Posts Categorized: New Release

Book Review and Excerpt: WOUNDED WINGS (The Cupid Chronicles #3) by Shauna Allen (ShaunaAllen101)

December 18, 2013 Book Review, Book Tour, New Release, Paranormal Romance 0

Wounded Wings Banner 450 X 169

Welcome to the Wounded Wings (Cupid Chronicles #3) by Shauna Allen Book Tour! I <3 this series and I’m super excited to share this newest release! All of the books can be read as stand-alones, and I recommend all three!

 

CLICK HERE for my review of book #1: Inked by an Angel

CLICK HERE for my review of book #2: The Halo Effect

 

About the Book

 

woundedwings

 

Wounded Wings

Cupid Chronicles

Book III

Shauna Allen

 

Genre: Light Paranormal

Publisher:  Soul Mate Publishing

Date of Publication: December 18, 2013

Number of pages:  269

Cover Artist: Rae Monet

 

Book Description:

 

Wounded.

Judged harshest by his own heart after the greatest of sins, Elijah Smith imposes the most brutal of punishments upon himself. He is now a fallen angel, cast down by his own hand—lost, suffering, caught between two worlds, and searching for redemption.

Scars.

Scarred emotionally and physically, Naomi Evans has always put her happiness aside to repay her debt to the one who saved her. Never quite fitting into her friendly little town after being abandoned as a child, she’s not sure love will ever find her aching heart.

Redemption.

New Destiny, Arizona will never be the same. Two strangers have rolled into town, shaking Heaven and Earth. One, a handsome loner is temporarily stranded and biding his time, quietly bestowing random acts of kindness on total strangers until he can be on his way. The second, an undercover Cupid named Michael, is determined to bring healing and true love.

His assignment? A fallen brother and his equally wounded soulmate.

Will Naomi be able to see past both their scars? Can Elijah ever forgive himself?

Is such redemption possible?

Book Trailer for Inked by an Angel, the first book in the series:  http://youtu.be/EDdKGsa_kjA

 

Purchase: Amazon

 

My Review:

 

My Rating: 4.5 Stars

 

“He was a temporary treasure. Perfection for her to hold today. And she fully intended to do just that. She’d be stronger tomorrow, after another taste of him.”

Confession time: This isn’t my favorite book in the series so far… BUT, I have a feeling that I’m in the minority, and that Eli will become many readers’ favorite.

Jed is my favorite Cupid Chronicles guy, but Elijah is something different: angelic, beautiful, and damaged. His is a story of a fallen angel seeking redemption at all costs, even the cost of his human heart. Oh, and he’s supermodel hot 😉

Eli and Naomi’s story is emotional, spiritual, and laced with a very subtle sexual chemistry. Allen has a knack for creating lovable characters, both angel and human, and making the reader believe (or at least hope) that there really are angels masquerading as big, tattoo artist/bikers that are sent to earth to help us humans find our destiny and true love. The connection between our main characters is intense but complicated. Eli and Naomi both have scars, walls and baggage; forging any kind of relationship will require both of them to take a huge leap towards trust and hope.

The small town of New Destiny, Arizona offers the reader a quirky backdrop and cast of characters, and the setting for a story filled with emotion, heartache, humor, hope, healing, and a touch of sexiness. The writing is genuine, clever, and smooth, and the story original, heartfelt and entertaining. This is a fantastic addition to a great series.

“He remained motionless, vulnerable. A broken thing unworthy of her perfect love, but asking all the same.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Excerpt

 

The tune changed. It slowed and couples began to filter onto the dance floor. The melody was pleasing, and Elijah began to enjoy it. But then the haunting lyrics began to filter into his consciousness . . . something about a broken road.

Okay, time to go.

He spun to the left and right into a beautiful, blond vision.

Naomi’s green eyes stared up into his and a slow, sweet smile spread her lips. “Would you like to dance?”

His heart began to pound. He said the first thing that came to mind. “I don’t know how.”

Her eyebrows furrowed adorably. “You don’t know how to dance?”

His gaze darted to the door. To escape. “Uh . . . no. Not really.”

“Oh.”

He couldn’t miss the hurt that clouded her eyes. “But thank you for asking. I’d love to if—”

That must’ve been all she needed to hear. Another smile lit up her face and she grabbed his hand and tugged him toward the dance floor. He thought about pulling back, but Claudia was closing in on them, a predatory gleam in her eye.

Naomi led him to the periphery of the floor and slid her body in front of his intimately, snaking both of her arms around his neck. Not sure what to do, he glanced around and tried to mimic the other men by placing his hands on her waist.

She snuggled into him further, shooting a furtive glance in the direction they’d just come from. “We have an audience,” she whispered.

He glanced over. Claudia was watching from the corner he’d just vacated, her dark eyes shooting daggers at Naomi. His stomach pitched.

Naomi just laughed, a sweet, lilting giggle. He peered down into her sparkling green eyes. “You know,” she said, “this isn’t an eighth grade dance. And if you don’t have any interest in Miss Choir Director over there, you might just wanna give her a little show so she’ll leave you alone.”

His brows dipped. “What do you mean?”

She tilted her head. “Wait. Are you interested in Claudia?”

“God, no!”

“Okay, well, obviously our little kiss at the ice cream parlor didn’t do the trick, and she still has her sights set on you, big boy.” She raised a brow at him mischievously. “So, here’s what we do . . .”

He leaned in, unable to help himself.

She took advantage and pressed her lips to his, stealing a kiss. The exchange was quick, sweet, nothing like the mind-blowing ones they’d shared, yet he still found himself reeling when he opened his eyes to find her lovely, innocent, perfect smile. She was intoxicating.

And dangerous.

“That was a good start,” she said breathlessly.

She kept her focus intently on his eyes, never letting him free for a moment. He couldn’t have looked away if he’d wanted to as she snuggled in even closer than before, wrapping her arms even tighter around his neck. Her breasts brushed his chest, their hearts now beating side by side.

“Now,” she whispered, “tuck your hands in my back pockets.”

His mind couldn’t comprehend through the haze, but his body complied automatically. He slid his fingertips around her waist as it moved slowly to the continued melody, her hips rhythmically swaying under his hands, until his fingertips found the pockets of her jeans and rested on the swell of her bottom.

Her fingers played with the hair at the nape of his neck.

Her eyes sparked in the dim lighting.

The band played on, her hips showing him how to move as he cupped her intimately.

She was everything carnal, every temptation, every perfect thing that Father created for man and woman to enjoy together. Now he understood the beauty of that creation.

 

About the Author

 

Shauna grew up an only child with two open and loving parents in Central Texas.  She’s married to her high school sweetheart and is the mother to three fantastic (no, that’s not a typo!) teenagers—one she’s about to send off to the Air Force.

When she’s not writing, editing, or acting as a personal assistant to two NYT Bestselling authors, Shauna enjoys reading, movies with Gerard Butler, vacays to the beach, and hangin’ with the kiddos–even if they don’t like hangin’ with her!

