Posts Categorized: Novella/Short Story

Book Review: LUKE (Forbidden Lust #1) by Diana Bocco

January 25, 2014 Adult, Book Review, Erotic Romance, Novella/Short Story 0

Luke is a sexy new forbidden romance from Diana Bocco! I hope you enjoy the review 🙂

 

About the Book

19043027
Title: Luke (Forbidden Lust #1)

Author: Diana Bocco

Publication Date: January 5, 2014

 

Of all the men in the world, Cailin Walker fell in love with the one she cannot have. The one her sister married.

Billionaire Luke Blackwell made the biggest mistake of his life when he married the wrong Walker sister, but that’s one mistake he intends to rectify.

Cailin’s stayed away for the past three years to fight what she feels.

But all it takes is one drunken mistake for passion to ignite.

Now that they’ve tasted the forbidden, there’s no turning back. They’ll either have to fight the passion threatening to consume them or take a chance and risk losing everything.

Losing it all might just be worthy.

The FORBIDDEN LUST novellas are erotic romances intended for mature audiences. Each book is a complete story; no cliffhangers and a guaranteed happy ending.

AddtoGoodreads

amazon barnesandnoble

 

My Review

My Rating: 4.5 Stars

“And now he wanted more. More of her body, but more of her too. Her mind, her soul. He wanted to see how far he could push, how far she would go.”

Ok, admit it. You have at some time in your life looked at a man (or woman, or both!) that belonged to another. Maybe it was someone close to you, maybe not. Maybe you had a real chemistry or maybe you were attracted just because it’s forbidden. Either way, that attraction is hot!

Now, imagine it’s your sister’s super hot husband and she doesn’t want him anymore, never deserved him to begin with. When you kiss him, something clicks and you both know it and the sex promised by this kiss promises to be mind-blowing. What would you do? (Ummm yeah, I’d give in!)

Diana Bocco tells this story WAY better than I do. The chemistry between Luke and Cailin is electric and the sex is oh-my-god amazing. In just the span of a novella, we get a complete story: the delicious build of tension, the sizzling sex, the drama of a forbidden relationship, and the emotion that comes when a relationship is more than just the sex. This is a perfect one-sitting read with a satisfying conclusion. I look forward to more hot, forbidden romances from this series.

” ‘You can do whatever you want with me, Luke.’ His eyes narrowed. ‘Anything? Because I like ex to be dirty, rough, and dark, If you’re looking for soft, I can’t give you that.’ “

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Tattooed Book Review of City of the Fallen

Lg-Cover2-640x1024

 

Connect with Diana

Goodreads ~ Website ~ Facebook


Book Review: HEY, SANTA (An Alien for the Holidays) by Jessica Subject (@jsubject)

November 28, 2013 Adult, Book Review, Novella/Short Story, Romance, Sci-Fi 2

Confession time: I am a scrooge. I dislike the holidays. In an effort to thaw my icy heart, I thought I’d try a little bit of hot sic-fi romance (Christmas themed) by author Jessica E. Subject…

 

18270709

 

Title: Hey, Santa (An Alien for the Holidays)

Author: Jessica E. Subject

Length: 44 pages

Release Date: August 12, 2013

Publisher: Decadent Publishing

 

She doesn’t want a lot for Christmas…

Claire Otton dreads spending another holiday alone. When her best friend convinces her to approach the sexy mall Santa, she takes the chance and asks him out, hoping for so much more.

He’s waiting under the mistletoe…

Although Andreas Castellanos blends in on Earth, he knows he will never belong. But when the gorgeous woman he’d been staring at invites him to dinner, he has a hard time saying no.

All they’re asking for…

Can these two lonely souls find magic together or will their secrets steal their chance of a happy Christmas?

AddtoGoodreads amazon

 

My Review

My Rating: 4 Stars

” ‘Claire, you didn’t tell me what you want for Christmas.’ Leaning in close, she gave him a breathtaking view of her cleavage. ‘Stick around,’ she whispered. ‘And you’ll find out.’ “

Hey, Santa warmed my heart (and a few other places as well!).

This short is sexy and sweet, with a sic-fi twist. Andy, the HOT mall Santa just happens to be an alien: humanoid, but an alien nonetheless. He also happens to be gorgeous and skilled in the bedroom.

Both Claire and Andy have lost love ones and just want a partner they can trust and share themselves with, but sharing secrets could have devastating consequences. Immediate chemistry boils over into some spicy sex and heartwarming romantic moments. This light and sexy read is perfect for a single sitting and has just enough romance and holiday cheer.

 

 


Book Review and #Giveaway: SOLDIER IN CHAINS by Megan D. Martin (@Megan_D_Martin)

November 18, 2013 Adult, Book Review, Book Tour, Erotica, Novella/Short Story, Past Giveaways 10

Soldier In Chains TOUR BANNER

Welcome to the Soldier in Chains by Megan D. Martin book tour. Read my review and an excerpt from the story and enter to win a $10 Amazon gift card!

 

CLICK HERE to follow the tour!

 

About the Book

 

Soldier in Chains Cover

 

Soldier in Chains

An Erotic Short Story

By Megan D. Martin

 Print Length: 39 pages

Publisher: Secret Cravings Publishing

Publication Date: April 12, 2013

Dorian North, a soldier in the United States Army, is only hours away from being finished with her final tour in Afghanistan. It’s only when she’s ambushed by al Qaeda that Dorian is knocked unconscious and awakens to find herself bound and gagged in a stranger’s bed. She desperately tries to escape, but quickly finds herself enamored with her captor’s alarming handsomeness.

Rob Hutcherson is a former Sergeant of the United States Marine Corps, who stumbled upon an al Qaeda ambush. He rescues the surviving soldier: the most beautiful woman he’s ever laid eyes on. Taking her back to his home he finds his attraction to the fierce young woman to be overwhelming. When she wakes for the first time her goal is clear: escape. In fear for her safety he chains the little hell cat to his bed. He can’t bear the thought of losing her, so he plans to show the little spit fire all the reasons she should stay…

 

AddtoGoodreads

amazon barnesandnoble smashwords

 

My Review

 

My Rating: 5 Stars

“Helplessness was not something she was used to. Never had she been defenseless in the face of a man and yet here she was, at his mercy.”

Gritty sexiness, complete with a bit of non-con bondage (but completely consensual sex) and a bit of romance are packed in to this hot little short. An unexpected twist and some action complete the package.

Martin succeeds in creating sizzling chemistry between Dorian and Rob in a short period of time, resulting in some very steamy sex. This couple of tough soldiers is made for each other and though they have a very shaky beginning, they are able to find their own version of a happy ending.

I recommend this for anyone in the mood for a HOT erotic quickie with an edge.

“He had to help her, protect her, but most of all his primal side called out in fervor… he had to have her.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

SIC- Black Banner with Female SQUARE

 

Excerpt

 

She gave Rob the motioning look with her eyes again, which indicated she wanted him to remove the gag.

“No!” he growled, bucking his hips against her. His erection slid up between the globes her perfectly shaped ass. He wouldn’t have her tricking him again. Not now. Not when things felt so right.

She arched her back again, attempting to rub against him more. His eyes met hers, her hooded stare pleaded to be freed of the cloth in her mouth.

He gave in.

Leaning forward, he snatched at the tie on the small rope which fell to the floor of the shower and, with more patience then he knew he had, removed the material. She coughed and tried to speak, but he couldn’t understand what she was saying.

“What?”

She was breathing hard, her perky breasts bouncing with each intake of breath. Water droplets slid slowly down her lightly tanned skin since she was no longer under the direct stream of liquid. It was his back that the water was rushing down, the chain that bound her to the wall rubbing against the side of his torso, but he ignored all of that. He leaned forward in anticipation, suddenly desperate to hear what she had to say.

 

Enter the Giveaway Below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About the Author

 

Author Megan D. Martin

 

Megan D. Martin is a multi-published author, mother, student and editor. She has always had a special place in her heart for love that is forbidden between two characters as well as the idea of the soul mate. These two themes play big roles in Megan’s writing, especially in her debut novella Forbidden Angel that released in December 2012 with Breathless Press. She likes to push the envelope when it comes to controversial topics in romance and instead of brushing over them, she deals with them head on. Why does she do this? Simple. Real life pushes people out of their comfort zone every day and the characters in Megan’s books don’t get so lucky when it comes to avoiding hard situations. Along with Breathless Press, she is also published with Pagan Writers Press, Secret Cravings Publishing, and Dragonfairy Press.

In her spare time Megan plays Batman with her incredibly sweet son, watches too many episodes of Vampire Diaries (Ian, call me!), buys fish for her many fish tanks, and has long talks with Gandaldore (the little writing wizard that sits on her desk.) She is well known for losing her keys and has more than one nerdy tattoo.

Wanna contact Megan? Send her an email–she would love to hear from you MeggieM823@gmail.com

 

For more info on Megan check her out on these social networking sites.

Blog: http://www.megandmartin.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMeganDMartin

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Megan_D_Martin

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6656963.Megan_D_Martin

Google+: https://plus.google.com/115096823539939478098/posts

 

 


Book Review, Excerpt, and #Giveaway: HEXED AND VEXED by Rebecca Royce

October 15, 2013 Book Review, Book Tour, Novella/Short Story, Paranormal Romance, Past Giveaways 9

Welcome to the Hexed and Vexed by Rebecca Royce Book Tour! Read my review and enter to win one of two $20 Amazon gift cards!

 

About the Book

 

Hexed-and-Vexed300x450

 

Title: Hexed and Vexed

Author: Rebecca Royce

Publisher: Decadent Publishing

Publication Date: August 20, 2013

 

Olive White has had a terrible six months. It’s not bad enough that years earlier she earned the nickname “Worst Witch In Witching School,” she is now being forced to watch the love of her life, Campbell Bane, marry her sister Cindy. And she’s being asked to do so in a pink, puke-colored bridesmaid’s dress. Vexed doesn’t begin to describe how she feels.

Her powers pick the wedding as the perfect moment to turn on, zapping both her ex and her to a magical island not found on any map. Someone is bound to find them, but perhaps Olive can get some answers, once and for all.

When Campbell falls ill, she uses her considerable skills to save his life, but can she believe him when he tells her he still loves her and always has? Was he hexed, or is it all a flimsy excuse for breaking her heart?

AddtoGoodreads

Purchase:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | All Romance eBooks | Decadent

 

What readers are saying…

“It had romance, a great heroine, mystery, and intriguing plot.” –J. Sapa

 “Short and sweet, i really liked it.” – Rosiemcc

“The magic was well-done and creative. A fast, pleasurable, entertaining read.” – Cara Bristol

 

My Review

 

My Rating: 4 Stars

” ‘I’m going to remind you over and over again how much I love you until it’s so embedded within your soul no magic spell will ever take it from you.’ “

A Decadent ‘Tease’, this is a short novella has magic, romance, love, and an unlikely second chance. It’s an entertaining and engaging story of a relationship  thrown off course by unknown magic. There is clear, strong love between Olive and Campbell, but Olive is hurt by his unintended betrayal. Will she be able to forgive him?

A quick read, perfect for a single sitting, Hexed and Vexed is magically fun and romantic.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Excerpt

 

“Tell me again how we ended up here. And speak slowly so I can understand every word you say.” A muscle clenched in his jaw.

“Well.” She might have preferred Campbell not bringing up her tendency to rush through speech when she felt nervous. “I think I may have, completely unintentionally of course, zapped us here.”

“You. Zapped. Us. Here.” He nodded in between each word like he needed to make sense of all of them individually before he could move on. He ran a hand through his dark hair. Strands she herself had once caressed on a nightly basis before he’d gone and decided to marry her sister, thus destroying her life.

“Exactly.” She hitched up her pink monstrosity of a dress and walked toward the inviting waves. The sea air tingled against her skin.

Campbell grabbed her arm. “Olive White, you’ve never successfully performed one spell. Not even one.”

“Yes, you would know that since you were with me every single time I bumbled one. The worst witch in witching school.” She hated that phrase and obviously, she’d made a spell work. Even if she hadn’t meant to. Maybe she could finally lose the nickname.

“Yes.” He smiled at her, letting her arm go. For a second, she saw his brown eyes sparkle like they had when he used to look at her, in the days before the whole world had shifted sideways. But then as fast as the adoration had appeared it vanished. “Well, since you can suddenly make the gift of the ancestors work, zap us back.”

Campbell tapped his foot on the sand like she should hurry up and get the job done. She stifled a laugh, covering her mouth with her hand, at the image he portrayed.

He still wore his tuxedo. In the sand.

Dark hair, dark eyes, and dressed in a designer tuxedo, complete with a black bowtie that had to have been Cindy’s idea, he stood on the beach looking like a fish that had suddenly found itself in a bird’s nest. He really didn’t belong in his current habitat. At least not dressed like that.

Olive covered her mouth to hide her smile. Campbell always fit in wherever he went and even though it seemed mean to laugh, especially because it was her fault that he’d landed on the beach, she couldn’t help but find amusement in how uncomfortable he appeared. After her months of pain, he deserved the hours ahead of him.

He stood waiting for her to answer his declaration. Her sister’s fiancé wanted her to bring them back immediately if not sooner.

“I can’t undo the spell, Campbell. And I’m not sorry about it. Not even a little bit.”

 

Enter the Giveaway Below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About the Author

 

As a teenager, Rebecca Royce would hide in her room to read her favorite romance novels when she was supposed to be doing her homework. She hopes, these days, that her parents think it was well worth it.

Rebecca is the mother of three adorable boys and is fortunate to be married to her best friend. They live in northern New Jersey and try not to freeze too badly during the winter months.

She’s in love with science fiction, fantasy, and the paranormal and tries to use all of these elements in her writing. She’s been told she’s a little bloodthirsty so she hopes that when you read her work you’ll enjoy the action packed ride that always ends in romance. Rebecca loves to write series because she loves to see characters develop over time and it always makes her happy to see her favorite characters make guest appearances in other books.

In Rebecca Royce’s world anything is possible, anything can happen, and you should suspect that it will.

Connect with Rebecca

Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter


Author Guest, Book Review, and #Giveaway: TIE ME FREE (Satin Rose Experience #4) by Sandra Bunino (@SandraBunino)

September 21, 2013 Adult, BDSM, Book Review, Erotic Romance, Favorite Books, Guest Post, Novella/Short Story, Past Giveaways 6

Welcome to Tie Me Free Book Tour! I’m super excited to share this new book today AND Sandra Bunino is HERE, sharing a fantastic “off camera” scene with the Mason, the sexy man of the hour! I started reading the Satin Rose Experience series about a year ago… and fell hard and fast. A devoted fan ever since, I’m always eagerly awaiting each new installment in this romantic, sensual, and HOT BDSM themed series. Enough about me… let’s get to our guest of honor!

 

Welcome to Tattooed Book Review, Sandra! It’s always such a pleasure to have you here. 🙂

Thanks for having me today, Gillian! I love visiting your virtual home at Tattooed Book Review! I wanted to do something a little special for your readers and you today. <3 <3 <3

This “off camera” scene gives readers a glimpse at the start of Mason’s love of older women and his desire to dominate.

Here’s a little background first:

Mason grew up poor and lonely in an orphanage in Dublin, Ireland. His last words to his mother were promises to do well in school and move to America. His hard work paid off and he earned a full scholarship to New York’s Columbia University. His quiet, brooding nature, not to mention his great looks and Irish accent, attracted the attention of Rachel Forrey, his forty-something , recently widowed, art history professor.

In this scene Professor Forrey asks Mason to stay after class…

 Mason stayed seated at his table near the back of the class as the students filed out of the room. The note Professor Forrey discreetly left on his desk, which he unfolded, read, and refolded every few minutes during the session, remained tucked into his jeans pocket. His eyes flicked to Professor Forrey as the last student left the room. She stood from her perch at the corner of her desk and walked to the door, closing it was a click.

 Swiveling on her heels, her straight honey tinted hair skimmed over her shoulders as she turned to face Mason. “Do you know why I asked you to stay, Mr. Myers?”

 “Was there a problem with my research paper?” He cocked an eyebrow.

 She chuckled softly and strode to the window. “I’ve always loved New York in the fall. My late husband and I used to walk through Central Park every weekend to watch the leaves change. I’ve been very lonely since he’s been gone.”

 The metal feet of his chair slid across the floor, grinding against hard surface as he rose to his feet. “I’m sorry about your husband. I know what it’s like to have lost someone close.” He walked to the window and stopped behind her. Leisurely, his gaze washed over her creamy blouse and black skirt, which hugged her curves, leaving little to his imagination.

 She nodded. “Did you know you can see Central Park from here? Come closer.” She took his hand and guided his index finger to the corner of the window. “See? Right there.” Her breath blew warm and sweet on his neck.

 “Professor Forrey,” he said in a husky voice. His hands itched to touch her.

 “It’s Rachel. Just Rachel.” Her finger trailed up his arm and cupped his cheek. “We have a lot in common, Mason, and there are many things I can teach you.”

 Mason encircled her wrist with his index finger and thumb, spun her around and pinned her back against the window. Their breath intermingled as he stared into her icy blue eyes full of challenge and excitement.

 “I may have something to teach you, Professor.”

*shivers* Thank you so much, Sandra!

 

About the Book

 

Tiemefree

 

Tie Me Free (The Satin Rose Experience, 4)

by Sandra Bunino

Release date: September 12, 2013

From Evernight Publishing

 

She’s forty and vanilla…he’s twenty-eight and…not.

Score one for Kate Angel. She’s just signed the hottest erotica author to her start up publishing house, Angel Books, but she needs a crash course in kink to appease her demanding client. Creating a Domsublife.com profile seems like an innocent way to do her homework and satisfy her curiosity.

Mason Myers has lived a lifetime in his twenty-eight years. The product of an Irish orphanage, he grew up fast to overcome his lonely, humble beginnings to become the successful businessman he is today. He’s also an experienced Dom at the Satin Rose Experience, an elite BDSM club in New York City.

A mutual appreciation for modern art establishes their online connection. Mason convinces Kate to meet him at the Guggenheim museum’s erotica exhibit where she reveals her fascination in the art of rope bondage, known as Shibari. Introducing her to the ancient art within the safety of the club, Mason helps Kate surrender her deep-seated hang-ups about her age and body image.

As the physical and emotional ties that bind her into the submissive of his fantasies tighten, can Kate learn to break the emotional tethers ruling her life and embrace the freedoms they bestow?

 

AddtoGoodreads

amazon are_small

Evernight Publishing

 

My Review

 

My Rating: 5 Stars

“…’Remember, you’re in a safe place, just let yourself go and enjoy the journey. You deserve it.’ “

Once again, this author does not disappoint. This installment of the Satin Rose Experience explores the ancient and beautiful art of Shibari. The story is romantic, sensual, and tinged with a burning sexual desire. The reader shares Kate’s transformation from BDSM newbie to empowered submissive, led on her journey by the achingly sexy Dom, Mason.

I adore Kate’s character in this story. She’s sassy and successful, and despite her insecure misgivings about her body, has an air of confidence about her. Even when Mason pegs her submissive tendencies, she refuses to give in right away. Her reluctance to experiment in BDSM gives the story a lovely, slow burn. The attraction between Kate and Mason is evident, strengthening throughout the course of the story, until the outcome becomes clear: all or nothing.

The result of all the build-up is a beautifully sensual BDSM sex scene, focusing on bondage, Shibari in particular. The author artfully portrays the visual and sensual beauty of the bondage, as well as the intense emotions and sexual chemistry of the characters. It’s an amazingly hot sex scene, especially for one that doesn’t involve a lot of actual “sex”.

Tie Me Free is a novella, perfect for a single, sexy sitting. The fourth book in the series, it certainly lived up to the other stories I have enjoyed so much, and I’m always looking forward to the next book in this series. I leave you, dear reader, with a little tidbit from this story that brought tears to my eyes:

“Kate had never been spiritual, but something powerful came over her and she finally understood his statements about BDSM: the lifestyle is not about ropes and knots, paddles and whips, leather and chains, it’s all about the emotional experience which binds two people.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Enter the Giveaway Below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About the Author

 

Sandra Bunino is a numbers crunching business professional by day who stays up past her bedtime thanks to her oh-so-sexy imagination. Who needs sleep, anyway? Sandra is constantly searching for different ways to achieve a heart-pumping, stomach-flipping, breath-catching reaction from her readers.

These days, Sandra lives on a wooded mountaintop not far from New York City with her family. She always looks forward to hearing from her readers and she may be contacted at sbunino@gmail.com. As a social media junkie in need of a ten-step program, you can also follow her on Facebook and Twitter (@sandrabunino).

Remember, following is sexy!

_DSF0008

Connect with Sandra

Website / Email / Facebook / Goodreads / Amazon Author Page / Twitter @sandrabunino


Book Review and Excerpt: NEVER GONNA DESERT YOU (The Underground Series) by Jessica E. Subject (@jsubject)

September 12, 2013 Adult, Book Review, Book Tour, Erotic Romance, Novella/Short Story, Sci-Fi 1

18006575

The Underground

Never Gonna Desert You

by Jessica E. Subject

Determined to find and bring back her girlfriend, Brook enlists in the next mission to the foreign planet, Airondelle. But the deception at Planet Core continues, and Brook doesn’t realize the depth of her father’s involvement until he orders her terminated. Struggling to stay alive, she quickly learns nothing is as she believed.

Will she ever find Melina? Or will Brook be stuck light years from home, alone, and with a fierce predator hunting her down?

 

AddtoGoodreads

Purchase Never Gonna Desert You 

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | All Romance eBooks | Decadent

 

What Readers are saying:

“I loved reading Brook and Melina’s story. Just be prepared that this is a very quick read but has an well developed plot that will keep you interested in the book.” Regina Ross

 “Their sensual interludes are HOT and nicely paced alongside intriguing sci-fi elements.” – J. Faltys

 

My Review

My Rating: 4 Stars

A short, sexy, and exciting read, Never Gonna Desert You combines f/f romance and science fiction. Brook and Melina’s love for each other is forbidden by Planet Core, but they will do anything and everything to be together, and it may cost them their lives.

Even with it’s short length, I found myself very invested in this story and he characters. The political intrigue of a corrupt dystopian society provides the backdrop for the spicy romance between the two women. Sizzling, stolen moments between the couple mix with scenes where they must run and fight for survival and a nearly impossible love. The plot has some twists and turns and quite a few surprises.

A fun, quick read for romance, sci-fi, or dystopian fans alike, Never Gonna Desert You has the right mix of world-buliding and spicy romance. Though Brook and Melina’s story reaches a satisfying conclusion, the intrigue and action of The Underground is just beginning: I’m eagerly anticipating the continuation of this series.

” ‘I love you. I always have. And I promise you, I will never desert you again. I will be glued to your side for the rest of my life.’ “

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Excerpt

“Let’s go, Malock.” Jager raised his eyebrows. “Or did you change your mind?”

She stood and released a deep breath. Even with her trepidation, she refused to back out now. Melina waited for her. “No, I’m looking forward to seeing Airondelle for myself.”

Brook spun away and rushed to catch up with her comrades. If she revealed her plans, she’d be stopped before she could find her lover. She would have to hide Melina right under their noses to bring her home. She pushed her shoulders back. I can do this. I have to.

The all-terrain vehicles sat loaded with equipment for the mission in front of the swirling mass of the portal. Her father certainly wasn’t wasting any time getting a team back to Airondelle. Crewmembers already filled the first vehicle, so she hopped into the back of the second.

Jager passed around everyone’s mission directives then shoved in on her left. Thank goodness he was the last to load. With his bulk, he occupied both of the remaining seats.

Before she had time to read her personal orders, they proceeded into the portal. She passed through the spinning matter, her body pulled and stretched in every direction. Unknown forces pushed on her chest, making it difficult to breathe. She gripped the seat, hoping she wouldn’t get pulled out. But the awkwardness didn’t last long. The transporter room light years away, clean, fresh air poured into her lungs. The alien vegetation of the foreign planet lined the rough dirt road they traveled. She yearned to explore the flora and fauna on a more intimate level. And she would, after setting up camp.

She opened the folder with her mission directive inside. Instead of the stack of papers detailing what Planet Core expected of her, she found a single sheet.

Her father’s handwriting scrawled across the page. You can never know the truth.

Hard, cold steel pressed against her temple. A gun. Her breath caught. What the hell is going on? She grabbed her knapsack and launched out of the vehicle.

 

About the Author

Jessica Subject is the author of contemporary and science fiction romance, ranging from sweet to erotica. In her stories, you could meet clones, or a sexy alien or two. You may even be transported to another planet for a romantic rendezvous.

When Jessica isn’t reading, writing, or doing dreaded housework, she likes to get out and walk. Fast. But she just may slow down if there is a waterfall nearby.

Jessica lives in Ontario, Canada with her husband and two energetic children. And she loves to hear from her readers.

Connect with Jessica

Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter

 


5 Star Book Review: LITTLE BLACK DRESS by Scarlet Chastain (@ScarletChastain)

September 8, 2013 Adult, Book Review, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, Favorite Books, Novella/Short Story 1

18159140

 

Title: Little Black Dress

Author: Scarlet Chastain

Publisher: Evernight Publishing

Publication Date: August 31, 2013

 

My Rating: 5 Stars

 

 

About the Book

Never underestimate the power of the little black dress…

Paris: The romance and fashion capital of the world. So what the hell makes Jamie Scotts, an IT geek from New York, think the city of lights holds the answers? Driven by need for change, she lies to her boss about her fluency in French and becomes the company’s first international sales person. Fluent? She can barely ask for directions to the ladies’ room.

Jamie’s a duck out of water with her low maintenance style and New York accent. Her unsuccessful sales pitch almost sends her home, until she meets the epitome of elegance, Giselle Bianchi. An unlikely relationship blossoms as the dress designer takes Jamie under her wing. Giselle’s guidance not only reveals Jamie’s missing je ne sais quoi, but also unlocks repressed passion with the help of a little black dress.

 

My Review

” ‘Show me what a real kiss feels like,’ Jamie whispered. She’d made a transformation over the past month, both physically and emotionally. She was ready to let the old Jamie go, spread her wings and allow the person she was becoming to soar free. Starting with this first kiss.”

Another great story from Scarlet Chastain for readers, like me, who enjoy a book girlfriend just as much as their book boyfriends. A sweet and sexy romance set in Paris, a city thought to be one of the most romantic cities on earth, Little Black Dress had me sighing and smiling, and even a tiny bit tearful.

I love the easy, believable comfort between Jamie and Giselle: the way their romance stems from a genuine friendship. And let’s face it, Giselle’s character, the beautiful, graceful, generous blond with the french accent, is one anyone could have a girl crush on, even if that’s not really your thing. I’m not sure if everyone does this, but I give characters voices in my head and Giselle’s french accent got my heart all fluttery. There’s a lovely chemistry between the two main characters, a building sexual tension, and a little conflict to make the story a little exciting and really get the reader engaged in this relationship.

I thoroughly enjoyed this brief and sexy European vacay, complete with a very well done f/f sex scene. The tentative Jamie finds herself and her true home, and two beautiful women find love and romance in The City of Light.

“Home doesn’t have to be a physical place. Think about it. Home is a place where you feel comfortable.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

AddtoGoodreads

amazon


Book #Review and Series Spotlight: ALWAYS A MARINE Series by Heather Long

August 6, 2013 Book Review, Book Tour, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, Favorite Books, Novella/Short Story 0

marine series

I’m so excited to share with you a series that is very close my heart. Because I have a very special Marine in my own life, Heather Long’s Always a Marine Series from Decadent Publishing hits home. I have my review of What Part of Marine Don’t You Understand, as well as info and excerpts from other books in the series. There’s a little something for everyone… Enjoy!

 

About the Books

 

HL_What Part of Marine_LG

 

What Part of Marine Don’t You Understand?

Matt McCall’s struggles to reintegrate into civilian life have been an ongoing battle for the better part of two years. Daily group sessions and weekly one-on-ones have only allowed him to grow so far. Twice he’s returned to his home state of Ohio and twice, he retreated to Mike’s Place. Uncertain of where he belongs in the world, he battles depression silently. The unexpected gift of a black Labrador retriever perks his spirit…and a chance meeting in the park gives him a precious gift…

Aspiring country singer Naomi Sparks comes from a long line of Marines, she knows all about sacrifice and struggle. When her brother asks her to visit to Mike’s Place on his behalf, she discovers a real opportunity to make a difference. Matt McCall inspires her with the real challenge of discovering love and daring heroes who takes risks.  Writing music has never been so sweet…

Can one woman who believes in him really heal the wounds in this Marine’s heart?

AddtoGoodreads

Purchase Now:

 amazon barnesandnoble are_small

Decadent Publishing

 

My Review

My Rating: 5 Stars

A beautiful country songwriter, a handsome Marine struggling to overcome PTSD, and a lovable service dog… the main characters in this hopeful, beautifully written, and warmly romantic story.

I’m a HUGE fan of this series and of this book. Long captures brilliantly the issues facing soldiers and families of soldiers, all while immersing the reader in an emotional and well crafted romance. In a short span of time, she creates characters that you relate to, feel for, and wish a bright future. Both main characters show such great strength, Matt as he works to overcome his demons, and Naomi as the always supportive member of a family of Marines. I enjoyed their relationship immensely, their chemistry, courtship, and eventual happy ending.

This book tells a story that needs to be told: a struggle that many military veterans face and their loved ones face with them. I cried and smiled and hoped my way through this heartwarming, romantic journey that starts with a man in his darkest hour, as he manages to find his way out, towards love and a brighter future.

” ‘I hear a good brother who cares about his family, a good son who respects his mother, a tough Marine who honors his unit, and a strong man facing his own demons. You’re exactly the kind of guy I want to see.

‘But I can’t take you out and do all the things you deserve- real dates, real romance-‘

‘I don’t need those trappings, Matt. I just need you.’ She wasn’t sure which one of them moved, but she went from sitting next to him to sitting in his lap, and his mouth closed over hers.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Excerpt:

“We have to talk about what happened. You have to remember and not relive it.”

“I’m not reliving it.” Am I? The bitter taste in his mouth burned his tongue. Shouts echoed in the hallway. Feet thundered past. He jerked to his feet and started forward three steps. Jethro butted against him and he stopped. Disoriented, he felt the leash rub against the cuts on his knuckles—and he looked at James.

No feet echoed in the hallway. He wasn’t in Iraq. He was in Allen, Texas.

“Holy hell on a biscuit.” He sat down before he fell down and Jethro shoved his head under Matt’s hand.  He couldn’t make it stop.  “How do I make it stop?”

“Breathe, Matt. Look at Jethro. He knows you’re upset. Breathe.” If only James’ calmness could flow from the psychologist to him. It was like Matt could hear the words, but he couldn’t quite process them. “You haven’t hurt anyone and you haven’t hurt yourself.”

“Why does my mouth taste like ass?” Sweat trickled down the back of his neck. Oxygen burned in his chest with every breath he took.

“That’s the adrenaline. You got upset. You remembered and you were there. The bitter taste is adrenaline.”

“I’m getting short-changed here.” Amusement and disbelief warred against the craziness swirling inside him.

“No, it’s normal. With a lot of veterans, you start cooking and after a while, you can’t stop it anymore—that’s when you snap. You keep bringing yourself up to the boil and then backing off in full retreat.”

“What gets me cooking?” And why hadn’t they talked like this before? The blood pounding in his skull eased and his heart stopped trying to pound its way out of his chest.

“With veterans it can be a car backfiring, a twig snapping, or a box dropping off a shelf. The sudden, explosive noise reminds them of…”

“Gunshots.” That made sense. He could actually wrap his mind around that.

“But that’s not what sets you off.”

“So what is it?”

“I know this will sound like I’m telling you that five plus five equals a pile of hay, but it’s people yelling or laughing or running. Large movements of people. It’s what set you off in the bar. It’s why you didn’t stick it out at Damon’s restaurant. It’s why going home…”

 

HL_A Marine Affair_LG

 

Commander Rick McConnell and Colonel Elijah Masters have been secret lovers for years. They nurtured their very private relationship with planned vacations and leaves, always meeting somewhere different—always escaping off the grid. It worked for them—career officers with a desire to serve their country and a passion for each other. The repeal of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell provides them with the tremendous opportunity to come out to their friends and loved ones—Rick wants to seize the day, but Eli isn’t so certain. His hesitation leads to a fight, an ultimatum, and a breakup. Rather than confront their issues, Eli takes a foreign assignment.

A year’s separation changes both of them. The last person Eli expects to see when he steps off the plane is Rick, but the physician wants another chance with the only man he’s ever loved and he has a plan.  Will bitterness, recriminations, and loss keep them apart or can these two officers rediscover the faith and loyalty that bound them for so long?

AddtoGoodreads

Purchase Now:

amazon barnesandnoble are_small

Decadent Publishing

 

Excerpt:

“You’re late.” Eli greeted him with a dry smile. The man looked better than the day before, if that were possible.

“Sorry, surgery ran longer than I expected.” He took the chair next to him rather than the one opposite. “A beer please.” The waiter took his order and left them alone.  The best part of the restaurant were the availability of private party rooms where diners could enjoy their meal and not have to share their table with a family of strangers.

“I figured.” Eli gestured to the sushi. “They just delivered it. Your favorites.”

The gesture struck him with its kindness and compassion. Eli didn’t have a favorite kind of sushi, he didn’t particularly care for it. Rick knew he only ate it when they were together because Rick enjoyed it. “Thanks.”

Unwrapping his chopsticks, he tucked into the Philadelphia rolls with their salmon, cucumber and cream cheese. He’d spent nearly ten hours in the operating room. A light day by his usual standards, but he hadn’t had time to eat since breakfast that morning.

“What happened?” The quiet question drew him back to the moment.

“Just a long day.” The waiter brought his beer and they both ordered. Steak and shrimp for Eli. Chicken and fish for Rick. Fried rice for Eli, while Rick chose white. They both wanted extra veggies and Eli added an order of shrimp tempura for himself.

So many little differences, from food choices to the teams they liked. Rick loved the Mets while Eli was a dyed in the wool Yankees fan.  He exhaled a humorless laugh and looked sideways at the Marine. “Red meat, fried rice, and fried food—you going for the early heart attack?”

“My first real red meat in a year and the last time I saw fried food it was a McDonald’s drive thru on the way to the airport. I think I’ll survive. Besides I lived on rations more often than I care to count—if that doesn’t kill you this sure as hell won’t.” Eli saluted him with the beer. “What happened in surgery?”

The man possessed homing radar. He always knew what bothered him. Weird how he was an open book while Eli remained a mystery unless he chose to share.  “Lost a patient. Complications.” Acid churned in his stomach. “Kid didn’t report some medication he’d been on. Too many bleeders, not enough blood. It happens.”

“Sorry.” No platitudes, no coaxing comfort, just a plain and simple word that encompassed so much more.

“Me, too. Anyway, how’s Christina?”

“She’s good. Recovering. Kid’s cute—well—not really, he’s ugly as sin, but then most babies have that smooshed look, so I figure he’ll grow out of it. Healthy.” Eli rubbed the back of his neck. It looked like he wanted to say more, but their chef arrived and along with Eli’s tempura. They ate in silence and watched the food preparation show.

“You have your new orders yet?” Small talk gave them both an out.

Eli shook his head. “Marine Barracks next Monday. Fitness assessment, and debrief. Probably get them while I’m there.”

“You apply for anything?” With his rank and credentials, he could open a lot of doors.

Shaking his head, Eli speared a piece of meat onto his fork. “I thought about it, but I don’t want a desk job. Colonel Spears asked me to consider a teaching position either at Parris Island or OCR at Quantico.”

A position at either base would keep Eli in country—Quantico would keep him in the region. Rick swallowed back the urge to give him any advice. “Nice.”

“Maybe. What about you? Running your department yet?”

“No.” Rick shook his head. “I didn’t want to play those politics. I like my patients. I like training interns and I like having something of a life outside the hospital. Department Chief doesn’t give me much time for any of that. I am going to Amman in a few weeks, but it’s a three week clinic to train some of the locals at the hospital.”

“Huh.” The bland grunt didn’t reveal as much as the tightness flexing Eli’s jaw. He didn’t like it.

“I like keeping my hand in and they need a cardio thoracic specialist. Too many of their cases have to leave the country, they’ve got some good candidates signed up for the training and the top two will return here for another six months of training that I’ll supervise.”

“You ever think we’d be teachers?” Eli finished all the meat on his plate. He didn’t like mixing his foods. He ate methodically, one dish after the other.

“Not as a life goal, no. But it makes sense. See one, do one, teach one. Learned that in medical school.” The educational method described most of his internship, fellowship and his current residency. He could have his pick of civilian hospitals, but preferred his military service. Two years as a medic to a forward unit during the initial incursions into Afghanistan taught him more than all his years at a hospital combined.

“Christina tried to set me up with another date.”

The unexpected bit of news sent a shock through Rick. He chewed a piece of chicken thoroughly as he tried to digest the information. He could handle this. “Yeah? Anyone I know?”

“One of her girlfriends from college—thrice married. Apparently she thinks my prospects are limited and wants to fix me up with my first divorce.”  If Eli tried to be funny, the humor was lost on him.

“She doesn’t know.” The revelation stunned him. Rick’s family knew about him, his mother was more comfortable with the information than his father, but both accepted it. Eli’s family didn’t?

“Nope.”

Why hasn’t he told them?  The thought burned through him, igniting a dozen other questions. He clamped a lid on it. In a decade together, Eli never indicated his sexual preference was a secret from his family. Was that the problem? He chewed that thought over and over, eating to try and cover his silence.

Two beers and half the meal later, Rick turned sideways in the chair.  Bit by bit Eli relaxed while they ate.  Maybe it was the company, the day’s loss or the alcohol—or some combination of the three, but wanted their cards on the table. He wanted Eli back. “I miss you Eli. I want us back. What do we need to do make that happen?”

 

HL_Marine ever after_LG

 

Marine Paul Torres is used to the casual thing, women who enjoy the pleasure of the moment and whom he can bed with a wink and a smile.  Lately though, he’s turned on by the allure of finding the right partner for him with so many of his friends settling down.  Attending a wedding in Texas for one of his oldest friends, he meets Lillianna Hansen.

Paul and Lillianna get off on the wrong foot, enjoying a wildly passionate encounter after the wedding. He wakes to find her gone, but still tries to track down her number. Paul wants more than a one-night stand, but his limited leave is up and must return to active duty.

He might be ready to take their relationship to another level, but all Lillianna thought she wanted was a good time. But Paul’s attention—even from thousands miles away—is hard to resist and while she tells herself repeatedly she doesn’t want a relationship with a Marine, she can’t deny the consequences of their passionate night.

And when she finally does reach out, it’s to confess she’s pregnant, and she has to figure out if she’s ready to let the father of her child be her Marine ever after…

AddtoGoodreads

Purchase Now:

amazon barnesandnoble are_small

Decadent Publishing

 

Excerpt:

Paul eyed the bridesmaid from the moment she made her entrance through the double doors. He was fourth groomsman, which meant he’d get to escort her out. Thank you, Jesus.Gorgeous was the only word that would do. Not that the other bridesmaids weren’t good looking, Jazz was a hell of a looker and if he looked too long, one of her two husbands might be inclined to take his head off.

All in good fun, at least on Zach’s part. Logan was standing right net to Paul. Better to keep his eyes on the more attractive prize. From her rich dark hair piled atop of her head to the deep natural dark tan of her skin. He hesitated to call it brown, but the white gloves and deep navy of her dress looked so smashing against her skin tone. He barely got a glimpse at her eyes and his training kept his gaze forward as they walked.

Photographs would be next and then a drive to the reception at Mike’s Place. If he played his cards right, he’d be in her limo. Sadly, the evening wedding meant the sun was already sinking as they exited and the shadows lessened the chance he could tell what color they were.

But we have to dance… A smile curved his mouth. He would have plenty of opportunity to stare at her eyes and determine their color then.

“Paul Torres,” he murmured.

“I’m sorry, what?” She glanced up at him, a distracted smile softening her expression. It hit him like a fist to the gut.  He needed to revise his earlier opinion, gorgeous didn’t do her justice.

“I’m Paul Torres, you must be Lillianna,” the only bridesmaid who missed the big rehearsal dinner. Not that I can complain…He almost missed it, too. But his flight landed an hour beforehand and it was only with some skillful driving that Damon managed to get them both there in time to be in the line up before the bridesmaids did their obligatory walk.

“Yes, sorry. I can’t get over how happy she looks. And Lillianna Hansen.” She let go of his arm and offered her gloved hand to shake.  The urge to kiss it was a little too romance novel for him, so he shook it and then held onto it.

“The captain looks pretty happy, too. I think he got the better end of the bargain.” He chuckled. They were all settling down. He’d served with most of the men in the groom’s party and earned his invitation when the wedding coincided with his leave. Unfortunately, Brody hadn’t been able to make it. But he promised to visit the happy couple on his next trip through Dallas.

“I hope so. There’s a tiny part of me that doesn’t like him.” The announcement surprised him, but the photographer summoned them to join the bride and groom so he swallowed the question.

Five hundred photographs later, they were dismissed to make their way to the waiting limousines. A small fleet of them waited, Jazz and her husbands loaded into one, the freshly marrieds got their own, James and Lauren claimed the third, and Paul drifted back a little, and fortunately Lillianna waited for him as Damon and A.J. helped their bridesmaids into a limo and joined them.

Score. We get the last one to ourselves.

“Everything all right?” She eyed him expectantly.

“Fine, I just wanted to check a button.” Lame, Paul. Lame. But it was the first excuse to pop into his head. He motioned for the limo and she shook her head and led the way. He beat her to the door and opened it, and handed her inside before slipping off his cover and joining her.

She sat opposite him in the wide area of the stretch, and on the far side. He considered swapping seats, but he liked looking at her better—even if only in the illumination of passing headlights.  “I hope you’re ready for a big party.”

“Me too.” Lillianna didn’t sound like she was ready.  He raised his eyebrows and she moistened her lips.

Damn. Mind out of the gutter. He gave his body the order, but it was too late to prevent the shock of reaction running riot through his system. If he hadn’t already been curious about her before, he definitely was now.  Out. Of. The. Gutter.

 

HL_Marine in the wind_LG

 

Freewill bound…

Greg Rainwater lost a piece of himself in the deserts of Iraq, a piece that his Shaman great-grandfather would call his soul. After months of grueling physical therapy at Mike’s Place, he’s still empty. When his discharge papers arrive, Greg has no idea where to go until A.J. calls and invites him to Freewill. The ranch turns out to be exactly what he needs—hard physical labor, horses, and the mountains soothe his injured soul.  If only Old Man Crane’s granddaughter didn’t look at him with such scorn in her eyes… Determined to put her out of his mind, he signs up for a one-night stand.

Under her skin…

Stuck in Freewill, Georgia Crane gave up her own dreams to look after her grandfather. She hates small towns, she hates busybodies, and she really hates outsiders, but she adores her grandfather, so she stays. If only the old man wouldn’t keep wandering off. The self-proclaimed medicine man insists on walking the hills and the mountains, communing with nature and the spirits. Her frustration increases when a new arrival encourages his lunacy.  Not content to hunger after the man replacing her in her grandfather’s affections, Georgia signs up for a one-night stand.

Sexual healing…

When Greg is paired with Georgia, his blood boils—the woman turns him inside out. Georgia’s as shocked as he is…after all, this is the guy her grandfather keeps wandering off with. Stuck together for the evening, distrust turns to attraction and irritation to desire, but can they bridge the distance in just one night?

AddtoGoodreads

Purchase Now:

amazon barnesandnoble are_small

Decadent Publishing

 

Excerpt:

The beautiful woman marched straight for them and sent all the blood in Greg’s body south. He’d spent most of his time on the ranch or at Mike’s Place. The women he knew were therapists, Marines, sailors—or A.J.’s girlfriend. This lady, with her mane of midnight black hair, sun kissed skin, and soft pink lips reminded him of all he’d been missing, a sprite of nature given living, breathing form.

“I’m sorry, son,” Crane muttered and picked up his pace. “Georgia…”

“Don’t you Georgia me.” The beautiful sprite turned into a fire-breathing dragon, right down to the heat flaming in her eyes. “You’re supposed to be taking it easy, Grandpa. This—?” she waved her arms toward the ranch and included Greg in her sweep. “Is the complete opposite of taking it easy.”

“I’m fine. Georgia, this is—”

“I don’t care who this is.” She exhaled a hard breath and looked at Greg. “No offense. I’m sure you’re very nice. I know you served, and we’re grateful. But this is my grandfather you’re dragging all over the back of beyond, not one of your Marines.”

“Georgia Crane.” The older man frowned.

“No. You’re an hour late. You didn’t tell me where you were going. You didn’t leave a note. I’ve looked for you everywhere. If I hadn’t run into A.J., I wouldn’t know where you were now.” She held up a bottle and shook it. “You’re supposed to take this, on schedule, three times a day. You can’t skip.”

Anger tightened the lines around her eyes and her mouth had a hard pinched look. Greg hadn’t encouraged the older man to take a long walk, but he hadn’t discouraged him either.

“It was good to meet you, Greg.” Crane turned away from his granddaughter pointedly and offered his hand. Greg shook it. “Don’t forget to keep listening.”

“I won’t. You two all right to get back to town?” He didn’t doubt for an instant the little firecracker could handle it, but in her current frame of mind, they might need a mediator.

“We’re fine.” The older man didn’t seem hurried. “Georgia, this is Greg Rainwater.”

“Mr. Rainwater.”

“Miss Crane,” he echoed her tone.

“Grandpa, come on. You need your meds and probably something to eat with them. We can pick up sandwiches on the way.” She may as well have acted like Greg wasn’t there, but since the pair seemed likely to engage in an argument at any moment, he left it alone.

After she loaded her grandfather in the car and walked around to the passenger side, she set her fierce gaze on him again. It raked him from head to toe before she gave him a grudging nod, although her expression didn’t ease one iota.

He stared after the car long after it disappeared into the distance and he listened.

If only he was certain what he listened for.

 

HL_Marine with benefits_LG

 

She’s his best friend’s sister…

From cradle to grave, Derek and Keith grew up together, enlisted, served, and rose through the ranks together. When Keith died in the field, the last thing he asked for was Derek to keep watch over his sister. But every time Derek is around Kara, he wants to touch her. A promise stands between them and he refuses to seduce his best friend’s baby sister. Determined to get her out of his mind, he signs up for a one-night stand.

He’s the one she wants…

Ever since Kara ran into a shirtless Derek, she’s known he was the one. He promised to bring her brother home and he was there for her at his funeral. But he remains unattainable, no matter their chemistry. Frustrated, she takes a girlfriend’s advice and signs up for a one-night stand.

The last person they expected…

Dressed to kill, Kara doesn’t know whether to scream or cry when Derek turns out to be her date. He’s furious that she’d sign up for a night of sex with a perfect stranger, but together their reunion is combustible and neither can deny the power of their attraction.

He may have been her brother’s best friend, but she wants him to be her Marine with Benefits.

AddtoGoodreads

Purchase Now:

amazon barnesandnoble are_small

Decadent Publishing

 

Excerpt:

He needed to get it together. Tonight was about purging demons and having a good time. When the waitress delivered his jack and coke, he swirled the ice around in the glass, watering down the alcohol. An icy hot shiver skated over his skin. Twisting in the seat, he looked toward the entrance in time to see her walk in the door. It was like every cell in his body leaned in her direction, drawn by the inexorable force of nature that was Kara Childs. He’d know her anywhere.

Steel bands squeezed his chest, compressed his lungs, and bruised his heart. She was gorgeous. A red dress hugged her luscious curves, too much so. His dick stood at attention without a second thought for courtesy, commitment, or promises made. And damn if she didn’t make an entrance, her arrival captured more than a few looks of interest from the single men at the bar and a few not so single men at the tables.

Rising, he crossed the room toward her. The moment her gaze collided with his, heat flashed through him. She had no business being out in a dress like that much less in a club like this.

“What are you doing here?”

“I planned on asking you the same question.” He caught her arm and turned her around, not quite hurrying her back up the red-carpeted steps toward the front door. “And why aren’t you wearing some damn clothes?”

Kara stopped, and unless he planned on picking her up or knocking her over, he had to stop, too. Although, he had to admit the former idea held a certain appeal. “Let go Derek.”

“You shouldn’t be here.” He kept his voice low and leaned into her. The scent of plum and flowery blossoms in the soap she favored smelled like coming home.

“Really?” The cold spray of her gaze flicking over him cooled his ardor. “I live here. What’s your excuse?”

“I’m moving here—moved here.” Yeah, not how he planned to drop this particular bomb.  And from her shocked expression, not one she expected either. “I planned to call you,” and it was a little to late to apologize. “After I settled in.”

Her chest rose with her swift inhale and his gaze dropped to the warm curves of her breasts visible above the strapless line of her dress. That dress was made for her. His cock jerked in his pants and he was grateful for the lower illumination near the door.  “Well, thanks for the notice.” She turned away from him and surveyed the room beyond. “If you’ll excuse me, I have a date.”

Violence rocketed through him. “With who?” He didn’t even realize he gritted his teeth until he tried to speak.

“With a gentleman called none of your damn business,” she tugged her arm out of his grasp.

Flushing hot and cold and then hot again, he moved to stand next to her and studied the room. Who the hell was she meeting in a place like this? How did she even know a bar like this existed? Keith’s baby sister did not belong in a club like this. “Who are you here to see, Kara?” He bent his head, his lips damn near brushing the warm curve of her ear and half tempted to kiss it while he was there. Locking down that urge, he ordered his body to knock it off.

She was—and had always been—way out of bounds.

 

About the Author

 

A national best selling author, Heather Long lives in Texas with her family and their menagerie of animals. In addition to military romance, Heather writes a wide variety of romance from paranormal historical western romance to contemporary romance and romantic suspense. She loves characters and the stories they have to tell.

As a child, Heather skipped picture books and enjoyed the Harlequin romance novels by Penny Jordan and Nora Roberts that her grandmother read to her. Heather believes that laughter is as important to life as breathing and that the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy and Santa Claus are very real. In the meanwhile, she is hard at work on her next novel.

 

Connect with Heather

Website: http://www.heatherlong.net

Email:  heather@heatherlong.net

Blog: http://dailydose-fantasyromance.blogspot.com

Twitter: @HVLong

Facebook: Always a Marine Series ~ Heather Long


Book #Review, Excerpt and Giveaway: ESCAPE TO MY ARMS by Heather Thurmeier

July 16, 2013 Book Review, Book Tour, Favorite Books, