in the poor girl’s bed. The bartender eyed them with hardly-contained disdain. The posturing little pricks didn’t notice. Jo couldn’t help but smile when the girl rolled her eyes and went back to stacking glassware.

What little buzz Jo had managed to eke out of two glasses of table wine and a flute of champagne began to wane. She considered goosing one of the guys to shock him into gear, but then another tuxedo-clad man, murmuring quiet excuses, slipped in front of her. The groomsmen jumped when the newcomer gripped their padded shoulders.

“Three beers for these guys, please. Give them the imported stuff.” Casually, he stuffed a twenty-dollar bill into the pitcher serving as a tip jar. “Having fun, fellas?”

The groomsmen replied in the affirmative, but their cheeks glowed pink. Bravado squelched, they grabbed their beers and beat a hasty retreat. The hero of the hour turned to face Jo. Recognition kicked in. Saliva pooled in her mouth and a tingle of awareness prickled the fine hairs at her nape. Her savior was none other than the father of the groom. It took a fraction of a second for her brain to source the pertinent facts Kaylin had imparted on Ben’s father. Gregory. Greg. Divorced, devoted dad, and hot as Hades on a summer day. Confronted with him now, Jo was happy to confirm the acute case of the bright shinies hadn’t skewed her niece’s powers of observation. Gregory Stark was all that and more.

He’d sneaked glances at her all through the ceremony. Now, he grinned right at her. “Good to know I’ve still got it.”

His dark eyes glinted with amusement. She wasn’t sure if he was referring to his ability to circumvent a bar line, or the fact that she’d been unable to resist returning every one of the furtive glances he’d tossed her way. Jo decided to play it neutral.

Rolling her parched tongue up off the carpet, she nodded the approbation he was obviously seeking. “Effective.”

No lie. He was the most attractive man she’d laid eyes on in forever. Which made perfect sense in a bizarre Karmic way. Of course she had to meet this man after she’d poked a nail through her last pair of control-top pantyhose.

Still, there was no reason she couldn’t catalog every bit of him for later use. With a practiced eye, she gauged him to be a few years older than her. Her guess put him somewhere in his mid-fifties. Unlike most men, he hadn’t packed on any extra cushioning for the slide into the AARP years. He was tall and lean, his movements as taut and compelling as the lines bracketing his eyes and those sculpted lips. His jaw was smooth and shiny, clean-shaven, but the shadow of a heavy beard loomed below the surface. Jo wanted to know what else he kept hidden under the slick exterior.

He’d been seated in the front pew at the ceremony beside his ex-wife and her husband. Jo wondered what he’d done to earn ex status. For the life of her, she couldn’t imagine any woman willingly giving this man up for the paunchy redhead who’d taken his place.

He nodded toward the array of bottles behind the bar. “Champagne?”

“God, no.” The response was automatic. She hated champagne. Pure desperation forced her to resort to the glass poured for the toasts because the dinner wine was long gone. Now he was offering her more. The sparkling wine seemed an apt choice for him. He looked like Cary Grant, what with the wings of silver in his dark hair, the crinkly brown eyes sparkling with mischief, and the tuxedo. Maybe he was offering her champagne because Cary Grant would offer her champagne. Cary would call her “darling.” Would Gregory Stark call her “darling?”

Something tugged at her fingers. She stared in rapt fascination as he removed the forgotten flute from her hand and placed it on the bar. “Oh. No. No more champagne.” She managed a weak twitch of her lips. “Thank you.”

A proprietary hand landed in the small of her back. Jo surrendered to the gentle pressure, closing her eyes and imagining the pads of his fingers to be electrodes. Sparks sizzled along her spine. He spread his fingers wide as he drew alongside her at the bar. Arousal swept through her like a hot flash. Unlike those endless minutes of core meltdown, this heat wasn’t something to be endured. His touch was a treat to be savored. She opened her eyes and found him staring at her, his lips parted and his eyes shining bright.

“What’ll it be, then?”

“Tequila. Three shots.”

The answer popped out before her brain engaged. It was a ghost from her past. A remnant of the reckless youth she’d left buried under a pile of soul-crushing responsibility.

“Whoa. Three?” He craned his neck and scanned the room. “Maybe I should get one of the younger guys back.”

Once upon a time, three was her magic number. The key to managing everything life had thrown at her. Good and bad. The magic of three stopped being effective not long after she’d turned thirty–a bitter disappointment she’d never managed to reconcile with herself. Turns out, fate had her number in another way.

Well, screw fate. She’d played the good girl long enough. Emboldened by the wine and the heat of his hand scorching her back, she looked him square in the eye. “I have no use for boys, thankyouverymuch. Don’t worry. It’s okay if you can’t keep up. I won’t think less of you.”

