Posts Categorized: Adult

5 Star Book Review: SECRET SISTERS by Jayne Ann Krentz (@JayneAnnKrentz)

October 7, 2015 Adult, Book Review, Romance, Romantic Suspense 0

SSbanner

Amazon (pre-order) | Goodreads

 

My Review

My Rating: 5 Stars

“It wasn’t easy to start talking about a secret that had been kept for eighteen years.”

Secret Sisters has all of the elements of an excellent romantic suspense. First of all, it has the perfect setting. Though it begins in the desert of the southwest, much of the story takes place on a  dreary island in the Pacific northwest. A spooky, nearly abandoned hotel is haunted by secret ghosts of the past (not literally) that just won’t stay secret. A harrowing night eighteen years earlier is just one part of a huge web lies, deceit, murder, and mystery that has brought the entire cast of characters back to the island.

I loved the pace of the story and the manner in which clues were revealed. There was always enough information to form my own theories, but never enough that the mysteries were too easy to solve. This made the story completely addictive and nearly impossible to put down. There were several instances where I felt I might have things figured out, but there was always a twist waiting to turn things upside down. Not only do we get to unravel the dangerous murder mysteries, but our characters had their own secret pasts, and we are slowly fed bits of information until a clear picture is formed.

The characters are all strong, but I particularly enjoyed the female leads, Madeline and Daphne. They are both strong characters, successful in their own right, and strong in the face of danger; they never felt like damsels in distress having to be rescued by the big, tough men. They still have relatable vulnerability, but it never translates as weakness. In addition to the main characters, an entire cast of secondary characters really adds depth to the story.

I appreciated that the plot was slightly heavy on the mystery and suspense side, but a little lighter on the romance. There was just enough romance and chemistry and even a few breathtaking romantic moments, but the focus was more on the exciting story. Frankly, I was relieved that this truly engaging and fast-paced mystery/suspense didn’t get bogged down by unnecessary relationship drama. Our main couple, Jack and Madeline, are both blunt, efficient people, and it wouldn’t have felt genuine if they spent to much time being indecisive and overly emotional. They didn’t need that. Their romance was subtle, simple, and to the point, making it all the more powerful.

With it’s cleverly constructed mysteries, excellently written characters, perfectly ominous setting, and just the right amount of romance, Secret Sisters is and addictive and exciting read.

” ‘It’s all right,’ she said. ‘I won’t shatter.’

‘I know that. You’re strong.’ Her wrapped one big hand around the back of her head and drew her mouth down to his. ‘But I sure as hell will fracture into a million little pieces if I screw this up.’ “

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

About Secret Sisters

 

Book Review - Secret Sisters by Jayne Ann Krentz

 

Secret Sisters by Jayne Ann Krentz

No one does romantic suspense better than Jayne Ann Krentz. Now, the New York Times bestselling author of Trust No One and River Road delivers a novel that twists and turns into a read that will leave you breathless.

Madeline and Daphne were once as close as sisters—until a secret tore them apart. Now it might take them to their graves.

They knew his name, the man who tried to brutally attack twelve-year-old Madeline in her grandmother’s hotel. They thought they knew his fate. He wouldn’t be bothering them anymore…ever. Still their lives would never be the same.

Madeline has returned to Washington after her grandmother’s mysterious death. And at the old, abandoned hotel—a place she never wanted to see again—a dying man’s last words convey a warning: the secrets she and Daphne believed buried forever have been discovered.

Now, after almost two decades, Madeline and Daphne will be reunited in friendship and in fear. Unable to trust the local police, Madeline summons Jack Rayner, the hotel chain’s new security expert. Despite the secrets and mysteries that surround him, Jack is the only one she trusts…and wants.

Jack is no good at relationships but he does possess a specific skill set that includes a profoundly intimate understanding of warped and dangerous minds. With the assistance of Jack’s brother, Abe, a high-tech magician, the four of them will form an uneasy alliance against a killer who will stop at nothing to hide the truth….

Amazon (pre-order) | Goodreads

 


Book Review: ALEX by Sawyer Bennett (@BennettBooks) *HOT hockey player alert!*

November 18, 2014 Adult, Book Review, Contemporary Romance 0

*This review was original published at RomanceatRandom.com on October 3, 2014.*

 

Alex_Bennett_Feat

AddtoGoodreads amazon

 

About Alex

 

USA Today bestselling author Sawyer Bennett scores big-time with the first novel in a sexy new series hot enough to melt the ice.

Hockey star Alexander Crossman has a reputation as a cold-hearted player on and off the rink. Pushed into the sport by an alcoholic father, Alex isn’t afraid to give fans the proverbial middle finger, relishing his role as the MVP they love to hate. Management, however, isn’t so amused. Now Alex has a choice: fix his public image through community service or ride the bench. But Alex refuses to be molded into the Carolina Cold Fury poster boy . . . not even by a tempting redhead with killer curves.

As a social worker, Sutton Price is accustomed to difficult people—like Alex, who’s been assigned to help her create a drug-abuse awareness program for at-risk youth as part of the team’s effort to clean up his image. What she doesn’t expect is the arrogant smirk from his perfect lips to stir her most heated fantasies. But Sutton isn’t one to cross professional boundaries—and besides, Alex doesn’t do relationships . . . or does he? The more she sees behind Alex’s bad-boy façade, the more Sutton craves the man she uncovers.

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

 

My Review

 

My Rating: 4.5 Stars

“I should let her go… right now, right this very minute.

But I’m a selfish bastard and I’m not going to do it. I’m going to keep her until I’m ready to destroy her, and then I’ll just add that to the pile of guilt I’m already suffering under.”

An emotional romance with a hint of darkness, ALEX is at once sexy, heartbreaking and hopeful. Bennett bravely tackles issues of abuse and addiction, and still delivers a sizzling sports romance.

Cold as ice. That’s how I would describe hockey star Alex Crossman. He’s gorgeous, he’s a loner, and he’s broken. Growing up with an abusive, alcoholic father has left him unable to form meaningful relationships. That is, until he meets Sutton Price. Now, I’m all about my book boyfriends, and Alex is certainly worthy, but Sutton is the clear star of this story. She too has an abusive past, but she has done everything to overcome it. She’s grounded, strong, smart, generous, and caring. She’s relatable, a girlfriend that we all want and the kind of person we should aspire to be. I want to hang out with her and have a glass of wine, and dish about her super hot hockey player boyfriend. As much as I enjoyed Alex and Sutton together, she’s the character I fell in love with.

These two characters have some serious chemistry together. There’s plenty of tension from their first meeting and it only builds from there, until it’s boiling over. The result is some fantastic sex, all raw and frenzied and rough and just plain hot sex. Alex may have trouble talking about his feelings, but he has no trouble with communicating with his hands, tongue, and his… well, you know. This author has a way of writing stories that are emotional and romantic but also intensely sexy; she finds a perfect balance.

“There is no sweet tenderness from him, but I can still feel a world of care within his touch. I can sometimes hear it in the way he moans, but most definitely he gives it away when he talks as he f***s me.”

Around the halfway point of the book, the story moved a little slow for my taste, but it picked up and I was rewarded with a really fantastic HEA that left me grinning like an idiot with tears in my eyes. All of the ups and downs and hoping that these two would truly find each other was worth it. It’s a story of addiction and healing, of friendships and family relationships, and ultimately of love, forgiveness, and acceptance. As a whole, this is a very good read. Engaging and cleanly written, with a thoughtful and multi-layered plot, lovable characters, intense emotion, a bit of humor, hopeful romance, and some panty-melting sex scenes. There are also a few colorful secondary characters and I hope we get some of their stories in future reads. (Hint: More Garrett, please!!)

“She brought color into my otherwise gray existence, and for that I owe her everything.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book for the purpose of honest review.

 

Ask and you shall receive… Garrett is coming February 2015!

23121837

 


Book Review and #Giveaway: ILLUSION by J.S. Cooper (@JSCooperAuthor)

November 17, 2014 Adult, Book Review, Book Tour, Contemporary Romance, Mystery/Suspense, Past Giveaways, Romantic Suspense 0

illusionislive

ILLUSION IS LIVE!!!

What would you do if you woke up on a deserted island tied to a mysterious hunky stranger?

Do you like hot, sexy romances that are full of mystery and surprises? Then it’s time for you to read Illusion.

Get your copy now on:

AMAZON

BARNES & NOBLE

iBooks

 

My Review

 

beach-beautiful-boy-couple-Favim.com-868718

My Rating: 4 Stars

” ‘I never said you could touch me,’ I whispered softly, not wanting him to stop.

‘Sometimes assent doesn’t come from the mouth, it comes from the eyes.’

‘My eyes told you it was alright to touch me?’

‘Your eyes told me it was alright to fuck you.’ “

This book kept me glued to the pages with both suspense and sexual tension. There were times that I thought I was beginning to understand what was truly going on and unravel the mystery, then something would happen to throw me right off course. Ultimately, one of my theories turned out to be true, but until it was proven in the end, I could never be certain.

Our main characters make an interesting couple. They have both been kidnapped and put on a deserted tropical island. We know Bianca’s story and motives, but we can’t be sure of why Jakob is really there. What we do know about this couple is that they have some sizzling sexual chemistry. Even though I found Bianca a little annoying, and I couldn’t decide whether Jakob was the good guy or the bad guy, I just wanted them to get it on already! There’s a great slow build in their relationship and somewhere along the way, real, complicated feelings became involved, and it’s clear that even with the deceptions and mysterious circumstances, this couple has a genuine connection.

One of my favorite things about this book: it left me wanting more… now! If you’re not a fan of cliffhangers, I would recommend waiting for the series to finish before starting. Though this chapter in the story has a conclusion and some questions are answered, many more are raised. I’m pretty sure that this sexy and thrilling story is only just beginning and I can’t wait to see where the author takes this couple. If the rest of the story is like this first book, it’s sure to be intense and full of twists, turns, and spicy romance.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Read an excerpt of Illusion below:

“I have you in the palm of my hands,” he whispered softly and leaned toward me.

“What do you mean by that?” I whispered back at him, my stomach jumping as his fingers brushed my wet hair away from my face.

“Nothing.” He shook his head. “I’m just saying, I could do what I wanted to you right now, but all I’m doing is saving you. I hope you’ll trust me after this.”

“Untie me and I’ll trust you.” I nodded, unblinking.

“Can I get a kiss as well?” His eyes sparkled as his lips came dangerously close to mine.

“What?” I closed my eyes and waited to feel his lips on mine.

“Open your eyes, Bianca.” He whispered against my lips. I could feel his breath gliding over my skin as I opened my eyes slowly. I swallowed hard as I stared up at him.

Join the JS Cooper Mailing List to be notified of all new releases.

 

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway for a $20 Amazon Giftcard and a signed copy of Illusion!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 


5 Star Book Review: UNCIVILIZED by Sawyer Bennett (@BennettBooks)

September 22, 2014 Adult, Book Tour, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, Erotica 0

UncivilFinal

Erotic Adult Contemporary

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iBooks

AddtoGoodreads

 

About Uncivilized

 

**Warning: This book is a wild, sexy beast of a read. 18+**

Putting a woman on her knees before me is what really makes my cock hard. I fuck with dominant force and absolute control. I demand complete surrender from my conquests.

Savage man, loner, warrior… I am dangerous at my core. I have lived amidst the untamed wild of the rainforest, in a society that reveres me and where every woman falls before me in subjugation.

Now I’ve been discovered. Forced to return to a world that I have forgotten about and to a culture that is only vaguely familiar to my senses.

Dr. Moira Reed is an anthropologist who has been hired to help me transition back into modern society. It’s her job to smooth away my rough edges… to teach me how to navigate properly through this new life of mine. She wants to tame me.

She’ll never win.

I am wild, free and raw, and the only thing I want from the beautiful Moira Reed is to fuck her into submission.

She wants it, I am certain.

I will give it to her soon.

Yes, very soon, I will become the teacher and she will become my student. And when I am finished showing her body pleasure like no other, she’ll know what it feels like to be claimed by an uncivilized man.

 

My Review

 

 

200

 

My Rating: 5 Stars

” ‘At this very moment, I own every piece of your body,’ he tells me while squeezing my legs that are still trapped in his massive hands. ‘If you want me to continue to fuck you, then you’ll do what I tell you.’ “

This edgy, unique, and deliciously sexy book is going to have readers braving far away jungles looking for their own ‘uncivilized man’. Zach Easton is an American raised by an Amazonian tribe when his missionary parents died on a trip deep in the rainforest. He is hot, dominant, and as far as sex goes, is used to taking what he wants, whenever he wants it. And now he wants Moira, the woman hired to help him find his way in a society he barely remembers.

I enjoyed Moira and Zach’s story for many reasons; it’s compelling and different, a story I haven’t read before. I love reading about sexually dominant alpha males (who doesn’t??) but Zach’s personal history made his story really interesting. His need for domination and control is a cultural thing. He’s fully comfortable with his dominate side, but slowly opens up and wants to explore his sexuality in the modern world. Fortunately, after some convincing, Moira discovers freedom in submitting to Zach, and is there to help him explore. That brings me to the sex. OMG. This book has tons of explosive sex between two hot leading characters. This couple couldn’t keep their hands off each other and I certainly didn’t want them to.

Not only is the sex scorching but the rest of story kept me eagerly turning pages. There’s a true emotional connection between Moira and Zach but any kind of future seems impossible. They come from different worlds, and as much as they come to care for one another, Zach seems determined to return to the jungle. The fantastic, powerful sex coupled with the characters’ raw and complicated emotions make this a completely engaging read; I couldn’t wait to see if they could find a way to make it work. I’ve enjoyed every one of Sawyer Bennett’s books that I have read, and Uncivilized was no exception.

“He has thoroughly possessed me, and he has no clue. He has no ides the power he holds, and he clearly has no idea that my heart is now involved too. I only wish it weren’t so, because I have a feeling I’m going to be destroyed when he goes.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book for the purpose of honest review.

 

About the Author

 

USA Today Best-Selling author, Sawyer Bennett, is a snarky southern woman and reformed trial lawyer who decided to finally start putting on paper all of the stories that were floating in her head. She is married to a mobster (well, a market researcher) and they have two big, furry dogs who hog the bed. Sawyer would like to report she doesn’t have many weaknesses but can be bribed with a nominal amount of milk chocolate.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

 

ATOMR Release Graphic

 


Book Review and #Giveaway: A GIRL IN PARIS by Mira Noire (@MiraNoire) #Lesbian #Erotica

September 9, 2014 Adult, Book Review, Book Tour, Erotica, Past Giveaways 0

A-Girl-in-Paris-Tour-Banner

 

A Girl in Paris

by Mira Noire
Publication Date: January 20, 2013
Genres: Erotica, LGBT, Short Story
Purchase from: AmazonNookKobo

 

A Girl In Paris Cover 400

AddtoGoodreads amazon

 

About A Girl in Paris

 

After she leaves her latest male lover behind, an American finds herself struggling to carry her bags on the streets of Paris. Drawn by the provocative gaze and unrepentant sensuality of a young prostitute not unlike herself, her offer of charity turns into far more than she bargained for. Questioning her sexuality and morality, our anonymous lover surrenders herself to a single night of raw, unadulterated sex in the arms of her first ever female lover.

This title contains explicit adult content: bi-curious f/f, dominance, light exhibitionism, and toy play.

 

My Review

 

My Rating: 4 Stars

“We were women; we were soft but dangerous. Men were hard and dangerous, so they had no mystery, nothing enigmatic to be spelled by. A few could capture hearts, and minds, and love, but all others had no magic such as this.”

A Girl in Paris is a haunting, sensual and highly erotic short story depicting one night between an American traveler and a French prostitute. I was immediately surprised about the darkness that creeps in to the reading experience and surrounds two compelling characters. This isn’t light and fluffy; it’s intense and edgy, and the reader is immediately transported and sucked in to to this grungy little corner of Paris, where it seems sexual pleasure is the only escape. There’s a lot of story and a lot of emotion packed in to the story’s short length; the author does an excellent job of creating emotions with out having to spell them out. This is a quick read, but entirely enjoyable for readers of lesbian erotica that enjoy something a little on the darker side.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book for the purpose of honest review.

 

About the Author

 

Mira Noire

Passion. Decadence. Drama. Mira Noire doesn’t pussyfoot around. If you’re looking for the typical happily-ever-after with the same old characters – they aren’t here. Mira writes visceral scenes that are so real you can taste (and smell!) them, and loves to feature flawed characters you may not always like. Like or not, you’ll definitely love watching them, and hopefully enjoy following them on their intensely personal erotic journeys. Mira lives in the San Francisco Bay Area, loves to travel abroad, and has a B.A. in English from Stanford University.

Visit Mira at http://www.miranoire.com to get to know her world a little better.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

IndieSage PR
 


5 Star Book Review and #Giveaway: SUGAR ON THE EDGE by Sawyer Bennett (@BennettBooks)

August 19, 2014 Adult, Book Review, Book Tour, Contemporary Romance, Past Giveaways 0

 

SUGAR ON THE EDGE

 BY USA Today Best-selling Author Sawyer Bennett

 Last Call, #3

Sensual couple

Adult Contemporary Romance

 Released July 28, 2014

 AddtoGoodreads

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iBooks

CLICK HERE to follow the tour 🙂

 

About Sugar on the Edge

 

He’s utterly alone…

Tortured and existing in a dark spiral of despair, bestselling British author, Gavin Cooke, has come to the Outer Banks of North Carolina to escape the seedy lifestyle he had been living in London and in a desperate attempt to regain his writing focus. He’s twisted, bitter and angry at the world. He’s a loner… needing not a single thing other than his Scotch and a laptop upon which he can bang out his next erotic, dark thriller.

 

She’s running in place and getting nowhere…

Savannah Shepherd’s life is falling apart. Her dream of being a wildlife photographer seems a distant memory and she’s barely able to make ends meet. Driving herself forward with no clear goals apparent, she’s about ready to pack up her bags and head home with her tail between her legs.

 

Two unlikely lovers…

He’s raw, forceful and a dirty talker. She’s a flowers and romance type of girl. Yet within each other, they find a mutual craving that can only be satisfied by giving in to their desires for one another.

Lust turns into something more… something they were not looking for but tentatively accept. Will it be enough to push them past the obstacles of Gavin’s bitter past?

*SUGAR ON THE EDGE can be read as a stand-alone*

 

My Review

My Rating: 5 Stars

“… I felt it to the absolute center of my soul. The moment that he just completely possessed me, when his body grabbed a hold of mine and laid claim to it. When he just ruined me for anything else.

I felt it. He Felt it.

It was beautiful and scorching, and I’m terrified over what it all means.” 

*Dramatic sigh* You know how it is readers: one day you wake up in the morning, straight from an especially naughty dream and look over at your kindle. Then it hits you; to your utter shock and horror realize your book boyfriend (or girlfriend!) just isn’t doing it for you anymore. So you decide to see other people. You date some other book dudes, but they’re boring, too sweet, way too dark, or not dark enough, or not funny, not romantic enough, just plain bad in bed, or they happen to be a yeti, or a demon, or a dinosaur. You almost give up on dating altogether,  and consider giving up and spending the rest of your life reading non-fiction or high fantasy. Then BAM, in walks sexy Gavin Cooke with his british accent, wicked tongue, romantic words, dark past, bright future, and promise of mind-blowing, fantastic sex, and you know you’ve found the one; for now at least. The catch is you have to have a threesome with the totally lovely Savannah but let’s face it, that’s a bonus.

So that’s what Sugar on the Edge brings to the table. It’s that elusive combination of romance that’s satisfying but not too sweet, punctuated by just enough darkness. It has plenty of emotion, but not angsty, and is balanced with humor and light and deliciously naughty sex. Lots of fuck me on the table, on the floor, in the bed, tied up, anywhere and anytime sex. The chemistry between these two is scorching. Seriously, there were a couple of scenes before they even had sex that left me breathless.

I was completely enamored by Gavin and Savannah. He’s a writer, and she became his muse and as their relationship evolved so did Gavin’s current manuscript, and so did he. He went from dark and tortured to someone who wanted to live and to love, and Savannah helped him there. He showed her what it is to be desired, craved, and cared for, and helped her to realize her own quiet strength. I loved how as they came together, they became better versions of themselves. That’s a really good thing because they’re going to need to find the best in themselves to deal with a dramatic event. Reading their story was an absolute pleasure with moments where I laughed, cried, and a quite a few that left me squirming, wishing my man was home. The writing is lovely, natural, and engaging, and the cast of characters relatable and multi-dimensional.

Though this book is the third in the series and has appearances from other Last Call characters, it is completely a standalone. It’s the first in the series that I have read but I can assure you the others are going on my reading list.

“I’m overwhelmed with desire for her. Desire, not lust. Because they are two different things.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

 

About the Author

 

USA Today Best-Selling author, Sawyer Bennett, is a snarky southern woman and reformed trial lawyer who decided to finally start putting on paper all of the stories that were floating in her head. She is married to a mobster (well, a market researcher) and they have two big, furry dogs who hog the bed. Sawyer would like to report she doesn’t have many weaknesses but can be bribed with a nominal amount of milk chocolate.
Website | Facebook | Twitter

 

Enter the Giveaway Below

a Rafflecopter giveaway


5+ Star Book review: THE SAINT by Tiffany Reisz (@tiffanyreisz) @RockstarPRLC

June 29, 2014 Adult, BDSM, Book Tour, Erotic Romance, Erotica, Favorite Books 0

Dear Readers,

I’m beyond excited to share my review of The Saint with you. I have many favorites books, but the books of The Original Sinners series top that list. I have trouble putting in to words how much I adore these stories and I hope this review does this newest book justice. If you’ve read this series, I would love for you to share in the comments what you thought of the books, and what some of your favorite moments are. If you haven’t read them, I can’t recommend them enough.

Sincerely,

The Girl with the Jabberwocky Tattoo

(Yep, I really do have “Jabberwocky” tattooed on my arm and “Many / Waters” on my wrists, both inspired by The Siren.)

” ‘Never forget the lesson of the Jabberwocky’… When one is a monster, one does well to beware knights in shining armor.” -Søren, The Siren

 

The Saint cover

Title: The Saint by Tiffany Reisz

Release date: June 24th

 

About The Saint by Tiffany Reisz

Before she became Manhattan’s most famous dominatrix, Nora Sutherlin was merely a girl called Eleanor…

Rebellious, green-eyed Eleanor never met a rule she didn’t want to break. She’s sick of her mother’s zealotry and the confines of Catholic school, and declares she’ll never go to church again. But her first glimpse of beautiful, magnetic Father Marcus Stearns—Søren to her and only her—and his lust-worthy Italian motorcycle is an epiphany. Eleanor is consumed—yet even she knows being in love with a priest can’t be right.

But when one desperate mistake nearly costs Eleanor everything, it is Søren who steps in to save her. When she vows to repay him with complete obedience, a whole world opens before her as he reveals to her his deepest secrets that will change everything.

Danger can be managed—pain, welcomed. Everything is about to begin.

Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | iBooks | Kobo

AddtoGoodreads

*Note: The other books in The Original Sinners series are all available on the sidebar “Kindle Shop”, on the top row.

 

My Review

 

My Rating: All the Stars

 

tumblr_mv7815dKv61qg3zcfo1_500

” ‘Forever,’ she said.

And he said, ‘Everything’.

The deal was done.”

When The Mistress, the final book in The Original Sinners: The Red Years was released, I didn’t want to read it. Why wouldn’t I want to read the much anticipated final book in a series I love so much? I didn’t want it to be over; and it’s not. One of the things I enjoy about the series, and particularly The Saint, is the way Reisz handles time. There is a continuity of events, but time is not completely linear. The Saint actually begins after the ending of The Mistress, but we get to hear Nora’s account of the beginning of her relationship with her priest. There are flashbacks and stories within stories, all with perfectly executed jumps through time. This book and the series as a whole is not simply a chronicle of events, it’s a rich and complicated history, it’s the connection of characters and map of crossed paths and roads less traveled. I already knew Nora and Søren’s story from the other books, just not all of the details. I knew their first meeting and those first years in their relationship would be a fantastic read, I just had no idea how fantastic.

The book has Reisz’s clever style that I enjoy so much: engrossing and compelling storytelling with an innate darkness complemented perfectly with romance, overwhelmingly intense emotion, and intelligent and well-timed wit. She blends sex and religion without apology or remorse. The characters are complex, vulnerable, flawed, yet much larger than life, bigger and better than real-life could hope to be. These are characters that are etched on my soul and words that remind me of their stories are inked on my skin. I loved getting to know young Nora (Eleanor), and learn her history, what made her who she is: sharply intelligent and incredibly strong but still sensitive. I’m always excited to see more of Søren and his many sides: the heart-stoppingly sexy priest, the sadist, and the man in love with this amazing girl. We even get to see a more relaxed Søren, sometimes funny and I daresay he even has a few vulnerable moments.

I absolutely love this book. It’s unique, contemporary and edgy, yet this sexy, perfect, forbidden, electric, and entirely unconventional romance feels timeless. It features a love story that shouldn’t be obvious and absolute, as if ordained by God or the fates or whatever the fuck anyone believes. But they simply belong together, the Priest and his young Eleanor, the sadist and the masochist, Sir and His submissive, the King and Esther. There in lies the brilliance, the intangible thing that Reisz has acheived: created an epic and all consuming tale where the reader can imagine that as “wrong” or “weird” as things may seem, nothing could be more right.

“She’d fallen in love with him the moment she first saw him, and she would love him now until the end of the world.”

 

About Tiffany Reisz

Tiffany Reisz

Tiffany Reisz is the author of the highly acclaimed series The Original Sinners. Her first novel, THE SIREN, won the RT Editor’s Choice Award for Best Erotic Romance of 2012. Slightly shameless, Tiffany dropped out of a conservative Southern seminary in order to pursue a career as a writer. This move, while possibly putting her eternal salvation in peril, has worked out better than she anticipated. She lives in Portland, Oregon with her boyfriend, author Andrew Shaffer.

Website // Twitter // Facebook // Goodreads // Amazon Author Page

 

RockStar badge


#AdultSexEd Non-Fic Book Spotlight: THE ETHICAL SLUT. A GUIDE TO INFINITE SEXUAL POSSIBILITIES #AdultSexEdMonth

June 6, 2014 #AdultSexEdMonth, Adult, Non-Fiction 0

10284350

The Ethical Slut: A Guide to Infinite Sexual Possibilities

Authors: Dossie Easton, Janet W. Hardy

AddtoGoodreads

Amazon ~ Barnes and Noble

 

About the Book

 

The essential guide for singles and couples who want to explore polyamory in ways that are ethically and emotionally sustainable.

For anyone who has ever dreamed of love, sex, and companionship beyond the limits of traditional monogamy, this groundbreaking guide navigates the infinite possibilities that open relationships can offer. Experienced ethical sluts Dossie Easton and Janet W. Hardy dispel myths and cover all the skills necessary to maintain a successful and responsible polyamorous lifestyle—from self-reflection and honest communication to practicing safe sex and raising a family. Individuals and their partners will learn how to discuss and honor boundaries, resolve conflicts, and to define relationships on their own terms.

 


Book Tour and Review: HER MASTER’S COURTESAN by Lily White (@eroticlilywhite)

March 6, 2014 Adult, Book Review, Book Tour, Dark Romance, Erotica 0

tour banner

Her Master’s Courtesan may have been banned on Amazon (F**k you Amazon!) but became a bestseller on Barnes and Noble. This is a very DARK read and comes with a warning*!

 

*Caution: This book is intended for mature audiences only. Some scenes contain graphic depiction of violence. Please read the warning included before the prologue.

 

About the Book

 

I am a Master.

You must know this fact to understand my story.

I capture women.

I break them down.

And I rebuild them.

If they are lucky, they are sold into the professional hands of another Master. If they are less fortunate, they are buried beneath the ground, never to be thought of again.

I lust for the control, I demand absolute submission and my body yearns to warp the minds of those I train.

Power is the only thing I’ll ever need and I am addicted to the feeling of ultimate control.

I am wealthy, good-looking, educated and charming.

And I am – in no way – a good man.

I do not want love.
I do not want kindness.

She thought she could change me by giving me the two things I knew I never wanted.

She was wrong.

Weakness.RachelBrownell

AddtoGoodreads

Barnes and Noble ~ Smashwords (Mobi/Kindle format)

 

My Review

 

My Rating: 4.5 Stars

 

impossible

” ‘I don’t appreciate tears when I fuck, so if I suspect you are crying- I’ll give you a reason to cry harder.’ “

*YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED*. There is nothing nice about this book. It is not happy, there is no romance, there is no actual love. There is only violence, rape, human slavery, and all kinds of psychological and physical torment. There are scenes that will seem sexy to the reader, but only because you have been successfully trained and mind-fucked by Lily White and her beautiful Master Aiden. Enjoy! 🙂

This book walks a line between erotica and horror, crossing in to each at some point, and in my opinion, sometimes blurring the line between the two. I suppose it is debatable whether it should or could be considered erotica, but despite the terrifying circumstances, the horrific violence, and mental anguish, there is sexual connection between Aiden and Rebecca. The reader has the benefit of POVs of both main characters: allowing complete access to Aiden’s motives as a Master and witnessing Rebecca’s pain and despair as she becomes a slave. We discover that both Aiden and Rebecca possess a darkness that allows them to be what the other needs. Whether they truly understand what they are to each other or it is all a game remains a mystery, but their story is riveting, surprising, terrifying, and a thrill to read.

Her Master’s Courtesan kept me glued to the pages, even when I was desperate to look away or drown my kindle in an ice filled bath. It’s a roller-coaster of thrilling plot twists and unexpected emotions. Even at the conclusion when I suppose I should have been angry or disgusted or at least frightened, I was curiously happy, and finished the book with a smile on my face. Consider me trained. Well done, Master Aiden.

“I wish I could say I fought harder, that I forced him to kill me before I’d given up my soul, but that’s not the case. The pain was too much and I wanted it to end so badly, I would have given up my heart too if he’d demanded it.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

About the Author

 

Lily White is a dark writer who likes to dabble on the taboo side of eroticism.  Most of the time she can be found wandering around aimlessly while her mind is stuck in some twisted power play between two characters in her head. You may recognize her in public by the confused expression, random mumbling, and occasional giggle while thinking up a scene. Lily’s favorite things in life are reading, thinking about reading, buying books for reading….and writing. Her other secret pleasure is meeting with her plot editor in public to discuss her books and watching the shocked expressions of the people around her that don’t realize she’s talking about a book.  When Lily is not reading, writing, wandering or freaking out innocent bystanders, she’s sleeping.

 

Contact Lily White:

 Twitter: @eroticlilywhite

 

 

 


Book Review: A BEAUTIFUL MESS by T.K. Leigh (@TK_Leigh)

February 24, 2014 Adult, Book Review, Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense 0

About the Book

 

18194292

 

Title: A Beautiful Mess (Beautiful Mess #1)

Author: T.K. Leigh

Release Date: August 28, 2013

 

My Rating: 4 Stars

 

What happens when you lose everyone that promised they would always be there for you? How can you protect the few pieces of your shattered heart that remain?

Olivia Adler is a woman with a troubled past. After losing her parents at the young age of six and being raised by an uncle who she lost years later, she refuses to get attached to anyone, including friends. For the past decade, she has been able to remain unattached to any man, too worried about losing someone to get too close. Until Alexander Burnham walks into her life one night and changes everything. But he has issues of his own. And he’s keeping a secret that could turn Olivia’s world upside-down. Will Olivia let Alexander in enough for him to get close and protect her from a force threatening her very existence, or will she push him away, scared of letting Alexander in, in order to protect her heart?

A Beautiful Mess is the first installment of a three part series sure to captivate the heart with a story of secrets, courage, and love.

Recommended for ages 18 and up due to sexual situations, language, and mild violence.

AddtoGoodreads

Amazon FinalB&N FINALkobo-icon FINAL

 

My Review

“Alexander didn’t care if she was the girl from all those years ago; the one who stole his heart when he was a little boy and he never really got it all back. Because the girl sitting in front of him now was filling the pieces of his torn heart. And she was worth getting to know.”

As a whole, this book intrigued me. It has a hot leading man, an (understandably) unbalanced female lead, sexual tension, relationship drama, and hot sex. I enjoyed all of those aspects of the story but that added element of suspense is what truly kept me flipping the pages. There’s a mystery behind Olivia and Alexander’s seemingly intertwined pasts, and the author slowly fills in some of the blanks, giving hints and facts, keeping the reader interested, all while  enjoying the intense chemistry and drama of a budding romance.

Any romance that involves Alexander Burnham is bound to be exciting. Gorgeous, rich, and down-to-earth ex Navy SEAL with a penchant for music, sexual domination, and a beautiful young woman with potential ties to his past.

” ‘People only have to call me Mr. Burnham in the bedroom,’ he whispered in her ear. She gasped, her eyes growing wide. He smiled, rubbing his thumb over her bottom lip. ‘Call me Alexander… For now.’ ” 

BUT, he also keeps secrets, secrets that could destroy Olivia, and the stress of having to watch him keep something so important nearly drove me to drink.

I will admit, some of Olivia’s craziness made me want to shake her. I get it, she’s damaged and it’s not her fault. I understand, even empathize with her, but it’s incredibly frustrating to watch her struggle with her emotions. The thing is, despite her issues, I like her character very much and want to see her happy. This book left me wondering if I ever will.

“And that was the one thing that scared Olivia the most. Love. It chilled her to the core. Because once you loved, then you could lose, and she didn’t know if she could deal with that pain.”

When it comes down to it, these characters frustrated me because I connected with them. The author made me care for them and the outcome of their story, both their romance and the bigger picture of their pasts and potential futures. This is one of those books that as the pages wound down and I realized there was way more story than book left, I nearly panicked until I remembered that book #2 is already out… Thank the book gods!

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

About the Author

headshot-bw-small

 

T. K. Leigh, otherwise known as Tracy Leigh Kellam, is a producer / attorney by trade. Originally from New England, she now resides in sunny Southern California with her husband, dog and three cats, all of which she has rescued (including the husband). She always had a knack for writing, but mostly in the legal field. It wasn’t until recently that she decided to try her hand at creative writing and is now addicted to creating different characters and new and unique story lines in the Contemporary Romantic Suspense genre.

When she’s not planted in front of her computer, writing away, she can be found running and training for her next marathon (of which she has run over fifteen fulls and far too many halfs to recall). Unlike Olivia, the main character in her Beautiful Mess series, she has yet to qualify for the Boston Marathon.

FB button FINALtwitter button FinalWebsite buttonGoodreadsFINAL

 

More from T.K. Leigh

ATW-ebook-cover-Final-Vignette-flatten-WEBSITE