Book Review: DISILLUSIONED (Swept Away #2) by J.S. Cooper

October 14, 2015 Book Review, Romance, Romantic Suspense 0

Book Review: DISILLUSIONED by J.S. Cooper

Amazon | Goodreads

Check out my review of Book #1 in the Swept Away Series: Illusion by J.S. Cooper.


Disillusioned (Swept Away #2) by J.S. Cooper: My Review


My Rating: 4 Stars

“This was wrong on so many levels. I was confused on so many levels. Staring at a naked Jakob was heaven and hell, and I didn’t know if he was an angel here to save me or a devil waiting to pull me into the pit of fire.”

 Disillusioned, the second book in J.S. Cooper’s Swept Away trilogy, is just as dark, mysterious, and sexy as the first book in the series, maybe even more so. This fast-paced page-turner takes us deeper in to the web of lies surrounding Bianca and Jakob. As circumstances surrounding them become more complicated, intense, and dangerous, so does their romantic relationship. Without a doubt they have attraction, chemistry, and maybe even affection, but there are so many questions and so much distrust. They both have some theories about what is happening, who is threatening them, and who is behind it all, but just when I thought I had anything figured out, everything gets turned upside down again. This book has real suspense; it’s truly difficult to unravel mysteries surrounding the characters.

Unfortunately, I don’t love Bianca’s character. At times it seemed she was getting it together, gathering the strength to really deal with the craziness around her, but then she’d go all weak and naïve. She constantly puts herself in unnecessary danger and I really wanted to shake her! Regardless of my personal feelings for her, her story is certainly compelling and I can’t deny that I want a good outcome for her.

In my heart of hearts, I want to believe that Jakob is a good guy. He’s gorgeous and I love when he goes in to alpha protective mode but I just can’t be sure he’s genuine. I don’t doubt that he has some real feelings for Bianca but on top of the secrets uncovered already, I’m pretty sure he’s hiding plenty more. But let’s face it, good or bad, I wouldn’t send him away, either.

“ ‘We didn’t have a beautiful beginning.’ He shrugged. ‘It seems only natural that we won’t have a beautiful ending.’

‘So we just settle for a beautiful middle?’

‘No.’ He leaned forward and kissed me hard, his eyes burning into mine. ‘We settle for an explosive middle. We settle for a middle that makes up for the end of the world. We settle for a middle that we can carry to our graves.’ “

 *Swoon* I know, not super practical or realistic, right? But this is fiction. It’s romantic, sexy, exciting, bite your nails because you have no clue what’s going to happen, swoony fiction. This series is equal parts romance and suspense, and can easily appeal to readers that enjoy either or both. I’m dying for the next book and can’t wait to find out what happens next. Readers should keep in mind that this is a series that should be read in order, and the books end with cliffhangers. If you don’t like cliffhangers, I would suggest waiting for the series to be completed before starting.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book for the purpose of honest review.


The Swept Away Series by J.S. Cooper


Illusion by J.S. Cooper


Indie sensation and New York Times bestselling author of the Ex Games series and the Private Club series, J.S. Cooper introduces the Swept Away series—three new, dark and sexy romances about a woman marooned on a desert island with a mysterious stranger—but is he friend or foe?

The day started like every other day…

Bianca London finds herself kidnapped and locked up in a van with a strange man. Ten hours later, they’re dumped on a deserted island. Bianca has no idea what’s going on and her attraction to this stranger is the only thing keeping her fear at bay.

Jakob Bradley wants only to figure out why they’ve been left on the island and how they can get off. But as the days go by, he can’t ignore his growing fascination with Bianca.

In order to survive, Bianca and Jakob must figure out how they’re connected, but as they grow closer, secrets are revealed that may destroy everything they thought they knew about each other.

Amazon | Goodreads | My Review


Disillusioned by J.S. Cooper


Following on the heels of Illusion, indie sensation and New York Times bestselling author J.S. Cooper brings us the second novel in the Swept Away series, a trilogy of dark and sexy romances about a woman marooned on a desert island with a sexy stranger—but is he friend or foe?

When Bianca and Jakob awake on a sandy shore in the middle of nowhere, their first thoughts are of survival. But as they explore their surroundings and try to discover who stranded them on the island, they can’t deny the electricity surging between them. Soon it’s more than just a campfire keeping them warm…

But just as Bianca is starting to trust Jakob, she uncovers a clue to their abduction—and he may know more than he’s letting on. Was Jakob just as surprised as she to find himself alone with her…or could the man she’s fallen for be her captor?

Amazon | Goodreads


Resolution by J.S. Cooper


Indie sensation and New York Times bestselling author J.S. Cooper brings us the final novel in the Swept Away series, a trilogy of heart-pounding romances about a woman marooned on a desert island with a sexy stranger—but is he friend or foe?

When Bianca and Jakob first awoke on a sandy shore in the middle of nowhere, their thoughts were only concerned with survival. But as they explored their surroundings and tried to find out who left them stranded on the island, electricity surged between them. Soon after, Bianca uncovered clues to her abduction, but was left with even more unanswered questions, especially about Jakob’s true motives…

Now, Bianca just wants the truth. Nothing was as it seemed, especially with Jakob. As she discovers cross upon double cross, all she can trust is her instinct, her connection with him. So they decide to return to the island in hopes of finally learning the truth. Bianca and Jakob have been thrown together and torn apart by their secrets—but can she trust him enough to rescue her at last?

Amazon | Goodreads


5 Star Book Review: THE AFFILIATE (Ascension #1) by K.A. Linde (@AuthorKALinde)

October 12, 2015 Book Review, Fantasy, Romance 0

Book Review: The Affiliate by K.A. Linde

Amazon | Goodreads


The Affiliate (Ascension #1) by K.A. Linde: My Review


My Rating: 5 Stars

“What you seek lies where you cannot seek it. What you find cannot be found.”

As someone who loves fantasy books, when I discovered that K.A. Linde had recently released a fantasy romance, I was all over it. She’s an author I’ve enjoyed in the past, writing in a genre I particularly enjoy, so it was a no brainer. The Affiliate absolutely did not disappoint. With it’s fantastic world-building, wonderful characters, swoony romance, and intriguing storyline, it’s a great read.