He laughed. Not a chuckle or a chortle, but a deep, rumbling, full-throated guffaw that wrapped itself around her and drew her closer still. Or maybe he pulled her in with his hand. Either way, she was within sniffing distance, so she took a hit. Pure man. No flowery cologne masked the warm and musky mix of soap, shaving cream, and some kind of whiskey. Thank God.

“Set ’em up,” he told the bartender.

The girl lined six tiny glasses along the side rail. Pale amber liquid dribbled onto the bar when she moved from glass to glass. She piled wedges of lime on a napkin and plunked a saltcellar beside it. The furrow of concentration between the bartender’s over-tweezed eyebrows smoothed when Greg shoved another bill into the tip jar.

His hand fell away from Jo’s back as they moved to the side of the bar. She kept her gaze purposefully averted, trying not to pout over the loss. She raised one of the shot glasses in silent salute then downed the tequila without benefit of salt and lime.

The alcohol blazed a trail of fire in her throat. Jo gave her head a toss to soothe the burn. The frank admiration in her companion’s gaze made her pussy tingle with arousal. Her body’s response to this gorgeous stranger startled her. Deep in her heart, she feared she was past all desire.

He leaned in closer. “What’s your name?”

The answer leapt to her tongue, but she bit it back. For one night, this night with this man, she didn’t want to be sad old Aunt Jo. She wanted to be the woman she’d been back in the days before she had to be seated with one of her cousins to round out a table. She wanted to be the girl who thought she had all the time in the world.

Fixing Kaylin’s new father-in-law with a bold stare, she raised a challenging eyebrow. “Jose.”

“As in Cuervo?”

“Exactly.” When he opened his mouth again, she held up one hand and dredged up the name she used in those wild days of time and tequila. “But you can call me Josie.”

He blinked once then cocked his head, studying her for one long moment. He reached for a glass. The wry twist of his lips told her he was certain she’d given him a fake name, but he didn’t seem to care too terribly much. He eyed her over the rim of the tiny glass. “Nice to meet you, Josie. I’m Greg.”

Silver cufflinks flashed as he tossed the shot back. He chased the booze with a low growl. A golden drop clung to his upper lip. Jo wiped it away with the pad of her thumb but froze as she pulled away. They stared at one another, arrested by her sheer audacity. Mortification set the tips of her ears on fire. She tried to finish her retreat, but he captured her wrist.

“Thank you.” He gave her a gentle squeeze. “Tell me, Josie, are you a pussycat?”

Jo laughed. And, damn, it felt good. She was flirting with a handsome man, and he was flirting back with enthusiasm. Quite a rush for a woman long out of practice. She swallowed the lump in her throat and lowered her gaze along with her wayward hand, wondering if her rusty skills were obvious.

“Uh-uh. Don’t try to play shy with me now,” he admonished. When she didn’t respond, he leaned close. His breath stirred her hair and tickled her ear. “You’re the most intriguing woman here, and you damn well know it.”

Pleasure ran warm and thick in her veins. Jo closed her eyes, giving herself over to the vague pain of her nipples tightening and the quickening of her pulse. “Do I?”

“I noticed you in the church.”

A shiver tripped along her spine. She tipped her head, surrendering to the moist caress of his breath. “You did?”

“I couldn’t stop looking at you.”

Though she’d noticed, the bold confession still stunned her. In the way of women too used to being invisible, she’d denied the tingle of knowledge. Hard to believe a man so handsome might find her attractive. For too long she’d played the part of plain old Aunt Jo.

“I can’t stop looking at you now.” The husky admission pried her eyes open. “I had to find you.”

The urgency in his tone gave her the boost she needed. Oh, how she wanted to be Josie with the tequila shots once more. With him. For him. Flashing a sly glance, she reached for a second tiny glass. “And now you have.”

He snatched a glass from the bar and touched the rim to hers. His gaze bore into her, unwavering and intense. “And now I have.”

 

About the Author

 

MaggieWells (409x450)Maggie Wells is a deep-‐down dirty girl with a weakness for hot heroes and happy endings. By day she is buried in spreadsheets, but at night she pens tales of people tangling up the sheets. The product of a charming rogue and a shameless flirt, this mild-‐mannered married lady has a naughty streak a mile wide.

Fueled by supertankers of Diet Coke, Maggie juggles fictional romance and the real deal by keeping her slow- ‐talking Southern gentleman constantly amused and their two grown children mildly embarrassed.

 Connect with Maggie: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

 

Enter the Giveaway Below

$25.00 Gift Card and a light weight Three Little Words blanket

 


*New Release* BREEDER by K.B. Hoyle #Dystopian (@kbhoyle_author)

December 11, 2014 Dystopian/ Post-Apocalyptic, New Release 0

Breeder-Large-Blog-Tour-Banner

 

Breeder-Low-Res-Cover

AddtoGoodreads

Release Date: December 11 , 2014

Published by The Writers Coffee Shop

Genre: Fiction, Dystopian

Available from: Amazon, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, and TWCS PH

 

About Breeder

 

Everything about Seventeen’s life is perfect, from her genetics, to her home in Sanctuary, to her status as a Breeder in the Unified World Order. But all that changes when she meets a rogue Enforcer named Pax, who infiltrates Sanctuary and targets her for extraction from the Controlled Repopulation Program. Pax seems to know a little too much about her, and he plants dangerous doubts in her mind that accuse Sanctuary of hiding a dark secret, and that cause Seventeen to question everything she’s ever known.

When Seventeen’s life is threatened, she has little choice but to run away from Sanctuary with Pax. But for Breeders, contact with men is forbidden by law, and even the simple act of taking Pax’s hand is treason.

Mired in confusion, Seventeen travels with Pax to the outside world and takes the name Pria, the identity of her childhood. But she is far from certain she’s made the right decision when they discover an entire community of people who should no longer exist.

Seventeen, now Pria, is thrust into a position as a key player in a dangerous bid to bring down the Unified World Order. Meanwhile, Pax’s attachment to her and her growing attraction to him contribute to the ever-growing mysteries in her life.

Pria’s journey from a sheltered, naïve Breeder to a rebel agent requires not only external transformation but self-discovery. As her world crumbles, Pria must decide who she is and what she really believes.

But the truth comes at a cost, and uncovering it will require a greater treason than she could ever have imagined.

 

Praise for Breeder

“Breeder was anything but a let down. The characters were extremely well written, making me able to empathize with Pria and Pax and the situation they find themselves in. I kept turning the pages because I just had to find out what happened to these people and, to my shock, finished the book in a day! ”  – Angela  Goodreads Review

 

About the Author

 

K.B. Hoyle is a bestselling author, a public speaker, a creative writing instructor, and a classical history teacher who uses her knowledge of the ancient and medieval worlds to pen speculative and fantasy tales for people of all ages. She has been married since the age of twenty to the love of her life, with whom she has four wonderful children. Find out more about her at www.kbhoyle.com.

Facebook * Website * Blog * Twitter

 


Excerpt and #Giveaway: EASY VIRTUE by Mia Asher (@miaasherauthor)

December 10, 2014 Book Tour, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, New Release, Past Giveaways 0

easy virtue blog tour

 

easy virtue cover

AddtoGoodreads

Amazon | Amazon UK | Barnes and Noble | iTunes

 

About Easy Virtue

 

Love is selfish…

 

My name is Blaire.

I’m the bad girl.

The other woman.

The one who never gets the guy in the end.

 

I’m the gold digger.

The bitch.

The one no one roots for.

The one you love to hate.

 

I hate myself too…

 

Everyone has a story. Are you ready for mine?

 

Excerpt

 

With champagne and caviar inundating my every sense, I slither through the light wooden floors of the Lila Acheson Wallace Wing in The Met. As I walk, I pretend to admire the expensive jewelry being showcased tonight by a famous designer whose name I can’t remember. A multicolored diamond butterfly sparkles to my left and a cobra made out of black stones glistens to my right. Rows upon rows of precious gems twinkle under the soft lights of the room, flooding the space between the walls with the glow of a thousand stars. Furtive glances. Secrets gossiped. Beauty criticized. Lofty music fills the atmosphere as the über rich mingle and pretend to like each other, yet you can almost taste their conceit and derision for one another in the air.

This is Walker’s world, and I love it.

Standing across the room, where the crowd is thinner and the music fainter, I spot Walker’s blond head in the corner of the room, talking to a group of his colleagues and their wives. He looks polished and worth every penny of his trust fund in his sleek black tuxedo, perfectly starched white shirt and black bowtie. His long golden hair parted to the side shines like the sun. He is truly flawless.

I smile because it’s hard to picture that this is the same guy who likes to snort coke off my tits as he fucks me while hardcore porn plays in the background. He looks untouchable and so cool, but his searching eyes, scanning the crowd for me give him up. He’s wondering where I am. He did tell me not to go too far, after all. Soon after we arrived at the party, I gave him some space to talk to his friends and do his thing while I did mine. I hate clingy people, so I avoid being one.

I grab a third flute of champagne from a passing waiter, and try to decide which of the different displays to check out first when my eyes land on a spectacular piece of jewelry. On a bed of black silk, similar to my hair color, lies an extravagant necklace made of diamonds and rubies—a small heaven within one’s reach as long as you can afford the price.

I bridge the space between the glass protecting the necklace and me until it’s within my reach, fighting the urge to touch the cool surface. As if under a spell, I observe how the rows of diamonds embedded in platinum form leaves and thorns. At its center is a rose made out of red diamonds almost as big as my palm.

I feel someone walk up and stand next to me, but I don’t give him or her a second thought as I continue to admire the way the light hits the gems, making them shine.

“Beautiful, isn’t it?”

His voice is smooth and commanding, dripping absolute power. I keep my eyes locked on the display. Call it sixth sense, but somehow I know that under no circumstance should I make eye contact with the stranger who speaks like the ruler of the world.

“Yes,” I say simply.

“I wonder how much it is?” the man asks.

“I don’t think it matters … I highly doubt anyone can afford it.”

He chuckles, and the sound is more delicious than his voice. Lusher. “Oh, but I can.”

I smile at his self-assurance. I love cocky assholes. “I still doubt it.”

“You shouldn’t. I only speak the truth,” he retorts coolly. His voice is nonchalant yet his words leave no room for disbelief—a demand and a statement all in one.

Suddenly, the noises of the room become distant. People talking and laughing amongst friends and the orchestra playing all fade away until all I hear is him speaking.

And at this moment, that is all that matters.

“The truth is very subjective, sir.”

“The truth may be subjective but money isn’t. Money can buy anything.”

His answer is like an electroshock, jumpstarting my brain from a champagne-induced haze. My pulse begins to accelerate, excitement making it hard to take a deep breath. Don’t look at him … don’t.

“Oh really,” I say, my voice dripping with sarcasm. He’s right, though.

“Of course. I believe everything,” he pauses, “and everyone has a price.”

Curiosity winning the battle against curiosity, I turn to face him, and what a fucking big mistake that is. When our eyes meet, I feel incapacitated of all sense and movement. The sight of him takes my breath away. This man gives the term “lust at first sight” a whole new meaning.

In my short twenty-three years, I’ve been with extremely handsome men, perfect even, but to classify the man standing next to me in any kind of category would be a disservice to him, and not really fair to the others. Longish, light brown hair wildly framing his face, vacant eyes the color of dollar bills, a slightly crooked nose, and a mouth that begs to be buried deep within your thighs. His beauty is as harsh as it is stunningly perfect. Dressed in a simple black tuxedo and unbuttoned white shirt, the man exudes innate virility and grace, reminding me of a black panther stalking his prey. And just like a panther, it’s the pure raw and powerful energy emanating from within him that I find most attractive. Because just by standing next to him, I get the sense that his word is always the last spoken and his wishes the first ones to be fulfilled. He doesn’t ask, he demands. He doesn’t hope, he expects.

He’s quiet for a moment; his uncanny eyes hold me captive as though they are baring my soul to him and I hate it. I tighten my hold on the crystal flute. I want to look away, but I can’t. The way he’s staring at me makes me want to squirm.

“I wonder … do you have one?” he asks softly before turning to examine the piece of jewelry once more.

“A what?” I ask, momentarily stunned.

He smiles. “A price.”

“For the right amount … I just might,” I say quietly, my heart beating so fast it feels as though it wants out of my chest. As soon as the words leave my mouth, there’s no shock coursing down my body, no rolling waves of shame pulling me down for having said that to a complete stranger—nothing.

And why should there be? I am who I am.

I’m staring at his profile, waiting for him to acknowledge my answer, when a breeze of cool air floats past us, making me shiver. About to chase the goose bumps on my arm with my hand, I watch as he slowly turns to look at me, catching me staring at him. Time stands still as I watch him raise his large tanned hand and touch my bare shoulder, his fingertips lightly grazing the temporary small bumps covering it. Then he smiles as if he knows that my skin is tingling from his scalding touch, and looks away.

“I thought so.”

We remain standing next to each other for another minute or so, the distance between us almost nonexistent. It would be so easy to reach out and hold his hand. The sound of an incoming call breaks the silence, bringing us back to reality.

He takes his cell phone out of the inner pocket of his tuxedo jacket and ignores the call after noting the name of the caller. He lifts his gaze to meet my own.

“Sorry about that.”

“It’s okay. I should go … I’m here with someone,” I reply, not really wanting to leave him just yet.

“Yes, that’s probably a good idea.”

I frown. He didn’t have to be quite so blunt. The stranger extends a hand toward me, holding something in his fingers.

“Here … ”

I open my hand as I feel the edges of what I assume is his business card poke the skin of my palm. “What’s this?” I ask stupidly.

“My business card, of course.”

“Obviously … but why?”

He smiles, but it doesn’t reach his eyes. “Let’s just say that I’m an interested buyer.”

And then he’s gone.

He turns and walks away from me, disappearing into a sea of colorful gowns and black suits. As the sounds of the party infiltrate my ears once more, I lower my gaze to stare at the simple cream-colored card in my hand. Its simplistic and elegant design draws attention to the name printed in bold black letters on the paper.

Lawrence Rothschild.

I smile and let my fingertips trail his name. It depends on what you’re willing to pay, Mr. Rothschild.

Published by Mia Asher

Copyright © 2013 by Mia Asher

 

Easy Virtue RD

 

About the Author

 

My name is Mia Asher.

I’m a writer, a hopeless romantic, a wanderer, a dreamer, a cynic, and a believer. And, oh yes…I might be a bit crazy – but who isn’t?

 Stalk Her: Facebook | Twitter | Website | Goodreads | Pinterest

 

Enter the Giveaway Below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 


*New Release* Excerpt and #Giveaway: TAUNTING LIPS by Elena M. Reyes (@ElenaMReyes)

December 10, 2014 Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, New Release, Past Giveaways 0

10836157_1508730286063851_1402090260_n

 

23290852

AddtoGoodreads amazon

 

About Taunting Lips

 

Her body was my greatest damnation.
I craved her and the way she came alive beneath my fingers. The way she’d let me force my will upon her tender flesh, so breakable and trusting—open to all I could teach her.
The moment I laid eyes on my defenseless gatita, everything within me shifted. Everything about her sang to my most basic of needs. She made me want things that never mattered before, that had no place within my solitary existence.
Amanda let me take. She let me gorge myself on all she had to give and never complained. I became addicted to her.
I was supposed to be the one in control. The master of our time together.
But this was never my game.
I was never in charge.
And now, I’m left dealing with the consequences of everything. My hunger, denial…the resentment.
“I hate that I love you.”

 

Excerpt

 

Rage was packed as I pulled up to the valet parking area. The lines were long, and the college crowd was out in full force. As my eyes traveled down the line, the hemlines of each tiny outfit receded, much to my enjoyment.

“Holy shit!” a soft feminine voice squeaked by the club’s entrance, and my body hummed at the sound. It sparked my curiosity, and I walked closer. There was a pull. An ache that began to take a hold of me the closer to her I got.

She was the closest to me out of her group, and it was something I was thankful for. No one between her and me to witness the effect she had on me.

A warm breeze passed through us, causing her scent to swirl around me. It was sweet and fresh. Nothing overpowering like the stuff most girls her age used. I took in a deep inhale and groaned out a low, “fuck.”

My pants grew tight, and my cock strained against the zipper. The pressure made me both excited and apprehensive. I’ve never reacted so strongly to a woman’s voice or smell. Women flocked to me, not the other way around.

Her back was turned to me as she walked through the club’s doors. What a spectacular fucking view. Ass high and round—tight, encased in distressed denim that molded around her curves.

There’s nothing sexier to me than when a woman is proud of her body. Tiny or plus sized. A woman, like the one a few feet away from me, was a sinful delight. You could tell by the way she walked—her sway—that she felt desirable.

I followed close behind, barely throwing a glance at the bouncer as I passed them by. They knew me well enough and gave me a quick head nod in greeting. Being a regular had its benefits.

The girls stopped once within the club’s main floor, right between the dance area and bar. She was facing away from me. My fingers twitched beside me. Something within me needed to touch her. See her face. Feel her skin.

“What’re you drinking?”the girl beside her yelled over the music. “I’m in a vodka kind of mood.”

“With OJ?” my girl added; her hips moved to the heavy Jamaican beat pulsing through the speakers. Her voice carried over to me, and I shivered. Its tone captivated me—caressed my cock with its husky timbre.

I wanted to hear her moan my name.

    “Is there any other way?” the first girl answered, and then turned to listen to the other two standing beside her. They spoke, but I didn’t hear a word. Most men in my position would be enjoying the view of what stood before me, but I couldn’t tear my eyes away from her.

My body was in tune with hers. My cock throbbed for her pussy.

Standing off to the side, I watched while they made their way toward the VIP section of the club. Her hips swayed deliciously from side to side, the plumpness of her ass calling my name with each tiny step she took.  She sauntered toward the empty table with a reserved sign and sat down.

“Gatita,” I whispered low, and took a step closer.

“Who are you calling a little pussy cat?” Oliver stood beside me now with an amused expression on his face. When the fuck did he get here? “A few minutes ago.”

Was I speaking aloud?

“No,” he answered, “the look on your face said it all.”

I ignored him and took a step closer, but his hand on my arm made me pause. “What?” My tone held annoyance; he was standing in the way of my latest craving. Turning back to look at him, I raised a brow and signaled toward his hand over my forearm.

Oliver released me and held his hands up. “Where are you going?”

Good question. What was I doing?

“No clue.” And it was the truth. There was a lure I felt—a fascination I needed to fuck out of my system, preferably with her.

It was as the last syllable passed through my lips that the unthinkable happened. She turned—my gatita faced me and smiled toward the bar. That innocent move fucked up every preconceived notion of what I thought my life should be.

Was it love? Fuck and no. I don’t believe in that at first sight crap. There was something there, though, lust being the predominant emotion. It enticed me into seeking her out.

A low growl escaped my lips as she pulled her face away and turned to listen to her friend. My eyes devoured every inch and curve it could, from the poutiness of her lips to the swell of her perfect breasts.

“Stop being a pussy and go talk to her,” Oliver deadpanned, and for a second, I snapped out of whatever trance she had me under. He looked beyond excited over whatever was happening to me. Fucker.

“I have no idea what you’re talking about.” Evasion was the key in this matter. He’d seen enough.

Oliver let out a deep belly laugh, loud enough to draw attention our way. “Bullshit.”

“Wait a minute,” my gatita hissed and slammed her hand on the tabletop. “Is that what…fuck! Did you see Hunter?”

Her angry voice pulled my attention her way once again. Who the fuck was Hunter? Why did she look so upset at the mere mention of his name?

Why did I care?

The group spoke in heated whispers. They were trying to calm her down by the way they each smiled or patted her back. She didn’t care for any of it and stood up to leave. “You’re right. Fuck him. Hunter will not ruin my night.”

Her irate disposition only made her hotter in my eyes.

Angry sex was the best kind of sex.

They applauded, following behind her to the dance floor. Her body moved to the beat, a slow, sensual roll of her hips that caught the eyes of a few men. Irritation bloomed within me at the sight of so many lusting over what I’d claimed as mine.

Is that what I did? Fuck, yes. If anyone was leaving with that beauty tonight, it would be me.

Then I saw her sad face, and my plans changed.

I stood up, not caring one bit for what Oliver would witness. Something within me screamed to go to her. Make whatever he did a distant memory. My chair scraped against the club’s floor, and the people around us turned to look. Not one fuck was given over the spectacle I was creating.

She needed to be in my arms. I’d make everything better.

“One so beautiful should never wear such a sad expression.”

 

1380250_886522558032848_7099660607238208362_n

 

Fall in love with Camden and Amanda from the beginning…

22612452

 

About the Author

 

10816187_677682682330902_1859557647_nElena M. Reyes was born and raised in Miami Florida. She is the epitome of a Floridian and if she could live in her beloved flip-flops, she would.
As a small child, she was always intrigued with all forms of art—whether it was dancing to island rhythms, or painting with any medium she could get her hands on. Her first taste of writing came to her during her fifth grade year when her class was prompted to participate in the D. A. R. E. Program and write an essay on what they’d learned.
Her passion for reading over the years has amassed her with hours of pleasure. It wasn’t until she stumbled upon fanfiction that her thirst to write overtook her world. She now resides in Central Florida with her husband and son, spending all her down time letting her creativity flow and letting her characters grow.

WebsiteFacebook

 

Enter the Giveaway Below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 


Book Review: BREATHING BLACK by Piper Payne (@Piper_Payne)

December 9, 2014 Book Review, Book Tour, Contemporary Romance, Mystery/Suspense, Romantic Suspense 0

BB Amazon GR SW

AddtoGoodreads amazon

New Adult/Adult Contemporary Romance/Thriller

Released December 2, 2014

 

About Breathing Black

 

GRITTY. INTENSE. EMOTIONALLY HONEST.
A stunning debut novel that will leave you breathless.

A desolate childhood; a scarred, jaded, damaged girl. Larkin Grant knew she couldn’t end up like her mother … so she ran. All her belongings packed in the back of a rusted, brown Cadillac, her best friend June in the passenger seat as the co-pilot, she fled Aspen and never looked back.

A new life in a new city, Larkin was finally starting to breathe again, an unfamiliar sense of happiness seeping into her lungs. Landon Black, the boy she loved from afar, came back into her life despite leaving him and her awful memories buried hundreds of miles away. A weakened pulse brought back to life.

He said she was beautiful. She was starting to believe him. He pursued her and changed the course of everyone’s plans. Life had dealt Larkin a cruel hand, but maybe this was it. Maybe the boy that never knew she existed finally saw her and came to free her from the darkness of her past.

But we are never truly free. There are secrets that bind us and lies that unravel from the most beautiful of lips. Blackness that suffocates and makes us question everything we thought we knew. Larkin and Landon are intertwined in ways they never imagined, their future unclear as ghosts come back to haunt them.

Friendship. Revenge. Love. Drugs. Murder. Deceit.

The first in a two-book series, Breathing Black is a mix of suspense and breathless romance. It’s a provocative tale that challenges what one is willing to do to protect the ones they love. An emotional journey where trust isn’t an option and falling in love never hurt so bad.

 

My Review

 

200

My Rating: 4.5 Stars

“When I was younger I was never shown what love was. I didn’t even know what it felt like. I could barely remember a time when I was hugged or kissed. I had no physical or emotional connection to the world. The line between love and hate had always been so this for me that sometimes it was hard to decipher the difference.”

Heartbreaking and filled with raw emotion, complicated romance, and thrilling suspense, Breathing Black is a breathless page-turner. Starting as what seems like a second-chance romance for a broken girl and her high-school crush, it quickly becomes obvious that there is way more to this story. Something feels amiss as we weave through flashbacks of Larkin’s dark past and her present relationship with Landon Black. It was impossible to put the book down, never knowing quite what was in store or who could be trusted.

I thoroughly enjoyed the group of characters in this book. Larkin and June with their tragic pasts and the new family that they have made with their close friends. They are a funny and caring group, looking after each other. Larkin and June have made what they could of an awful situation and have moved on, but their past is not completely buried and it’s been there all this time, just lurking in the shadows. I loved how they stick together and support and protect each other, even in a potentially life-threatening situation.

As far as romance, this book has a few surprises. It definitely did not turn out the way I expected and I was very happy about that. I only hope that the exciting romance that seems to be just beginning as the book comes to a close can survive what’s to come.

Larkin’s story is that of a broken girl, struggling just to keep going when her world seems to be spinning out of control. She hopes for love but never believes she deserves it, and that just broke my heart. The author bravely tackles the horrors of substance abuse, sexual abuse, and self-harm with honesty. This gritty, intense, and emotional story is multi-layered, with engaging characters, and a lot of darkness punctuated by tiny pin-points of light. Just maybe, if Larkin and June can finally put their past to rest, they can have the love, peace, and happiness that I wish for them. We won’t find out, however, until the next book is released. If you are not a fan of cliffhangers then I recommend waiting for the second book to be released before reading the series. I am anxiously awaiting the next book and can’t wait to read more!

“I want him because when he touches me it feels honest, when he comforts me I feel a flicker of peace, and when he makes me smile I feel happiness deep in my chest.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book for the purpose of honest review.

 

Breathing Black Quote Flaws

 

About the Author

 

My love for literature and writing is an addiction. My mind is continually telling stories and I have a queue of books I want to write being stacked up in my brain. I don’t know how to write pretty and perfect so I write perfectly flawed and unpredictable. Just like life.

I’m married to my best friend and I’m mother to three little miracles. I love going to farmers markets, bookstores, and long drives with my family in my ruby red Bronco. I also have an unhealthy love for makeup, Oreos, Halloween, queso dip, psychic readings, sushi, massages, and Redd’s Apple Ale.

Website  | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram


5 Star Book Review: SHIVER by C.M. Foss

December 4, 2014 Book Review, Book Tour, Contemporary Romance 0

Tour Banner

 

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000026_00013]

AddtoGoodreads

Title: Shiver

Author: CM Foss

Release Date: Nov 22, 2014

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

 

About Shiver

 

This is a love story.

This is a romantic story.

Except bananas. Bananas are never romantic.

Lissa was a twenty-year-old girl trying to make it in the equestrian world. She was sassy and smart, strong and a little weird. And she had no idea what she was doing.

Ethan was twenty-seven, tattooed, tall, dark, and hot. And lugging some baggage. He’d already made it in the business and brought Lissa on to help get her on her feet. And it turned out, he liked a little weird.

Ethan made it clear that he wasn’t in the market for a relationship. Lissa was happy to learn the ropes and push her attraction aside.

But how do you draw the line when every touch makes you…shiver?

 

My Review

 

swooning

My Rating: 5 Stars

 

“I loved that she could kick around in the dirt, sit on any horse, and then muck stalls without batting an eye- looking stunningly gorgeous, I might add- and then turn into pure elegance at a black tie event and charm all our clients. She still fascinated me. And it was a very good thing.”

Shiver delivers not only a unique, engaging, and beautifully hopeful romance, it gives readers a glimpse in to an intriguing world that few people get to see. I picked up this book with just a hint of trepidation. I’m a professional horseman myself, I was in love with cover, and was cautiously hoping for a book that accurately portrays the equestrian world and is still a romance that will appeal to all readers of the genre. I am delighted to say that I was not disappointed and loved this book!

Ethan and Lissa’s romance was joy to read. One minute I was laughing at their antics and the next minute I was breathless and teary from an intense scene. They have a genuine chemistry and their journey towards a relationship has the perfect balance of heat and humor. I fell in love with both characters along the way: down-to-earth and tenacious Lissa, with her quirky sense of humor and just enough vulnerability and the sexy, tattooed Ethan who is all man, but had me swooning when his romantic side peeked out. Together they must endure some serious challenges. I loved that the author throws some real-life shit at this couple and they handle it not perfectly, but together. Only part of the story is what we normally find in romance novels: couple starts to fall in love, they have some emotional struggles and turmoil and eventually figure it out, but here we get a surprising glimpse in to life after the “honeymoon period”.

I thoroughly enjoyed this sometimes heartbreaking, but still sweet and steamy romance, and I was thrilled to read a book that gives readers a true perspective in to the equestrian world. There’s not so much information that it overwhelms the reader, but just enough to provide an interesting back-drop for Lissa and Ethan’s story. It’s clearly written by someone who knows the industry from the inside, as it can only exist in a nowhere small town in the heart of Virginia’s horse country, where the very wealthy mingle with the hard working horse trainers, everyone meets up at the local pub, and most black tie events end up one way or another with me back at the barn in a ball gown. Shiver is a excellent debut novel: well-written with captivating characters, genuine dialogue, plenty of sexiness, a sense of humor, and a unique perspective. I can’t wait to read more from this author.

” ‘I think the world of you,’ he whispered. ‘You are my world,’ I whispered back.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book for the purpose of honest review.

 

Teaser 1

 

Excerpt

 

“Dance with me?” Lawrence’s voice behind me pulled me from my musings.

I turned with a smile. “Why thank you, sir.”

I followed him onto the dance floor, the orchestra playing a Frank Sinatra ballad. He swept me into his arms like, well, like the perfect gay best friend.

“Don’t you say it.”

“Say what?” I asked innocently.

“I am not your gay best friend. I have sisters. They took dance lessons. My mom made me partner them.”

I couldn’t help laughing loudly, drawing some disapproving glances. He quickly spun me and dipped me in playful retaliation. As he drew me back up, I stood staring straight into Ethan’s heated gaze.

“Can I cut in?” he asked without breaking our eye contact.

From the corner of my eye, I caught Lawrence nodding and stepping away before I was pulled flush to Ethan and we glided across the floor.

“You look absolutely stunning.” He breathed softly into my ear, his right hand settling low, really low, on my bare back, and I shivered.

“Cold?” I felt him smile.

“No, I’m not cold,” I stated quietly, enjoying the feel of being in his arms, the texture of him beneath his tuxedo, and the touch of our hands.

“Are you having fun tonight?”

“I am.” I nodded slowly. “I didn’t know you would be here.”

“I came as a trophy.”

I pulled back to look in his eyes. “Whose trophy? And why?” I was a little irrationally angry and felt stupid that I thought we were having a kind of moment, only to find out he was here with someone else.

“Why are you angry? You do realize you’re here with a date too, right?”

I waved him off. “Lawrence and I are just friends. He’s my arm candy for the night. And maybe a kiss at midnight if I get tipsy enough.”

He glared at me, jaw flexing back and forth. “You’re just friends who sleep together?”

“No. Just friends. As in… actual friends. Nothing more.”

“Why have you both been blatantly flaunting your relationship in front of me then?”

I shrugged. “It tickled me.”

“It tickled you,” he repeated slowly, dangerously.

“Yes. It did. It tickled me to see your mood swings every day, and I was making bets on when you were going to start your period.”

Despite his irritation, he laughed out loud. “God, you’re weird.” He pulled me closer, wrapping my arms up around his neck and sliding his hands down my bare arms and then down my back, settling them there. “I don’t know what I’m doing with you,” he muttered softly.

 

About the Author

 

AuthorI live in beautiful Northern Virginia with my incredible husband, two awesome kids, three dogs, and two budgies. My husband and I both grew up riding and competing horses and have our own equestrian operation that we run together. In my spare time, I read through the hundreds of stories awaiting me on my e-reader.

My love of books started early, and my mom used to ration my reading time so I didn’t go through them too quickly. I love all things romantic, whether it’s dark or light or silly or dirty, but I really love a happy ending!

In my small moments of quiet time, you’ll find me sipping on wine and reading while any movie where people randomly burst into song or dance plays in the background.

Facebook | Website | Pinterest | Goodreads