 

Connect with Shauna:

Website and blog: www.shaunaallen.com

Angel Kisses Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/D_RcP

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/shauna.allen.12

Twitter : http://tiny.cc/s0dlmw

Goodreads : http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6916632.Shauna_Allen

Pinterest : http://pinterest.com/shaunaallen7/

 

 


5 Star Book Review and #Giveaways: OUT OF TURN (Kathleen Turner #4) by Tiffany Snow (@TiffanyASnow)

December 17, 2013 Adult, Book Review, Book Tour, Favorite Books, New Release, Past Giveaways, Romantic Suspense 2

OutofTurn button LRG

Hey guys! I’m super excited to share my review of the newest book in the Kathleen Turner Series, OUT OF TURN by Tiffany Snow! I <3 this series so much. Oh, and there’s a giveaway for a $100 Gift Card!! Also, comment on this post for the chance to win an ecopy (kindle) of the book from this blog…

 

About the Book

 

Breaking up is hard to do, as Kathleen Turner discovers. After a falling-out with her ex, high-powered attorney Blane Kirk, she’s moving on the best she can. Unfortunately, someone from her past is set on revenge and nothing short of killing Kathleen will stop them.

Keeping his brother’s ex-girlfriend alive isn’t something new to assassin-for-hire Kade Dennon, but this time can he protect her from himself? She’s a woman he can’t convince himself to walk away from, no matter what it costs him.

Regret is a constant companion for Blane as he realizes the truth behind the lies he’s been told. Can love heal the past, or can some mistakes not be undone?

Murder reunites Blane, Kade, and Kathleen as the police put Blane in their crosshairs. Blane may lose everything unless he and Kade can find the real murderer before it’s too late. But if they can’t set aside their love for the same woman and work together, it will tear them apart.

In Out of Turn, Kathleen is caught between two warring brothers, and the consequences may be fatal.

 

OutOfTurn_Final_small

AddtoGoodreads

Amazon

 

My Review

 

My Rating: 5 Stars

“I’d withstood my father’s death, my mother’s illness and subsequent death, the break-up with my fiancé, being kidnapped- twice- and nearly dying too many times. Surely I could handle this.”

TEAM KADE!! Okay, that had nothing to do with my review, I just had to get it off my chest. Kade and Blane are both bad boys in their own right, but Kade is the baddest of the bad, unapologetically dark, deadly, and HOT! I understand that Blane has his appeal, but for me it’s no competition.

The fourth book in the Kathleen Turner series is packed full of the action, suspense, burning sexual chemistry, and palpable emotion that I’ve come to expect from these books. The story continues seamlessly from book three, and I was immediately drawn back in to the lives and Kathleen, Blane, and Kade.

Kathleen is just as I expected her to be: tough, beautiful, no-nonsense, but with enough vulnerability and relatable emotion; I love her more and more each time I read her stories. She just feels real, like I could be her friend and hang-out, drink a few glasses of wine, and hopefully not get kidnapped or involved in a high-profile murder investigation. (Though I might risk a kidnapping if I thought Kade might be involved in the rescue.) Her relationship with brothers Kade and Blane has become incredibly complicated; navigating these highly emotional waters without someone getting hurt is pretty much impossible, and drama is high.

This book has everything I love: steamy sex, dramatic emotion, mystery, intrigue, humor,  and tons of action. All of the elements are perfectly timed and I read the book cover to cover, gripping my kindle, breathless from either sex or action/suspense, sometimes crying, and even laughing. I can’t wait for more from these characters and this series!!!

“How did I deal with the fact that I loved two men? Two brothers? It was a disaster that left me reeling, my heart breaking inside. Two men who were far better to me than I deserved, and I loved them both.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Enter the Giveaway Below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

*Don’t forget to comment on this post for a chance to win a kindle copy of the book!

 

Check out the other books in the series…

 

NO TURING BACK

Kathleen Turner, #1

 

NoTurnBack_Final_Small

Being a bartender by night and law firm runner by day helps make ends meet for Kathleen Turner. Mostly. Being 23 and single in Indianapolis wasn’t exactly a thrilling adventure, but then again, that’s not what Kathleen wanted. At least, not until she met Blane Kirk.

Navy SEAL turned high-profile attorney, Blane is everything a woman could want. The only problem? He’s her boss.  Blane is known for playing the field and the last thing Kathleen needs or wants is to get involved with him. But when her friend is murdered and it seems Kathleen will be next, she may not have a choice.

Now Blane is the only thing standing between her and people who want her dead, including assassin-for-hire Kade Dennon. Beautiful but deadly, he’ll kill anyone who gets in his way, even the woman who makes him question everything he’s become.

The deeper she sinks into the web of lies and murder, the more Kathleen realizes she can trust no one if she’s going to survive. No one is innocent. Not even Blane.

Available on Kindle:  http://tinyurl.com/kturner-ntb

 

TURN ON A DIME – Blane’s Turn 

Kathleen Turner #1.5

 

Turn onA Dime cover

Blane Kirk is a Navy SEAL turned high-powered attorney with old money and an even older pedigree. Yes, he plays the field, changing women as often as he changes his ties, but they’re not complaining. He has only two rules – 1) Don’t date employees and 2) Don’t get emotionally involved. Those rules have served him well. He sees no reason to change his ways, until his Runner, an employee in his law firm named Kathleen Turner, does an unexpected face plant in his lap.

Kathleen’s too young, too innocent, and suddenly much too vulnerable when her friend is murdered and Blane knows she could be next. Keeping her alive means keeping her close, but can Blane keep her safe…from him? Kathleen’s like no woman he’s ever met, and protecting her could be the one thing he never expected that would make his life turn on a dime.

TURN ON A DIME – BLANE’S TURN is a companion novel to NO TURNING BACK, Book One in The Kathleen Turner Series.

Available on Kindle:  http://tinyurl.com/kturner-blane

 

TURN TO ME

Kathleen Turner, #2

 

TurnToMe_Final_small

What Kathleen Turner doesn’t know just may kill her.

Her boyfriend, Navy SEAL turned high-powered attorney Blane Kirk, is keeping secrets from her – the deadly kind – and it may end their relationship before it’s even begun.

Someone in the shadows is stalking and terrorizing Kathleen, and Blane must lose a trial with far-reaching ramifications if he wants to keep her alive. Blane turns to assassin-for-hire Kade Dennon to keep Kathleen safe, a strategy that may backfire in more ways than one. Though Kade swears he hates her, he’s helpless to guard against things he’s never felt before and when they’re together, Kathleen sees something forbidden in his eyes.

Kathleen must find the truth behind the lies before her time, and luck, runs out, or she may pay the ultimate price for falling in love with Blane Kirk.

Available on Kindle:  http://tinyurl.com/kturner-ttm

 

TURNING POINT

Kathleen Turner, #3

CLICK HERE to read my review!

 

TurningPoint_Final_Small

After her promotion from law firm Runner to Investigator, Kathleen Turner is learning the ropes of her new job from none other than assassin-for-hire Kade Dennon, a situation her boyfriend Blane Kirk is none too happy about. But the lessons with Kathleen take a back seat when Kade becomes a target. Previously untouchable, his enemies now know of the chink in his armor – his brother’s girlfriend.

And Kade’s not the only thing coming between Kathleen and Blane. From Blane’s inexplicable defense of a man guilty of a horrible crime, to a mysterious stranger from Kathleen’s past, to Kathleen’s risky investigation into human traffickers, the obstacles mount against a relationship that’s just begun to find trust again.

While Blane considers a job offer that would take him back to the front lines in the war on terror, Kathleen is determined to pursue her new career, with or without his approval. Unfortunately, her current case is far more dangerous than anyone knows. Someone close to Blane will go to extreme lengths to split them up, lengths that may prove worse than death for Kathleen.

Kathleen, Blane and Kade must atone for the sins of the past and the present. The fallout will force Kathleen to a turning point…in her career, and her life.

Available on Kindle:  http://tinyurl.com/kturner-tp

 

About the Author

 

TiffanySnow

My debut novel, NO TURNING BACK, is the first book in The Kathleen Turner Series. I write about things I love to read myself – a heroine who could be a neighbor or best friend; two men who each portray their own version of darkness and light, each vying for her affection; and a story that focuses as much on the characters as it does the suspense. NO TURNING BACK, TURN TO ME, TURNING POINT and OUT OF TURN currently comprise The Kathleen Turner Series. The fifth and final book, POINT OF NO RETURN, will be released in May, 2014. A companion novel, TURN ON A DIME – BLANE’S TURN, is also available.

As for me, I’ve been reading romance novels since I was way too young to read such things, have an unhealthy obsession for all things Doctor Who, prefer Pepsi to Coke and Absolut to both, think men who drink girly cocktails are wusses, have learned to never stop believing in my beloved St. Louis Cardinals, and can recite the entire scripts of When Harry Met Sally and Apollo 13. George Washington is cool, Bon Jovi still rocks the house, and Bruce Willis is the ultimate alpha-male hero. Most of all, romance never, ever gets old.

Visit my website http://www.Tiffany-Snow.com for more information and special extras.

Social Media Links:

 

 

 

 


Book Review, Excerpt and #Giveaway: DARK WATERS by Toni Anderson

August 7, 2013 Book Review, Book Tour, Contemporary Romance, New Release, Past Giveaways, Romantic Suspense 11

Dark-Waters

 

Welcome to the Dark Waters by Toni Anderson Book Tour! Read my review and an excerpt from this brand new release and enter to win a $25 Amazon Gift Card! Also, *comment on this post* for the chance to win an ebook from the author’s backlist!

 

About the Book

 

Danger once again laps at the shores of Barkley Sound, the Graveyard of the Pacific…

Since her rocky childhood and its abrupt, brutal ending, schoolteacher Anna Silver hasn’t given her trust easily. But when her estranged father gets in over his head—again—and winds up dead, his last message to Anna is as clear as it is insistent: she’s in danger and Brent Carver, the man with whom he shared a prison cell for five years, is the only person she should turn to for help. With nowhere else to go and with her father’s killer on her trail, Anna flees to what she hopes is safety.

​Tucked into the west coast of Vancouver Island, Brent Carver’s isolated home hasn’t seen many visitors. And his friend’s daughter is the last person he ever expected to grace his doorstep. She’s in trouble, and he can’t deny her protection…just as he can’t deny his attraction to the independent beauty. As their passion sparks into flame, the perfect storm brews off the coast of his island home, bringing with it a sadistic killer hunting Anna and the secrets she’s come close to uncovering.

 

17236447

AddtoGoodreads

amazon amazon_uk

 

My Review

 

My Rating: 4.5 Stars

“He watched Anna watching his ocean. Watched her as she slowly absorbed the rhythm of the waves against the shore. All the anger and resentment fell away from him. Peace fell over her features and he knew, with gut-wrenching certainty, that he’d do anything to keep it there.”

A fantastic read for fans of romantic suspense and books with broken heroes and heroines, Dark Waters strikes the perfect balance between romance and page-turning mystery.

So I’m a little (okay a lot) in love with Brent. I can’t help it. Not only is he movie star sexy, broken and dark, but his loyalty to Davis and his protective streak are what really drew me in. He didn’t ask for Anna to show up at his door, but when she does, he agrees to help her. Even when her own difficult side shows, his loyalty to her father, as well as his growing attraction for Anna keep him set on his task to save her at all costs, and to clear her father’s name in the process. Anna has her own difficult past, and like Brent, trusts no one. I enjoyed watching their relationship, begun only of necessity, grow from an undeniable spark of chemistry, to something much more, something that could save them both.

The plot of the book is twisty and turny, with plenty of page-turning action. The reader is offered glimpses in to the mind of Rand, a man that will stop at nothing to find Anna and kill her, as she has unwittingly become a threat to his future. Having the perspective of Anna’s pursuer adds another interesting layer of intrigue to the story.

An engaging and past-paced storyline, smooth writing style, well-crafted and intriguing characters, and a romance that offers both sizzle and healing make this a truly enjoyable read.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Excerpt

 

Brent Carver lay in bed listening to the surf outside his open window. The rhythmic pounding pulse helped calm the ragged unset­tled feeling that clawed inside him. Sometimes it even let him sleep. Not tonight.

He shifted restlessly, sweat damp on his skin. The west coast was getting a blistering-hot summer that had him thanking God he wasn’t stuck in that shithole prison, sweating it out with a few hundred of his least best friends. He sat up in bed and swiped irritably at his too long hair.

Gina had liked it long.

Damn.

He’d spent the past year trying not to think about Gina, or her murder, and yet memories snuck past his guard all the time. Her smile, her giving nature, her unwavering dedication to his undeserving ass. When he’d broken things off with her, he’d hoped she’d finally move on. Find herself a man she could marry and have babies she could spoil. But things hadn’t worked out that way, and no one regretted it more than he did.

He whipped back the covers and padded naked to the open window that faced the Pacific. It took a moment for his heartbeat to stop hammering. A moment for the burn in his chest to ease. At nearly forty years old, he’d spent half his life in prison and would never get enough of breathing in the fresh clean air of freedom.

The dark water before him stretched like a smooth satin sheet all the way to the horizon. But the calm tranquility was an illusion that disguised deceptive currents and gigantic swells, cold depths and wicked storm surges.

That ocean called to him—it always had. This sliver of coast was what he’d missed locked up in his cell for so many years. Not peace. Not serenity. Not pissing in a private bathroom. Huge rollers crashing home. Elements clashing like titans in his backyard. The abandon. The wildness. The energy. Prison had squeezed the need for that energy into a tiny corner of his mind and tortured him with it in his dreams. When he’d gotten out, he’d spent two days just staring at the ocean. This was where he belonged. This was where he needed to be. And no one was ever going to take it from him again. Being caged, being imprisoned, had almost wiped him out of existence, and the worst thing was—it was his own damn fault. He’d taken a life and gotten what he deserved.

He’d been out four years now, but the smells, the memories, the sense of watching his back, was ingrained, tattooed on his brain like most cons wore ink. He’d found his salvation in a tal­ent for painting, enough of a talent that he could afford a kick-ass mansion anywhere in the world. But he’d returned here, to the small remote strip of land on the western edge of Vancouver Island. The scene of the crime and the only home he’d ever known.

Maybe he should buy a yacht, learn to sail. But that sort of aimless wandering didn’t appeal and his parole officer probably wouldn’t approve either. He rubbed his aching neck muscles and headed downstairs for a drink. He’d finish that last piece for the exhibition.

Exhibition.

He shook his head in disbelief. Some fancy-schmancy museum in New York was giving him an exhibition. He opened the fridge and pulled out a beer and popped the top. His agent had worked some serious magic, wrangling that mother. Only trouble was the gallery wanted the elusive and mysterious B.C. Wilkinson to turn up in person to the opening. His agent had even taken care of a passport and special visa requirements.

Yeah, right. He snorted. No fucking way. Still, Brent had learned years ago that it was easier to do what he wanted and beg forgiveness later. Not that he dealt much in forgiveness. Gina’s image smiled sweetly inside his head, but she was dead—stabbed to death by a homicidal maniac last year—and thinking about her wouldn’t bring her back.

His fist tightened around the neck of the bottle and he resisted the urge to hurl it at the wall. Prison had taught him iron control—he just hadn’t realized how much he’d need it on the outside. He headed onto his back porch, buck naked and glad of the fresh ocean breeze that cooled his overheated body. His nearest neighbor lived a quarter of a mile away, out of sight, over the bluff. This region was too remote for passersby and anyone with a boat would moor it in a sheltered cove, not at the mercy of Barkley Sound’s treacherous grasp. The moon was cloaked behind restless clouds that billowed like smoke across the sky. He was just about to sit his ass down when he saw a shadow flitter near the woods.

He had visitors?

No fucking way.

In prison he’d received enough death threats to take serious precautions with his safety. When some of the local thugs had been arrested last year, he’d let down his guard and thought the danger was over. He’d obviously thought wrong. What if it was his brother, Finn? Or the cops? He pressed his lips together. Finn knew better than to spook him and the cops had no reason to be sniffing around.

Something was going on.

No one made social calls on Brent Carver—no one without a death wish. He lived on a peninsula that, due to the rugged terrain, was only accessible by boat. There were about thirty locals living on this side of the inlet, but they were more likely to hand-feed rabid wolves than drop in for a beer.

Did his visitor know he was out here?

Leaving the bottle on the deck, he carefully slipped over the side of the porch and melted into the night. It was pitch-black in the woods, but he’d grown up here and knew every tree and hol­low. He made his way along the side of the shed and ducked into the forest. Over the last year, he’d gradually stopped listening to the scanner for signs of trouble, stopped keeping firearms in the house. He’d gotten soft, but not stupid. Silently he dropped to his knees beside a massive Sitka spruce that was technically on his neighbor’s property. If she found out about his little cache, she’d be pissed. He swept dirt and dead needles off the top of a waterproof box he’d sunk into the ground, and removed his SIG Sauer. He replaced the lid and covered it as best he could in the dark. He got his bearings, and found the tree where he’d hidden his ammo. He grabbed a magazine and headed up to the road, circling around. He inched down an old trail and came up behind where the shadow had been.

Darkness cloaked the clearing where his house sat but his night vision was sharp. And damned if the woman—put a man in prison long enough and he could spot a female blindfolded at twenty paces—wasn’t climbing his porch steps shining her flashlight around the place like a laser show. Maybe she was a thief? Maybe someone had figured out Brent Carver was B.C. Wilkinson and sitting on a shedload of very expensive artwork? Then she knocked on his back door.

What the…?

He rubbed his hand over his brow. He was stark naked except for his gun, and now some woman was standing on his deck? He hoped to hell she wasn’t a Jehovah’s Witness because she was about to have acome-to-Jesus moment.

But she could still be armed and dangerous. He’d pissed off enough bad guys in the joint to be wary of anyone turning up in the middle of the night. Hell, no one visited here, period.

“Hello?” She pressed her ear to his door. “Mr. Carver?” she said louder. Her shoulders sagged when no one answered.

He didn’t recognize her voice. He moved fast and silent across the clearing, padded up the stairs just as she reached for the doorknob.

“You’re trespassing.”

She jolted, her hand going to her heart as she spun to face him. “Oh, my God. You scared me.”

Never admit fear.

“I don’t like visitors, lady.”

Her flashlight dipped and then shot back to his face, almost blinding him. She swallowed, taking in his lack of clothes and keeping her eyes north of the hot spots. “You’re naked.”

“I was in bed.” He didn’t know why he needed to explain himself.

Her voice came out like gravel. “I’m looking for Brent Carver.”

“I’m looking for peace and quiet. Looks like we’re both screwed.”

“You’re Brent?” Her free hand slipped into her bag and he grabbed her wrist and pinned her against his door before she could get the drop on him. She went ballistic and tried to whack him with the flashlight. He jerked it out of her fingers and threw it behind them. She felt tiny and delicate, crushed between him and that solid piece of oak, although her lungs were in full working order.

Shit, his ears hurt.

“No one will hear you, so you might as well stow it.” She jammed one hand against his chin, squirming like an eel, then went for gold by trying to knee him in the nuts. He deflected the attack and pressed her tighter against the door, wedging her there with his body. She barely came up to his chin but fought like a wild thing. “Want to tell me who you are and why you’re knock­ing on my door in the middle of the night?” He concentrated on making sure he didn’t injure her while he tried to check out what she was going for in her purse.

She scratched sharp fingernails down his arm, drew in a breath to scream even louder. Her breasts pushed against his chest, which would have worked for him in a big way if she wasn’t so goddamn terrified. Sonofa-fucking-bitch.

Why me?

He had nowhere to stick his gun so he removed the pocketbook from her fingers and stepped back, keeping a wary eye on her bloodthirsty knee. She stood there stunned, trembling, and breathing heavily. He didn’t think it had anything to do with his dazzling good looks.

“You bastard.” Her chin snapped up. “You aren’t Brent Carver.”

He cocked a brow. “What makes you say that?” He searched her bag, more by touch than sight in the darkness. A cell phone, wallet, keys, tampons, tissues. No gun or shank.

“He’s a respectable painter. He’s not some nutcase who runs about in the middle of the night, waving around a gun, among other things,” she muttered darkly. “Attacking innocent, defenseless women.”

The scratches on his arm stung enough for him to snort out a laugh at that. Her eyes narrowed. He watched moonlight flow over her features, fine boned and delicate, except for the tight clench of her jaw.

There was no obvious threat in her pocketbook, but it didn’t mean he should let his guard down. He needed clothes. For some crazy reason, he was getting a little turned on by Miss Prim and Proper telling him who and what he was. It was probably being naked and within a hundred yards of anything two legged and female, but he didn’t want to scare her any more than he had already. He wasn’t a hound. Nor was he under any illusion about what she thought might happen when he grabbed her. Someone had jumped him in the shower once and lost their eye for the trouble. Hell, most people thought he was evil incarnate and that was the way he liked it. He reached past her and opened the door. “Inside. Now.”

“I’m not going anywhere with you.” She tried to dodge aside.

He grabbed her by the shoulders and forced her across his threshold. “You want to meet Brent? I’ll take you to him.” Her eyes were so huge with fear she looked like she’d been electrocuted. But she’d come to him, she had to play by his rules.

 

Enter the Giveaway Below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Don’t forget to comment on this post for the chance to win an ebook of one of the author’s backlist!

 

Please visit the other stops on the tour!

8/6/2013
Reading Between the Wines
Cocktails and Books
Hesperia Loves Books

8/7/2013
We Love Kink
Tattooed Book Review
Love N. Books

8/8/2013
Busy Moms Book Reviews
Twinsie Talk Book Reviews
Queen of All She Reads

8/9/2013
Fae Books
Musings From An Addicted Reader
StoreyBook Reviews
First Class Books

8/12/2013
Read Your Writes Book Reviews
Smardy Pants Book Blog
Blackraven’s Reviews

8/13/2013
Erzabet’s Enchantnents
Delighted Reader
HEA Romances With A Little Kick

8/14/2013
The KariAnnAlysis
Mrs Condit & Friends Read Books
The Readers Roundtable Smokin’ Gun

8/15/2013
SnifferWalk Books
Shh Moms Reading
Reads and Thoughts
Guilty Pleasures

8/16/2013
Bookworm Brandee
My Book Muse
Simply Ali
Reviewing in Chaos

8/19/2013
3 Partners in Shopping,Nana, Mommy, & Sissy, Too!
Heart Breaking Reviews
From the TBR Pile

8/20/2013
Manic Readers Guest Author Blog
My Fiction Nook
Books Books and More Books

8/21/2013
Romancing the Book
Harlie’s Books
My Life Beyond Labels

 

 


5 Star Book Review: SEDUCTIVE SHADOWS by Marni Mann

July 19, 2013 Book Review, Erotic Romance, Favorite Books, New Adult, New Release 2

17972109

 

Title: Seductive Shadows

Author: Marni Mann

Publisher: Booktrope

Publication Date: July 17, 2013

 

My Rating: 5 HUGE STARS

 

 

About the Book

Charlie is a passionate, sensually inspired art student, desperately seeking an escape from an abusive past that haunts her and a tragic accident that emptied her heart. Scarred and unable to love, her yearning for physical pleasure and contact leads her into a tantalizing, dangerous world of power and seduction. The anonymity of the deal offers security, the money provides financial freedom, and the madam’s authority is the mother figure she longs for.

But the thrill of the mansion and its arousing dominance quickly fades when she meets the renowned yet mysterious Cameron Hardy, whose intense, baby blue eyes send a nervous flutter through her core. He’s sexy, and not in a subtle way. Cameron stimulates her art, intellect and desires. Just as he begins to break through her emotional boundaries, Charlie discovers a devastating connection between her past and her scandalous work at the mansion, shattering everything she thought to be true.

Provocative, intoxicating and erotic, Seductive Shadows is the unforgettable tale of a young woman’s discovery as she learns to forgive, to love and be loved, and to find redemption amidst a memorable journey that will captivate your mind and stimulate your soul.

This book is for mature audiences. It contains explicit language and sexual content.

 

My Review

“It’s always darkest before the dawn.”

 Dark, gritty, subversive, intensely sexual, achingly beautiful, and utterly heartbreaking, Seductive Shadows is simply a stunning book. By far one of my favorite reads this year, this story will take your mind and heart on an emotional journey not soon to be forgotten.

From the first pages, I was absolutely captivated. Not only by Charlie’s story, but by the prose: sensual, and smooth, but raw, written with a poetic voice and the critical detail of an artist’s eye. The writing has texture, as if I could feel the words on my skin. The author has the ability to draw the reader in, make you feel as if you’re in this place in time that she has created; and be warned it is not always the most comfortable place. I could feel, smell, and taste everything as if I was there. I read breathlessly, letting the story control my emotions, and I was taken to the depths of darkness, the heights of sexual fulfillment, and times of guarded hope.

Charlie is an amazing character, so broken, yet showing amazing strength.  Her art is the only place she has a voice; her way to communicate her true self.  She uses sex and her lucrative job as a high-priced prostitute to fill the emptiness that years of abuse and tragedy have created:

 “But…

My nights at the mansion were a release. The lack of emotion, the all- consuming fucking, the domination, was what kept me moving. Sex held me at night, stopped my mind from dwelling, remembering, regretting. It was the only time I didn’t feel alone.”

 It’s the men in Charlie’s life outside of the mansion that slowly create a change in her perception of herself, and help her see that she could be more. There’s Professor Freeman who encourages her artistic talents, Dallas, the lover turned compassionate best-friend, and then there’s Cameron, the sexy artist with scars of his own, who eventually offers her a real chance at healing and redemption, and possibly love:

 “I hadn’t become immune to his talent or beauty, I was childishly mesmerized by his sexiness, that strong but soft intensity that he possessed. His words almost had a hidden meaning and they awakened the darkness that lived within me. His darkness was equally enchanting, and the pain that I knew was there but hadn’t yet been revealed.”

 This is not a conventional erotic romance, or even simply a tale of a broken woman healing and learning to love. It makes you feel, deeply and completely, and not always what you would have expected. The story is complicated, thoughtful, and multi-layered. Nothing is black and white. Just when you find a comfortable place, and think you have things figured out, everything is turned inside out and upside down.  I gave this book five brilliant, shining stars; I would give it more if I could.

 “ ‘It’s always darkest before the dawn. And now that you’ve found yours…’ “

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

seductive shadows

 

AddtoGoodreads

amazon

 

About the Author

A New Englander at heart, Marni Mann, now a Floridian is inspired by the sandy beaches and hot pink sunsets of Sarasota. She taps a mainstream appeal and shakes worldwide taboos, taking her readers on a dark and breathtaking journey. When she’s not nose deep in her laptop, she’s scouring for chocolate, traveling, reading, or walking her four-legged children.Marni is preparing for the summer release of her fifth novel, Seductive Shadows, a provocative, intoxicating, erotic and unforgettable tale of a young woman’s discovery as she learns to forgive, to love and be loved, and to find redemption.

 

Connect with Marni

Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter

 

AToMRTours_large


*New Release* Book Review and Excerpt: INDIVISIBLE LINE by Lorenz Font

July 17, 2013 Book Review, Book Tour, New Release, Romantic Suspense 3

ILblogad

Welcome to the Indivisible Line Book Tour! Read my review and an excerpt from the book…

 

ILcoveredited

 

Title: Indivisible Line

Author: Lorenz Font

Publisher: Renaissance Romance Publishing

Publication Date: July 16, 2013

 

About the Book

Pre-med student Sarah Jones is back in Beaver, Alaska, for summer vacation.  A loyal member of the Gwich’in tribe, she accepts the rules set by her father, the leader of their small town. Raised in a strict household, she learned early on to do what is expected of her and has agreed to an arranged marriage. Despite her reluctance to marry without love, Sarah is unwilling to defy her father’s wishes. She hopes to help usher in an era of independence and stability for the town, but for now, her focus is finishing med school so she can become Beaver’s resident doctor.

Business owner Greg Andrews wants to escape his philandering wife and his life in general. Leaving New York City to join a hunting expedition in Alaska, Greg’s plans are turned upside down when he is shot on Gwich’in land and ends up on Sarah’s operating table. In the absence of a qualified doctor, Sarah must operate to save his life. She refuses to wait for the consent of their tribal leader, and her father banishes her from the tribal land in punishment.

Grateful for his life, Greg concocts a scheme to help. Plagued by the side effects of her unconventional operation, he convinces Sarah to become his live-in nurse. Without the means to support herself, Sarah agrees to the questionable arrangement, but she soon finds herself in even more trouble. Her new problem is that she is falling in love with this infuriating man, and the choices she now must make are must more difficult than the simple act of saving a man’s life.

Together, Sarah and Greg must both decide whether they can overcome the vast differences between them, or if the indivisible line that separates their worlds will ultimately pull them apart.

 

My Review

My Rating: 4 Stars

Can two people from completely different worlds, each with their own host of problems and baggage, find enough common ground to build a relationship?

It seems impossible, but Sarah and Greg attempt to just that. In the midst of action and life threatening intrigue, emotional turmoil, and life-altering events, a very unlikely romance begins to simmer. The romance has an improbable start: a murder attempt followed by a kidnapping, events which left me questioning where this story could actually go. However, I was rewarded with a journey that made me forget the story’s questionable beginnings, and focus on the genuine connection between the characters. The author is able to create a very real romance between two very flawed characters, but something about it just works. They struggle throughout the story to overcome their individual circumstances and find common ground; I wanted them to work, to find peace, redemption, and happiness. All odds are stacked against them, and unforseen tragic events threaten to derail them at every turn, but still they fight, for themselves and for each other.

I enjoyed this thoughtful, emotional journey with its multi-layered plot and characters, surprising twists and turns, action and angst, and ultimately, its beautifully bittersweet conclusion.

“This was how she imagined love to be; sharing with the man you love. The truth startled her, but now she knew deep inside that it had been the driving force behind everything she’d felt from the moment she’d first met Greg. This was all she’d ever wanted; something close to a fairytale.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Excerpt

She blinked and pulled her hand back. “I hate nightmares.”

Sarah scrambled to sit up while Greg rose from his kneeling position at the side of her bed.

“I heard your screams, so I came in to check on you.” He watched her with a worried expression. “What got you all scared?”

She tried to remember but came up empty. “How can dreams turn you upside-down, and then leave you wondering what got you all riled up in the first place?” Blinking, she tried to compose her thoughts. “I can’t remember.”

“Do you want a glass of water?” Greg asked without moving from his spot.

Sarah shook her head and shivered, still feeling the effects of the forgotten nightmare. “Lie down with me?”

Why did she always end up speaking without thinking first? This was so wrong on all levels, but she was giving in to her heart’s desire. If it was a mistake, then she’d learn her lesson pretty soon.

Greg hesitated. She couldn’t blame him. He must know how she felt about him, although, she’d fought hard to keep her emotions hidden. Greg was far too beautiful for his own good, and she had been mesmerized by him from the first moment she’d laid eyes on him.

She closed her eyes, waiting for him to turn her down. He didn’t say anything, but then she felt the mattress dip under his weight. “I’ll hold you until you fall asleep.”

Sarah nodded, and then turned her body in his direction. Greg eased himself onto the bed, and face to face, they stared at each other in the darkness. No words were necessary. They were just two people struggling with their lives and everything around them, and they needed each other.

 

AddtoGoodreads

amazon barnesandnoble

 

About the Author

Lorenz Font discovered her love of writing after reading a celebrated novel that inspired one idea after another. She is currently enjoying the buzz from her debut novel Hunted, the first installment of The Gates Legacy trilogy.

Writing is therapeutic for Lorenz, and a perfect day consists of writing and playing with her characters while listening to her ever-growing music collection. She enjoys dabbling in different genres, with an intense focus on angst and the redemption of flawed characters. Her fascination with romantic twists is a mainstay in all her stories.

Lorenz currently lives in California with her husband, children, and two demanding dogs. She divides her time between a full-time job as a Business Office Manager for a hospital and her busy writing schedule.

 6590637

Find her at

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Website ~ Blog

Independent Authors Network

Linkedin ~ Goodreads ~ About Me

Pinterest


Book Review and #Giveaway: FEELING DEATH by D.T. Dyllin

May 29, 2013 Adult, Book Review, Erotic Romance, Erotica, New Release, Paranormal Romance, Past Giveaways 2

Read my review and enter to win one of two Kindle copies of the book!

 

About the Book:

 

Title: Feeling Death
Author: D.T. Dyllin
Genre: Erotic Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Dragonfairy Press
Release Date: May 27, 2013

Samantha Bevans is having the best sex of her life—but it’s not with her husband. Fortunately for her marriage, the affair is all in her mind. Isn’t it? As an empath, she senses other people’s emotions. But her connection to the man with the the chiseled face and haunting eyes seems so real.

There’s no time for fantasies with a serial killer loose in Pittsburgh. The killer is targeting dancers at a strip club where Samantha used to bartend, back when drugs were the only cure for the torment of her abilities. As a member of a special task force, Samantha uses her talents to sense the victims’ final thoughts. Just when she thought the case was complex enough, she discovers one of the victims was thinking about her fantasy man when she died.

Who can Samantha trust when she can’t trust her own mind? An empath feels the emotional environment around her…and Samantha is surrounded by death.

AddtoGoodreads

amazon

 

My Review:

 

My Rating: 4 Stars

Who am I, where am I, and WTF happened? Dark, gritty, and sexually charged, Feeling Death is an engaging read with a very unique concept.

From the first sentence, I was intrigued… and confused… and based on the author’s style, pretty sure I was going to be entertained. I was not disappointed. The plot has so many twists, turns, flashbacks, flash-forwards, and cartwheels, I was reeling a bit, but hopelessly hooked on the story. The author takes her time in unfolding the story, and answering the reader’s (and the characters’) questions, managing to impart information at critical moments: keeping this complicated plot flowing smoothly.

I’m not in love with Sam’s character, but I don’t need to be. Even though she’s an empath, she’s real and relatable and I felt a connection to her story just the same. In some ways she’s just a girl… with some problems. She’s battling demons, real and imagined(?), has a powerful supernatural gift, makes mistakes, and shows both vulnerability and strength. She’s fortunate enough to have two very sexy love interests in Nixon and Austin. Nixon is the steadfast protector and Austin the irresistibly sexy but dangerous bad-boy. I won’t spoil who she chooses to spend most of her time with but their sex scenes certainly steam up the pages!

The supernatural elements to the story are very well done. There were times, especially early on, where I couldn’t decide whether I was reading paranormal suspense or a twisted psychological thriller: I love that I was constantly guessing. This is an imaginative and intense read, twisty and sexy, with an ending that grants some closure, but leaves the reader eager for a next book in the series.

“But I had no fight left in me. How can you fight for something when you don’t even know what you’re fighting for? I had so many unanswered question. My life, my memories were all unclear to me. Before I could fight for myself, or anyone else, I had to get the answers to who I really was. And at this point, I didn’t really care where they came from just as long as I got them.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Enter the Giveaway Below:

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About the Author:

 

Cynical-Optimist.
Chocolate-holic. Sarcasm Addict. Paranormal Believer. Romance Junkie.
Self Imposed Insomniac. Animal Lover. Writer.

 


NEW RELEASE Book Review: BEYOND SHAME (Beyond #1) by Kit Rocha

October 1, 2012 BDSM, Book Review, Erotica, New Release, Romance 0

 

 

Title: Beyond Shame (Beyond #1)

Author: Kit Rocha

Publication Date: October 2, 2012

Rating: 4.5 Stars

 

 

 

 

“All Noelle Cunningham has ever wanted is a life beyond–beyond the walls of Eden, where only the righteous are allowed to remain, and beyond her stiflingly restrictive existence as a councilman’s daughter. But only ruins lie outside the City, remnants of a society destroyed by solar storms decades earlier.

The sectors surrounding Eden house the corrupt, the criminal–men like Jasper McCray, bootlegger and cage fighter. Jas clawed his way up from nothing to stand at the right hand of Sector Four’s ruthless leader, and he’ll defend the O’Kane gang with his life. But no fight ever prepared him for the exiled City girl who falls at his feet.

Her innocence is undeniable, but so is their intense sexual attraction, and soon they’re crossing every boundary Noelle barely knew she had. But if she wants to belong to Jas, first she’ll have to open herself to the gang, to a dangerous world of sex, lust and violence. A world where passion is power, and freedom is found in submission.”

Beyond Shame is a gritty and intense dystopian erotic romance. Reading it is pure pleasure and just enough pain.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I’m really enjoying dystopian stories right now and Beyond Shame didn’t disappoint. I found myself wanting to keep turning the pages. The plot itself is engaging, the characters are interesting, and the sex is SUPER HOT. I am also impressed at the author’s ability to add just enough humor to provide balance to a story that is dark and edgy.

At the heart of the story is Noelle’s journey of self-discovery. Growing up in a wealthy family inside the City, she always knew that she was different, and that she would never be happy there. However, she was vastly unprepared for life in the sectors outside the City. Fortunately, Jasper finds her, rescues her, and ultimately falls for her. Jasper plays an integral role in helping Noelle find out who she is and what she really wants out of life, all the while hoping that it is him.

I enjoyed Noelle’s journey.The author is insightful and honest about the characters’ feelings, not just Noelle’s. She presents the reader with three-dimesional characters that are trying to reconcile complicated pasts with possibly more complicated futures. Jasper is easy to love. He is intense, brooding, and oh so sexy. I always fall for the damaged tough-guy with a heart.  Lex is another interesting character. She’s so strong and yet vulnerable in her own way. I thought her hard exterior provided a great contrast to Noelle’s softness.

Okay, let’s get to the sex. This book has some fantastic sex scenes. They are well written, very steamy, and there are a lot of them. I find that sometimes in stories that have numerous sex scenes that it can become a bit repetitive. NOT SO with Beyond Shame. There were definitely a few times I found myself a little breathless.

I gave this book 4.5 stars and highly recommend it.

*I received this book as an ARC from the publisher(via Netgalley) in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Goodreads

Purchase this book [amazon_link id=”B009BURC6K” target=”_blank” container=”” container_class=”” ]AMAZON[/amazon_link]

Barnes & Noble Beyond Shame (Beyond, Book One)

 


Book Review: THE ANGEL by Tiffany Reisz

August 25, 2012 BDSM, Book Review, Erotica, Favorite Books, New Release 0

 

Title: The Angel(The Original Sinners #2)

Author: Tiffany Reisz

Publisher: Harlequin MIRA

Release Date: September 25, 2012

Rating: 5+ Stars

“No safe word can protect the heart. Infamous erotica author and accomplished dominatrix Nora Sutherlin is doing something utterly out of character: hiding. While her longtime lover, Søren—whose fetishes, if exposed, would be his ruin—is under scrutiny pending a major promotion, Nora’s lying low and away from temptation in the lap of luxury.

Her host, the wealthy and uninhibited Griffin Fiske, is thrilled to have Nora stay at his country estate, especially once he meets her traveling companion. Young, inexperienced and angelically beautiful, Michael has become Nora’s protégé, and this summer with Griffin is going to be his training, where the hazing never ends.

But while her flesh is willing, Nora’s mind is wandering. To thoughts of Søren, her master, under investigation by a journalist with an ax to grind. And to another man from Nora’s past, whose hold on her is less bruising, but whose secrets are no less painful. It’s a summer that will prove the old adage: love hurts.”

*Note: If you have not yet read The Siren(The Original Sinners #1), this review contains spoilers. 

The Angel by Tiffany Reisz is at once beautifully written, mesmerizingly sexy, and wickedly entertaining. The Original Sinners series is fast becoming one of my all-time favorites.

I was eager to be back in the world of the captivating Nora Sutherlin, and was not disappointed one bit. Reisz once has again delivered a book that had me holding my breath, wiping away tears, laughing out loud, and thinking deliciously dirty thoughts. I was thrilled to be back in the Underground and so pleased to get to know more about these characters and the pasts that shaped their current stories. The story transitioned easily from flashbacks to the present.

For me, The Angel is about the relationship between Nora and Soren. I realize that Soren, being kinky, a sadist, and a Catholic priest, is a polarizing character. Though he is extremely handsome, terrifying, and damaged, he is also loving, devoted, and human. I adore him. I loved being able to see more of he and Nora together. As always, Nora does not disappoint. She is strong, brilliant, and sexy with just enough vulnerability. Though theirs is an unconventional love story, it is a beautiful love story just the same. Soren’s handling of the situation with Suzanne, the reporter, only made me love him more.

Nora and Soren are apart for a large part of the book so we get to spend more time with some of the other characters in the series. We get more insight in to their pasts, their lives, and what makes them tick. Michael and Griffin’s journey was a wonderful surprise and offered and element of healing and redemption. And of course, Wesley is there, still in Nora’s heart, and he has a secret to reveal.

Dark, sexy, and subversive, The Angel is a must read. I can not wait for the third book in the series!!

“You belong to me…always.”

“Always”, she repeated.

 “I will do whatever I must so you can come back to me.”

I know you will, sir.”

And we will keep our promise to each other.”

Nora reached up and touched his face.

“I will die in my collar.” She repeated her part of the pledge.

Soren turned his head and kissed the inside of her palm.

“And I will die in mine.”

 

*I received this book as an ARC from the publisher(via Netgalley) in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Pre-Order here: [amazon_link id=”B008EMCQ44″ target=”_blank” container=”” container_class=”” ]AMAZON[/amazon_link]

Barnes and Noble: The Angel

 

Click Here for my review of The Siren, book #1 in The Original Sinners series.


Book Release Blog Tour/ Book Review: NEED(Finding Anna #2) by Sherri Hayes

July 21, 2012 BDSM, Book Review, Book Tour, Erotica, New Release, Romance 1

 

Title: [amazon_link id=”B005EYTG1Q” target=”_blank” container=”” container_class=”” ]Need(Finding Anna #2) [/amazon_link]

Author: Sherri Hayes

Publisher: The Writer’s Coffee Shop

Published: July 26, 2012

Rating: 4 stars

 

Thank you to The Writer’s Coffee shop for including me in the blog tour for the release of Need!

 

Need by Sherri Hayes is the dark story of broken young woman and the man who is determined to earn her trust and to help her heal. The second book in the Finding Anna Series, Need is a wonderful followup to the first book, Slave. Need takes us deeper in to Brianna and Stephan’s relationship as it grows and changes, and the sacrifices they both must make to keep it.

 

“As Brianna comes to terms with the realization that she is no longer a slave, she must figure out what she wants for her life. Forgetting her past isn’t an option. It is an integral part of who she is now, and it will forever shape her view of life. The one thing she knows is that she cannot imagine her life without the man who saved her, but can she be what he needs? 

Stephan never imagined falling in love with the woman he rescued, but the thought of her no longer being part of his life is physically painful. The scars from her past continue to haunt her, and he is helpless to stop them. All he can do is try to help her work through the traumas of her past. Can he be everything she needs and help her move on?

The two must figure out how to navigate not only their relationship with each other, but also the outside world. A friend from Brianna’s past shows up where she least expects them, and Uncle Richard continues to enforce his well-meaning agenda to get Brianna more traditional help. As forces, both friend and foe, threaten to tear them apart, Stephan and Brianna have to navigate the turbulent waters and find what they need in each other.”

 

I definitely enjoyed reading Need. As in the first book in the series, the story is told from both Brianna’s and Stephan’s perspectives. As I reader, I relished being able to know how both characters were feeling. That’s a luxury we as readers don’t always have the benefit of.

The primary focus of the story is the relationship between the two main characters. The handsome, strong and dominant Stephan has rescued the beautiful and broken Brianna and now he must continue to help her heal. He treats her with such excruciating tenderness all while pushing her limits, and somehow manages to control his need to possess her completely. In spite of the tenderness, he is forever the Dominant, which is exactly what Brianna needs. Somehow, they each must figure out how to be what the other requires, all while discovering who they really are. There is such genuine caring as well as an underlying burning desire between these two characters.

I gave Need 4 stars and highly recommend this read. It is dark and edgy, with a great twist on the traditional Dominant/submissive story. There is still heat and sexuality but all within a beautiful story of healing and love. I am eagerly anticipating the third book in the series. I am desperate to see where this relationship goes and if it can survive.


Brianna: “I nodded and continued to hold tight to him. He was my lifeline, and I was pretty sure he always would be. There was no place I felt safer than when he held me like this. Sometimes, I just wanted to stay here, in his chair, and never leave. The outside world could melt away, and I wouldn’t care.”

 

*I received this book as an ARC from the publisher(via NetGalley) in exchange for a fair and honest review.



Book Review: THE THEORY OF ATTRACTION by Delphine Dryden

July 9, 2012 BDSM, Book Review, Erotica, New Release 0

Title: [amazon_link id=”B00814M37U” target=”_blank” container=”” container_class=”” ]The Theory of Attraction[/amazon_link]

Author: Delphine Dryden

Publisher: Carina Press

Release Date: July 9, 2012

Rating: 4.5 Stars

 

The Theory of Attraction by Delphine Dryden is a fun, witty, and very sexy read.

 

“Camilla can set her watch by her hunky rocket-scientist neighbor who jogs past her window each day. She relishes each glimpse of his shirtless abs, and is dying to see more. But it’s hard to connect with a man who doesn’t seem to know she exists…

Ivan feels at home in the lab, not in social situations. When he finally approaches his attractive neighbor, it’s not for a date—he wants tutoring in how to behave at an important fundraiser. Ivan doesn’t expect the chemistry between them to be quite so explosive, and is surprised when Cami actually accepts his proposal to embark on a series of “lessons.”

Cami soon discovers Ivan’s schedule isn’t the only thing he likes to be strict about—he needs to be charge in the bedroom as well. She’s shocked at how much she comes to enjoy her submissive side, but wonders if a real relationship is in the equation…”

 

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had so many elements that I love. It is quick and easy read, without feeling rushed. In fact, it took quite a while to get to the first sexual encounter between Camilla and Ivan, but the build up was orchestrated perfectly and the pay off was well worth it. The main characters are intelligent and interesting, allowing for witty banter between the couple. I love it when characters make me laugh. The BDSM sex scenes are well written and super HOT.

I like both main characters very much. Ivan is offbeat, socially awkward, brilliant and a sexy Dom. Camilla is his neighbor who finds him incredibly handsome but has no idea of his dark sexual tendencies. I almost always enjoy a story of a first time submissive and The Theory of Attraction did not disappoint. I loved watching Camilla grow in her own sexuality and self-awareness as she comes to terms with who Ivan needs her to be.

Overall, this is a great, fun book, without being too light and fluffy. There is a nice balance between humor and darkness and the sex is as steamy as the Texas summer.

“He called it taking , but I felt as though he were giving me these things, these actions, like pieces of himself. Challenging me to receive these odd gifts because they were all he had to give. His attention, his regard. His respect, which was the strangest of all, because I had expected to feel degraded in all this and instead I felt valued beyond measure. Cherished. Strong.”

*I received this book as an ARC from the publisher(via NetGalley) in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Click to purchase. [amazon_link id=”B00814M37U” target=”_blank” container=”” container_class=”” ]AMAZON[/amazon_link]