This book has lots of very good characters. As the story progresses and Cyrene’s inner circle grows, the reader is rewarded with a team of characters that illustrate the value of friendship and trust. Cyrene is strong on her own, but unstoppable with her friends around her. The “good” group is easily balanced by a group of “not so good” or at least antagonistic characters. I like that many characters exist in a grey area; it’s clear they are working towards mostly for themselves, but their motivations are somewhat unclear. This makes for a richer story than a typical good vs. evil.

And Cyrene! I love, love, love that she is a clever, gutsy, strong female lead, surrounded by lots of other strong females, good and bad. She has a vulnerability, and is not immune to romance (in the form of a handsome king!) but when it really comes down to it, she’s brave, and she chooses a path that is best for her.

With her world-building, Linde expertly weaves a complex backdrop for the engaging storyline. I always had a clear picture of what everything looked like, without being bogged down. There was plenty of action as well as romance, and the two were well-balanced. I only had one small issue with the story, and it’s hardly an issue at all. It has to do with the story’s “pacing”. It moved along quickly enough, but I struggled with the reveal of key pieces of the mystery puzzle. A lot of information is revealed at the very end, which made for an exciting climax, but I wish that a few more bits and pieces of information were given throughout the story, and I think this would have been possible without spoiling anything. It would have kept me even more engaged that I already was. Keep in mind, this is a very small detail that didn’t take away from my overall enjoyment of an excellent book.

I’m super excited to have a new fantasy series to anticipate, and The Ascension shows a ton of promise. Linde succeeds in writing a book that will easily please both fantasy and romance readers; if you’re a reader who generally reads straight romance, I recommend you give this one a try, and hopefully find a new genre to love.

” ‘She has this pull. When I’m with her, the throne slips away, and I’m just a man with a beautiful woman. It both intrigues and terrifies me.’ He splayed his hands before him. ‘I can never be anything but the king… but when I’m with her, I want to be.’ “



About The Affiliate


Book Review: The Affiliate by K.A. Linde

The Affiliate (Ascension #1) by K.A. Linde

On the day of her Presenting, in front of the entire Byern Court, seventeen-year-old Cyrene Strohm’s lifelong plans come to fruition when she’s chosen for one of the most prestigious positions in her homeland—an Affiliate to the Queen.

Or so she thinks.

When Cyrene receives a mysterious letter and an unreadable book, she finds nothing is as it seems. Thrust into a world of dangerous political intrigue and deadly magic, Cyrene’s position only grows more treacherous when she finds herself drawn to the one man she can never have…

King Edric himself.

Cyrene must decide if love is truly worth the price of freedom. Find out in this first book in USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde’s new Ascension series.

Amazon | Goodreads


Also check out my review of Avoiding Responsibility by K.A. Linde!

Avoiding Responsibility by K.A. Line


5 Star Book Review: SECRET SISTERS by Jayne Ann Krentz (@JayneAnnKrentz)

October 7, 2015 Adult, Book Review, Romance, Romantic Suspense 0


Amazon (pre-order) | Goodreads


My Review

My Rating: 5 Stars

“It wasn’t easy to start talking about a secret that had been kept for eighteen years.”

Secret Sisters has all of the elements of an excellent romantic suspense. First of all, it has the perfect setting. Though it begins in the desert of the southwest, much of the story takes place on a  dreary island in the Pacific northwest. A spooky, nearly abandoned hotel is haunted by secret ghosts of the past (not literally) that just won’t stay secret. A harrowing night eighteen years earlier is just one part of a huge web lies, deceit, murder, and mystery that has brought the entire cast of characters back to the island.

I loved the pace of the story and the manner in which clues were revealed. There was always enough information to form my own theories, but never enough that the mysteries were too easy to solve. This made the story completely addictive and nearly impossible to put down. There were several instances where I felt I might have things figured out, but there was always a twist waiting to turn things upside down. Not only do we get to unravel the dangerous murder mysteries, but our characters had their own secret pasts, and we are slowly fed bits of information until a clear picture is formed.

The characters are all strong, but I particularly enjoyed the female leads, Madeline and Daphne. They are both strong characters, successful in their own right, and strong in the face of danger; they never felt like damsels in distress having to be rescued by the big, tough men. They still have relatable vulnerability, but it never translates as weakness. In addition to the main characters, an entire cast of secondary characters really adds depth to the story.

I appreciated that the plot was slightly heavy on the mystery and suspense side, but a little lighter on the romance. There was just enough romance and chemistry and even a few breathtaking romantic moments, but the focus was more on the exciting story. Frankly, I was relieved that this truly engaging and fast-paced mystery/suspense didn’t get bogged down by unnecessary relationship drama. Our main couple, Jack and Madeline, are both blunt, efficient people, and it wouldn’t have felt genuine if they spent to much time being indecisive and overly emotional. They didn’t need that. Their romance was subtle, simple, and to the point, making it all the more powerful.

With it’s cleverly constructed mysteries, excellently written characters, perfectly ominous setting, and just the right amount of romance, Secret Sisters is and addictive and exciting read.

” ‘It’s all right,’ she said. ‘I won’t shatter.’

‘I know that. You’re strong.’ Her wrapped one big hand around the back of her head and drew her mouth down to his. ‘But I sure as hell will fracture into a million little pieces if I screw this up.’ “

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.



About Secret Sisters


Book Review - Secret Sisters by Jayne Ann Krentz


Secret Sisters by Jayne Ann Krentz

No one does romantic suspense better than Jayne Ann Krentz. Now, the New York Times bestselling author of Trust No One and River Road delivers a novel that twists and turns into a read that will leave you breathless.

Madeline and Daphne were once as close as sisters—until a secret tore them apart. Now it might take them to their graves.

They knew his name, the man who tried to brutally attack twelve-year-old Madeline in her grandmother’s hotel. They thought they knew his fate. He wouldn’t be bothering them anymore…ever. Still their lives would never be the same.

Madeline has returned to Washington after her grandmother’s mysterious death. And at the old, abandoned hotel—a place she never wanted to see again—a dying man’s last words convey a warning: the secrets she and Daphne believed buried forever have been discovered.

Now, after almost two decades, Madeline and Daphne will be reunited in friendship and in fear. Unable to trust the local police, Madeline summons Jack Rayner, the hotel chain’s new security expert. Despite the secrets and mysteries that surround him, Jack is the only one she trusts…and wants.

Jack is no good at relationships but he does possess a specific skill set that includes a profoundly intimate understanding of warped and dangerous minds. With the assistance of Jack’s brother, Abe, a high-tech magician, the four of them will form an uneasy alliance against a killer who will stop at nothing to hide the truth….

Amazon (pre-order) | Goodreads


5 Star Series Review: The Magicians by Lev Grossman

July 10, 2015 Fantasy, Favorite Books 0



Hello Readers! So, I realize that I’ve been gone for a while. In January, I decided to take a month blogger break and well, one month turned in to two which turned in to six. Here’s the thing, not only was I experiencing a bit off blogger burnout, I was in a MAJOR book slump. It hard to imagine really. Here I am, surrounded by all of these fantastic books, and NOTHING could keep my attention. I picked up books and just as quickly put them back down. I decided not to push it, and figured it would happen when I was ready. I tried books of all genres and FINALLY, something stuck. I searched for something in fantasy, genre I’ve always loved. (Not the juicy, kinky, sexy fantasy, but the dragons and magic kind of fantasy.) I stumbled on The Magicians by Lev Grossman and the blurb and the reviews had me intrigued. I one-clicked, started reading, and before I knew it, I had FINISHED A BOOK. And even better, I loved it. I immediately read the rest of the series and I’m officially out of my book funk!! Check out the blurbs and my review and if this type of story is your cup of tea, I highly suggest you give it a try.


My Review

My Rating: 5 Stars

“It didn’t matter where you were, if you were in a room full of books you were at least halfway home.”

The Magicians series drug me kicking and screaming out of a devastating, mind-numbing reading slump. It was no easy task I assure you but these books had me hooked. I breezed through the entire and series, and when it was finished, the spell was released. I looked around, disoriented, blinking, and bleary-eyed, and realized I just read/witnessed something special. No, something magical.

I’ve heard this series described as “Harry Potter for adults”. Maybe, but that’s quite a stretch. There’s a magic school and it’s a coming of age story but that’s where the similarities stop. Perhaps if Harry Potter was darker, grittier, and more introspective. He’d also have to drink more. The Magicians has it’s own unique and realized world, many worlds really, and our cast of magical misfits moves through them, encountering adventures and wonders, horrors and heartbreak.

The Magicians begins as a coming of age story and follows as the characters move in to adulthood. Adulthood for anyone is complicated, but when you must save magical worlds, manipulate the elements, and defy the Gods of the universe, life is infinitely more difficult. It’s a story of friendship, romance, death, vice, and magic.  It’s about finding yourself, fighting your inner demons and the demons of the world, and sacrificing yourself to save the one you love. Childhood fantasies collide violently with an alternate magical reality and the result is a beautiful and imaginative series, a true fantasy gem.

“He’d been right about the world, but he was wrong about himself. The world was a desert, but he was a magician, and to be a magician was a secret spring-a moving oasis. He wasn’t desolate, and he wasn’t empty. We was full of emotion, full of feeling, bursting with them, and when it came down to it that’s what being a magician was. They weren’t ordinary feelings-they weren’t the tame, domesticated kind. Magic was wild feelings, the kind that escaped you and into the world and changed things.”


About the Books


The Magicians coverThe Magicians (The Magicians #1)

Like everyone else, precocious high school senior Quentin Coldwater assumes that magic isn’t real, until he finds himself admitted to a very secretive and exclusive college of magic in upstate New York. There he indulges in joys of college-friendship, love, sex, and booze- and receives a rigorous education in modern sorcery. But magic doesn’t bring the happiness and adventure Quentin thought it would. After graduation, he and his friends stumble upon a secret that sets them on a remarkable journey that may just fulfill Quentin’s yearning. But their journey turns out to be darker and more dangerous than they’d imagined. Psychologically piercing and dazzlingly inventive, The Magicians, the prequel to the New York Times bestselling book The Magician King and the #1 bestseller The Magician’s Land, is an enthralling coming-of-age tale about magic practiced in the real world-where good and evil aren’t black and white, and power comes at a terrible price.

Amazon | Goodreads


The Magician King coverThe Magician King (The Magicians #2)

Return to Fillory in the riveting sequel to The New York Times bestseller and literary phenomenon of 2009–The Magicians.

The Magicians was praised as a triumph by readers and critics of both mainstream and fantasy literature. Now Grossman takes us back to Fillory, where the Brakebills graduates have fled the sorrows of the mundane world, only to face terrifying new challenges.

Quentin and his friends are now the kings and queens of Fillory, but the days and nights of royal luxury are starting to pall. After a morning hunt takes a sinister turn, Quentin and his old friend Julia charter a magical sailing ship and set out on an errand to the wild outer reaches of their kingdom. Their pleasure cruise becomes an adventure when the two are unceremoniously dumped back into the last place Quentin ever wants to see: his parent’s house in Chesterton, Massachusetts. And only the black, twisted magic that Julia learned on the streets can save them.

The Magician King is a grand voyage into the dark, glittering heart of magic, an epic quest for the Harry Potter generation. It also introduces a powerful new voice, that of Julia, whose angry genius is thrilling. Once again Grossman proves that he is the cutting edge of literary fantasy.

Amazon | Goodreads


The Magicians Land coverThe Magician’s Land (The Magicians #3)

Quentin Coldwater has been cast out of Fillory, the secret magical land of his childhood dreams. With nothing left to lose, he returns to where his story began, the Brakebills Preparatory College of Magic, but he can’t hide from his past, and it’s not long before it comes looking for him.

Along with Plum, a brilliant young undergraduate with a dark secret of her own, Quentin sets out on a crooked path through a magical demimonde of gray magic and desperate characters. But all roads lead back to Fillory, and his new life takes him to old haunts, like Antarctica, and to buried secrets and old friends he thought were lost forever. He uncovers the key to a sorcery masterwork, a spell that could create magical utopia, and a new Fillory–but casting it will set in motion a chain of events that will bring Earth and Fillory crashing together. To save them he will have to risk sacrificing everything.

Amazon | Goodreads



Excerpt, #Giveaway, and Series Reading Order: SPARROW WAY (Saving Angels #5) by Annie Rose Welch (@angelwriter11)

February 24, 2015 Book Tour, Current Giveaways, Fantasy Romance, Romance, Series Reading Orders 0

I haven’t actually read this series, YET. I do have the entire series on my kindle and it’s way up there on my TBR. It looks really, really good and so many reader friends have recommended it so I saved all of the books up for an epic binge read. I’ll let you know how it goes!



AddtoGoodreads amazon

*At the time of this post, the book is priced at only $0.99 for a kindle countdown deal!


About Sparrow Way


The final journey of the Saving Angels series has come to an end. All roads have led you to….

“What’s the address?” she asks.

“Eleven Sparrow Way.”

She closes her eyes for a moment. “I like that. Our journey has flown us here, flown us home….”

Gabriel Roberts found his happily ever after at The Crossroads of his life. He found his brother, Michael, his history in the Legion, and the love of his life, his Evangeline. He has finally arrived at the place he always yearned for—home.

But time stops for no one; not even an angel.

For years Gabriel has guarded what is most precious to him, Evangeline and their transcendent love story. When the opportunity presents itself in an unexpected way, Gabriel decides to tell his story, and in doing so, answers the riddle of his heart: If life is the journey of years, perhaps love is the journey of a lifetime?


wedding dress with text color frost bokah




My eyes savor every inch of her bare flesh. The gentle sway of her body, the way her waist melts into her rolling, swinging hips. Her body is soft, but firm. Her eyes are full of longing and bright fire. Her stare melts me, like a slow burn. My will drips, drips, drips as she moves into me.

“I can’t get you close enough, fast enough,” I breathe. I want to drink her, absorb her, until every pore in my body is overflowing with her. Her tongue tastes like warm, sweet honey. I can never have enough of her this way. Of this I am infinitely positive.

Her head tilts backward. Her lips curl in an upward smile of pleasure. Her hair falls around her back, uncovering her breasts. The sweet smell from her bare skin enraptures me. Her hands rush through my hair. She traces the lines of my face; her fingertips seem to float across my skin. “Memorizing you,” she breathes out as her hands make their way to my body, undressing me.

I move into her, trembling, dripping with heat. My fingers pulsate and pull against her soft skin and her knees buckle.

“When you touch me, you feel like thunder pounding against my skin,” she whispers.

I’m careful now—the want needs to grow until it can no longer be controlled. Like a beast being released after years of being caged.

The tension builds, causing my soul to stir.


Enter the Giveaway Below

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Series Reading Order (Click on covers)


18157917 18397194 20933719 22676500

and #5, Sparrow Way



About the Author


Born and raised in New Orleans, Annie has a habit of shortening her words and telling long stories. She speaks with a southern flair and cooks with it too. At the tender age of twenty- one, she hitched up her wagons (took her first plane ride) and moved out west to the big shake (California).

Her writing career began one sleepless night when she imagined a gorgeous woman and a man with maniacal hair floating above her like lightening bugs falling from the sky. Curious about them, their story, and why they were floating around in her head, she sat down and penned (typed) her first novel, Marigny Street. A dream come true for her, she hasn’t stopped writing since. She loves a damn good love story, always has, no matter what the genre. She is particularly moved by imperfect love that in its own unique way is perfect, the notion of love at first sight, soul mates, and things that are generally out of the norm.

When she’s not writing she enjoys dabbling in photography and finding new, inspirational music to add to her collection. Deciding on a whim to hitch up those same wagons, Annie currently resides in Texas (where everything is bigger) with her husband, daughter, and their two peculiar dogs, Boudreaux and Tabasco (who, call her crazy, bark with an accent).

For lagniappe (a little extra), a virtual cup of café au lait and beignets, please visit Annie’s website:

She can also be found on Facebook & Twitter.

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads  | Amazon Author Page 


Book Review: JUST ONE SIP by Scarlett Dawn @ScarlettDawnUSA

February 11, 2015 Book Review, Romance 0


AddtoGoodreads amazon


About the Book


New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, Scarlett Dawn, turns up the heat with two best friends, who were always meant for each other, in the first novella of The Club series, Just One Sip

Lucy Plume knows Jet Mak is the man she wants to marry. Her thoughts have never wavered to another. Lucy knows all of Jet’s secrets, his family’s secrets, and doesn’t give a damn. He is her best friend, her lover, her confidant…her all. But can she finally find the courage to say yes?

Jet Mak knows Lucy Plume is the woman he wants to marry. He’s known since they were children. Lucy is the only woman who can make him smile and groan at the same time. She tests his patience beyond what most men would endure, but he doesn’t care. He wants her, and everyone knows it. If only Lucy would say yes…

This is a multi-author project–you can find all The Club books at


My Review


My Rating: 4.5 Stars

” ‘You know Jet isn’t the type of man to take just one sip from.’

My lips twitched. ‘Actually, you’re wrong. He’s the man I want to take just one sip from every minute of every hour of every day. For the rest of my life.’ “

Though it’s just a novella, Just One Sip still has all of the elements of a good read: intriguing characters that are well developed, even in a short format, a juicy romantic plot, and just enough steam. Jet and Lucy’s best friends to lovers story is sweet, hot, and satisfying.

The book’s timeline skips around a bit, so it’s important to check the heading when starting a new chapter so that you know where you are. It took me a couple of chapters to get used to it, but the story still flowed. It  made complete sense and the glimpses in to the past enhanced the story of the present. As with all of Dawn’s books that I have read, the writing style is uniquely hers: clear and well-written, with genuine dialogue and emotion, sexiness, and a quirky sense of humor.

Though Jet and Lucy’s romance is a story all in it’s own, it seems that there’s more going on in the background. There’s a mysterious air surrounding Jet and Lucy’s family, as well as The Club. I’ll be looking out for future books in the series to see where this story might lead.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book for the purpose of honest review.


About the Author


Scarlett Dawn is the author of the Forever Evermore new adult fantasy series, which include King Hall and King Cave.

She lives in the Midwest, where she loves to ‘people watch’ and daydream. She adores her music loud and her fries covered in cheese.

Scarlett Dawn’s website:

CLICK HERE to read more of my reviews of Scarlett’s books.


Cover Reveal: LOVE STARTS WITH Z by Tera Shanley (@TeraShanley) #FavoriteAuthor #FavoriteSeries

January 27, 2015 Cover Reveal, Favorite Books 2

I’m so excited to share the cover for book #3 in Tera Shanley’s Dead Rapture Series, Love Starts With a Z! I love this author and her post-apocalyptic zombie books are some of my favorites. The books perfectly combine action and heartfelt emotion. This series is a must-read for fans of zombies and romance alike!


Release Date: February 17, 2015

Love Starts With Z cover



About the Book


Book #3 in the Dead Rapture Series. “She was Dead and human, and no matter which side she chose, she was a traitor.”

Twenty-four years into the Dead outbreak that ended the world, Soren Mitchell sticks out like a sore thumb in the remains of the human race. She’s an anomaly: a hybrid of human and Dead, created by her mother’s genetic immunity. Like her parents, she’s fierce and strong. But despite their hopes for her happiness and safety, and even though she is no real threat to the colony, she has let the humans muzzle her and confine her within the walls of Dead Run River in search of a cure.

When Kaegan Langford stumbles into the colony with an injured friend draped across his shoulders, her world is turned upside down. Intrigued and affected by her, he asks her to come to Empalme, Mexico with him to fight in the war between Deads and humans. It’ll be a long, treacherous journey to the coast, but she’s had all she can take in the colony.

Battles with Deads, betrayal, injury, kidnappings, and a criminal-run train ride stand between them and the war. But in the end, it’s not just the war with the Deads that could be the death of them.

Tera Shanley’s final book in the Dead Rapture series will thrill your heart…and your braaaains.


About the Author


Tera Shanley writes in sub-genres that stretch from Paranormal Romance, to Historic Western Romance, to Apocalyptic (zombie) Romance. The common theme? She loves love. A self-proclaimed bookworm, she was raised in small town Texas and could often be found decorating a table at the local library. She currently lives in Dallas with her husband and two young children and when she isn’t busy running around after her family, she’s writing a new story or devouring a good book. Any spare time is dedicated to chocolate licking, rifle slinging, zombie slaying, friend hugging, and the great outdoors. For more information about Tera and her work, visit

Facebook | Twitter


Read the rest of the Dead Rapture Series













*New Release* Excerpt and #Giveaway: THREE LITTLE WORDS by Maggie Wells #EroticRomance

December 15, 2014 Adult, Erotic Romance, New Release, Past Giveaways 1

Three Little Words


Three Little Words_Maggie Wells (683x1024)


Title: Three Little Words

Genre: Erotic Romance 18+

Author: Maggie Wells

Sexual Content: Explicit

Publish Date: December 15, 2014

Publisher Lyrical/Kensington

Type of book: Stand-alone novel

 Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Kensington | Kobo | iTunes | Google Play


About Three Little Words


It’s never too late to make the best impulsive decision of your life.

Jo Masters isn’t the party girl she used to be, but now that she’s a woman without obligations, she’s ready to recapture a little of her misspent youth. Her niece’s wedding, with its open bar and dark dance floor, proves to be the perfect opportunity to let loose.

Gregory Stark is just trying to make it through his son’s wedding day… and make some time with the gorgeous brunette on the bride’s side of the aisle. His kid’s wedding probably isn’t the best occasion to put the moves on the sexy woman, who introduces herself only as ‘Josie’, but his best friend is closing in on her too and he has to act fast. With a couple of tequila shots under his belt, Greg propositions Josie — and neither wants to refuse




The line at the bar wasn’t long, but she needed a drink–a real drink–and she needed it fast. Jo twirled her empty champagne flute and tapped her toe as the DJ made a cringe-worthy segue between Louis Armstrong and Pink. A pang of regret tweaked her stomach when she spotted her eldest brother, Tony, leading his baby girl from the dance floor, but that was nothing new. She’d suffered so many pangs in her life they’d become a part of her autonomic system. Breathe in, breathe out, pang. Blink, sniffle, sneeze, pang. Go to bed alone–again–pang!

At the tender age of twenty-six, her niece had managed to accomplish everything Jo never had. Kaylin had a career, a home of her own, and a man she loved so much she actually glowed. Literally glowed. Jo hadn’t known such a glow since her mother stopped slathering her sunburns in Noxzema.

Radiant happiness was enough to drive a woman to drink.

Three groomsmen bellied up to the bar and jockeyed for position in front of the pretty blond bartender. Their voices rose as they trumped each other’s orders. Each successive suggestion was an obvious attempt to prove the issuer was more worldly, and therefore manly, than the last. The misguided boys must have believed their ability to chug grain alcohol might make or break their chance at ending the evening in the poor girl’s bed. The bartender eyed them with hardly-contained disdain. The posturing little pricks didn’t notice. Jo couldn’t help but smile when the girl rolled her eyes and went back to stacking glassware.

What little buzz Jo had managed to eke out of two glasses of table wine and a flute of champagne began to wane. She considered goosing one of the guys to shock him into gear, but then another tuxedo-clad man, murmuring quiet excuses, slipped in front of her. The groomsmen jumped when the newcomer gripped their padded shoulders.

“Three beers for these guys, please. Give them the imported stuff.” Casually, he stuffed a twenty-dollar bill into the pitcher serving as a tip jar. “Having fun, fellas?”

The groomsmen replied in the affirmative, but their cheeks glowed pink. Bravado squelched, they grabbed their beers and beat a hasty retreat. The hero of the hour turned to face Jo. Recognition kicked in. Saliva pooled in her mouth and a tingle of awareness prickled the fine hairs at her nape. Her savior was none other than the father of the groom. It took a fraction of a second for her brain to source the pertinent facts Kaylin had imparted on Ben’s father. Gregory. Greg. Divorced, devoted dad, and hot as Hades on a summer day. Confronted with him now, Jo was happy to confirm the acute case of the bright shinies hadn’t skewed her niece’s powers of observation. Gregory Stark was all that and more.

He’d sneaked glances at her all through the ceremony. Now, he grinned right at her. “Good to know I’ve still got it.”

His dark eyes glinted with amusement. She wasn’t sure if he was referring to his ability to circumvent a bar line, or the fact that she’d been unable to resist returning every one of the furtive glances he’d tossed her way. Jo decided to play it neutral.

Rolling her parched tongue up off the carpet, she nodded the approbation he was obviously seeking. “Effective.”

No lie. He was the most attractive man she’d laid eyes on in forever. Which made perfect sense in a bizarre Karmic way. Of course she had to meet this man after she’d poked a nail through her last pair of control-top pantyhose.

Still, there was no reason she couldn’t catalog every bit of him for later use. With a practiced eye, she gauged him to be a few years older than her. Her guess put him somewhere in his mid-fifties. Unlike most men, he hadn’t packed on any extra cushioning for the slide into the AARP years. He was tall and lean, his movements as taut and compelling as the lines bracketing his eyes and those sculpted lips. His jaw was smooth and shiny, clean-shaven, but the shadow of a heavy beard loomed below the surface. Jo wanted to know what else he kept hidden under the slick exterior.

He’d been seated in the front pew at the ceremony beside his ex-wife and her husband. Jo wondered what he’d done to earn ex status. For the life of her, she couldn’t imagine any woman willingly giving this man up for the paunchy redhead who’d taken his place.

He nodded toward the array of bottles behind the bar. “Champagne?”

“God, no.” The response was automatic. She hated champagne. Pure desperation forced her to resort to the glass poured for the toasts because the dinner wine was long gone. Now he was offering her more. The sparkling wine seemed an apt choice for him. He looked like Cary Grant, what with the wings of silver in his dark hair, the crinkly brown eyes sparkling with mischief, and the tuxedo. Maybe he was offering her champagne because Cary Grant would offer her champagne. Cary would call her “darling.” Would Gregory Stark call her “darling?”

Something tugged at her fingers. She stared in rapt fascination as he removed the forgotten flute from her hand and placed it on the bar. “Oh. No. No more champagne.” She managed a weak twitch of her lips. “Thank you.”

A proprietary hand landed in the small of her back. Jo surrendered to the gentle pressure, closing her eyes and imagining the pads of his fingers to be electrodes. Sparks sizzled along her spine. He spread his fingers wide as he drew alongside her at the bar. Arousal swept through her like a hot flash. Unlike those endless minutes of core meltdown, this heat wasn’t something to be endured. His touch was a treat to be savored. She opened her eyes and found him staring at her, his lips parted and his eyes shining bright.

“What’ll it be, then?”

“Tequila. Three shots.”

The answer popped out before her brain engaged. It was a ghost from her past. A remnant of the reckless youth she’d left buried under a pile of soul-crushing responsibility.

“Whoa. Three?” He craned his neck and scanned the room. “Maybe I should get one of the younger guys back.”

Once upon a time, three was her magic number. The key to managing everything life had thrown at her. Good and bad. The magic of three stopped being effective not long after she’d turned thirty–a bitter disappointment she’d never managed to reconcile with herself. Turns out, fate had her number in another way.

Well, screw fate. She’d played the good girl long enough. Emboldened by the wine and the heat of his hand scorching her back, she looked him square in the eye. “I have no use for boys, thankyouverymuch. Don’t worry. It’s okay if you can’t keep up. I won’t think less of you.”

He laughed. Not a chuckle or a chortle, but a deep, rumbling, full-throated guffaw that wrapped itself around her and drew her closer still. Or maybe he pulled her in with his hand. Either way, she was within sniffing distance, so she took a hit. Pure man. No flowery cologne masked the warm and musky mix of soap, shaving cream, and some kind of whiskey. Thank God.

“Set ’em up,” he told the bartender.

The girl lined six tiny glasses along the side rail. Pale amber liquid dribbled onto the bar when she moved from glass to glass. She piled wedges of lime on a napkin and plunked a saltcellar beside it. The furrow of concentration between the bartender’s over-tweezed eyebrows smoothed when Greg shoved another bill into the tip jar.

His hand fell away from Jo’s back as they moved to the side of the bar. She kept her gaze purposefully averted, trying not to pout over the loss. She raised one of the shot glasses in silent salute then downed the tequila without benefit of salt and lime.

The alcohol blazed a trail of fire in her throat. Jo gave her head a toss to soothe the burn. The frank admiration in her companion’s gaze made her pussy tingle with arousal. Her body’s response to this gorgeous stranger startled her. Deep in her heart, she feared she was past all desire.

He leaned in closer. “What’s your name?”

The answer leapt to her tongue, but she bit it back. For one night, this night with this man, she didn’t want to be sad old Aunt Jo. She wanted to be the woman she’d been back in the days before she had to be seated with one of her cousins to round out a table. She wanted to be the girl who thought she had all the time in the world.

Fixing Kaylin’s new father-in-law with a bold stare, she raised a challenging eyebrow. “Jose.”

“As in Cuervo?”

“Exactly.” When he opened his mouth again, she held up one hand and dredged up the name she used in those wild days of time and tequila. “But you can call me Josie.”

He blinked once then cocked his head, studying her for one long moment. He reached for a glass. The wry twist of his lips told her he was certain she’d given him a fake name, but he didn’t seem to care too terribly much. He eyed her over the rim of the tiny glass. “Nice to meet you, Josie. I’m Greg.”

Silver cufflinks flashed as he tossed the shot back. He chased the booze with a low growl. A golden drop clung to his upper lip. Jo wiped it away with the pad of her thumb but froze as she pulled away. They stared at one another, arrested by her sheer audacity. Mortification set the tips of her ears on fire. She tried to finish her retreat, but he captured her wrist.

“Thank you.” He gave her a gentle squeeze. “Tell me, Josie, are you a pussycat?”

Jo laughed. And, damn, it felt good. She was flirting with a handsome man, and he was flirting back with enthusiasm. Quite a rush for a woman long out of practice. She swallowed the lump in her throat and lowered her gaze along with her wayward hand, wondering if her rusty skills were obvious.

“Uh-uh. Don’t try to play shy with me now,” he admonished. When she didn’t respond, he leaned close. His breath stirred her hair and tickled her ear. “You’re the most intriguing woman here, and you damn well know it.”

Pleasure ran warm and thick in her veins. Jo closed her eyes, giving herself over to the vague pain of her nipples tightening and the quickening of her pulse. “Do I?”

“I noticed you in the church.”

A shiver tripped along her spine. She tipped her head, surrendering to the moist caress of his breath. “You did?”

“I couldn’t stop looking at you.”

Though she’d noticed, the bold confession still stunned her. In the way of women too used to being invisible, she’d denied the tingle of knowledge. Hard to believe a man so handsome might find her attractive. For too long she’d played the part of plain old Aunt Jo.

“I can’t stop looking at you now.” The husky admission pried her eyes open. “I had to find you.”

The urgency in his tone gave her the boost she needed. Oh, how she wanted to be Josie with the tequila shots once more. With him. For him. Flashing a sly glance, she reached for a second tiny glass. “And now you have.”

He snatched a glass from the bar and touched the rim to hers. His gaze bore into her, unwavering and intense. “And now I have.”


About the Author


MaggieWells (409x450)Maggie Wells is a deep-‐down dirty girl with a weakness for hot heroes and happy endings. By day she is buried in spreadsheets, but at night she pens tales of people tangling up the sheets. The product of a charming rogue and a shameless flirt, this mild-‐mannered married lady has a naughty streak a mile wide.

Fueled by supertankers of Diet Coke, Maggie juggles fictional romance and the real deal by keeping her slow- ‐talking Southern gentleman constantly amused and their two grown children mildly embarrassed.

 Connect with Maggie: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads


Enter the Giveaway Below

$25.00 Gift Card and a light weight Three Little Words blanket


*New Release* BREEDER by K.B. Hoyle #Dystopian (@kbhoyle_author)

December 11, 2014 Dystopian/ Post-Apocalyptic, New Release 0





Release Date: December 11 , 2014

Published by The Writers Coffee Shop

Genre: Fiction, Dystopian

Available from: Amazon, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, and TWCS PH


About Breeder


Everything about Seventeen’s life is perfect, from her genetics, to her home in Sanctuary, to her status as a Breeder in the Unified World Order. But all that changes when she meets a rogue Enforcer named Pax, who infiltrates Sanctuary and targets her for extraction from the Controlled Repopulation Program. Pax seems to know a little too much about her, and he plants dangerous doubts in her mind that accuse Sanctuary of hiding a dark secret, and that cause Seventeen to question everything she’s ever known.

When Seventeen’s life is threatened, she has little choice but to run away from Sanctuary with Pax. But for Breeders, contact with men is forbidden by law, and even the simple act of taking Pax’s hand is treason.

Mired in confusion, Seventeen travels with Pax to the outside world and takes the name Pria, the identity of her childhood. But she is far from certain she’s made the right decision when they discover an entire community of people who should no longer exist.

Seventeen, now Pria, is thrust into a position as a key player in a dangerous bid to bring down the Unified World Order. Meanwhile, Pax’s attachment to her and her growing attraction to him contribute to the ever-growing mysteries in her life.

Pria’s journey from a sheltered, naïve Breeder to a rebel agent requires not only external transformation but self-discovery. As her world crumbles, Pria must decide who she is and what she really believes.

But the truth comes at a cost, and uncovering it will require a greater treason than she could ever have imagined.


Praise for Breeder

“Breeder was anything but a let down. The characters were extremely well written, making me able to empathize with Pria and Pax and the situation they find themselves in. I kept turning the pages because I just had to find out what happened to these people and, to my shock, finished the book in a day! ”  – Angela  Goodreads Review


About the Author


K.B. Hoyle is a bestselling author, a public speaker, a creative writing instructor, and a classical history teacher who uses her knowledge of the ancient and medieval worlds to pen speculative and fantasy tales for people of all ages. She has been married since the age of twenty to the love of her life, with whom she has four wonderful children. Find out more about her at

Facebook * Website * Blog * Twitter


Excerpt and #Giveaway: EASY VIRTUE by Mia Asher (@miaasherauthor)

December 10, 2014 Book Tour, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, New Release, Past Giveaways 0

easy virtue blog tour


easy virtue cover


Amazon | Amazon UK | Barnes and Noble | iTunes


About Easy Virtue


Love is selfish…


My name is Blaire.

I’m the bad girl.

The other woman.

The one who never gets the guy in the end.


I’m the gold digger.

The bitch.

The one no one roots for.

The one you love to hate.


I hate myself too…


Everyone has a story. Are you ready for mine?




With champagne and caviar inundating my every sense, I slither through the light wooden floors of the Lila Acheson Wallace Wing in The Met. As I walk, I pretend to admire the expensive jewelry being showcased tonight by a famous designer whose name I can’t remember. A multicolored diamond butterfly sparkles to my left and a cobra made out of black stones glistens to my right. Rows upon rows of precious gems twinkle under the soft lights of the room, flooding the space between the walls with the glow of a thousand stars. Furtive glances. Secrets gossiped. Beauty criticized. Lofty music fills the atmosphere as the über rich mingle and pretend to like each other, yet you can almost taste their conceit and derision for one another in the air.

This is Walker’s world, and I love it.

Standing across the room, where the crowd is thinner and the music fainter, I spot Walker’s blond head in the corner of the room, talking to a group of his colleagues and their wives. He looks polished and worth every penny of his trust fund in his sleek black tuxedo, perfectly starched white shirt and black bowtie. His long golden hair parted to the side shines like the sun. He is truly flawless.

I smile because it’s hard to picture that this is the same guy who likes to snort coke off my tits as he fucks me while hardcore porn plays in the background. He looks untouchable and so cool, but his searching eyes, scanning the crowd for me give him up. He’s wondering where I am. He did tell me not to go too far, after all. Soon after we arrived at the party, I gave him some space to talk to his friends and do his thing while I did mine. I hate clingy people, so I avoid being one.

I grab a third flute of champagne from a passing waiter, and try to decide which of the different displays to check out first when my eyes land on a spectacular piece of jewelry. On a bed of black silk, similar to my hair color, lies an extravagant necklace made of diamonds and rubies—a small heaven within one’s reach as long as you can afford the price.

I bridge the space between the glass protecting the necklace and me until it’s within my reach, fighting the urge to touch the cool surface. As if under a spell, I observe how the rows of diamonds embedded in platinum form leaves and thorns. At its center is a rose made out of red diamonds almost as big as my palm.

I feel someone walk up and stand next to me, but I don’t give him or her a second thought as I continue to admire the way the light hits the gems, making them shine.

“Beautiful, isn’t it?”

His voice is smooth and commanding, dripping absolute power. I keep my eyes locked on the display. Call it sixth sense, but somehow I know that under no circumstance should I make eye contact with the stranger who speaks like the ruler of the world.

“Yes,” I say simply.

“I wonder how much it is?” the man asks.

“I don’t think it matters … I highly doubt anyone can afford it.”

He chuckles, and the sound is more delicious than his voice. Lusher. “Oh, but I can.”

I smile at his self-assurance. I love cocky assholes. “I still doubt it.”

“You shouldn’t. I only speak the truth,” he retorts coolly. His voice is nonchalant yet his words leave no room for disbelief—a demand and a statement all in one.

Suddenly, the noises of the room become distant. People talking and laughing amongst friends and the orchestra playing all fade away until all I hear is him speaking.

And at this moment, that is all that matters.

“The truth is very subjective, sir.”

“The truth may be subjective but money isn’t. Money can buy anything.”

His answer is like an electroshock, jumpstarting my brain from a champagne-induced haze. My pulse begins to accelerate, excitement making it hard to take a deep breath. Don’t look at him … don’t.

“Oh really,” I say, my voice dripping with sarcasm. He’s right, though.

“Of course. I believe everything,” he pauses, “and everyone has a price.”

Curiosity winning the battle against curiosity, I turn to face him, and what a fucking big mistake that is. When our eyes meet, I feel incapacitated of all sense and movement. The sight of him takes my breath away. This man gives the term “lust at first sight” a whole new meaning.

In my short twenty-three years, I’ve been with extremely handsome men, perfect even, but to classify the man standing next to me in any kind of category would be a disservice to him, and not really fair to the others. Longish, light brown hair wildly framing his face, vacant eyes the color of dollar bills, a slightly crooked nose, and a mouth that begs to be buried deep within your thighs. His beauty is as harsh as it is stunningly perfect. Dressed in a simple black tuxedo and unbuttoned white shirt, the man exudes innate virility and grace, reminding me of a black panther stalking his prey. And just like a panther, it’s the pure raw and powerful energy emanating from within him that I find most attractive. Because just by standing next to him, I get the sense that his word is always the last spoken and his wishes the first ones to be fulfilled. He doesn’t ask, he demands. He doesn’t hope, he expects.

He’s quiet for a moment; his uncanny eyes hold me captive as though they are baring my soul to him and I hate it. I tighten my hold on the crystal flute. I want to look away, but I can’t. The way he’s staring at me makes me want to squirm.

“I wonder … do you have one?” he asks softly before turning to examine the piece of jewelry once more.

“A what?” I ask, momentarily stunned.

He smiles. “A price.”

“For the right amount … I just might,” I say quietly, my heart beating so fast it feels as though it wants out of my chest. As soon as the words leave my mouth, there’s no shock coursing down my body, no rolling waves of shame pulling me down for having said that to a complete stranger—nothing.

And why should there be? I am who I am.

I’m staring at his profile, waiting for him to acknowledge my answer, when a breeze of cool air floats past us, making me shiver. About to chase the goose bumps on my arm with my hand, I watch as he slowly turns to look at me, catching me staring at him. Time stands still as I watch him raise his large tanned hand and touch my bare shoulder, his fingertips lightly grazing the temporary small bumps covering it. Then he smiles as if he knows that my skin is tingling from his scalding touch, and looks away.

“I thought so.”

We remain standing next to each other for another minute or so, the distance between us almost nonexistent. It would be so easy to reach out and hold his hand. The sound of an incoming call breaks the silence, bringing us back to reality.

He takes his cell phone out of the inner pocket of his tuxedo jacket and ignores the call after noting the name of the caller. He lifts his gaze to meet my own.

“Sorry about that.”

“It’s okay. I should go … I’m here with someone,” I reply, not really wanting to leave him just yet.

“Yes, that’s probably a good idea.”

I frown. He didn’t have to be quite so blunt. The stranger extends a hand toward me, holding something in his fingers.

“Here … ”

I open my hand as I feel the edges of what I assume is his business card poke the skin of my palm. “What’s this?” I ask stupidly.

“My business card, of course.”

“Obviously … but why?”

He smiles, but it doesn’t reach his eyes. “Let’s just say that I’m an interested buyer.”

And then he’s gone.

He turns and walks away from me, disappearing into a sea of colorful gowns and black suits. As the sounds of the party infiltrate my ears once more, I lower my gaze to stare at the simple cream-colored card in my hand. Its simplistic and elegant design draws attention to the name printed in bold black letters on the paper.

Lawrence Rothschild.

I smile and let my fingertips trail his name. It depends on what you’re willing to pay, Mr. Rothschild.

Published by Mia Asher

Copyright © 2013 by Mia Asher


Easy Virtue RD


About the Author


My name is Mia Asher.

I’m a writer, a hopeless romantic, a wanderer, a dreamer, a cynic, and a believer. And, oh yes…I might be a bit crazy – but who isn’t?

 Stalk Her: Facebook | Twitter | Website | Goodreads | Pinterest


Enter the Giveaway Below

a Rafflecopter giveaway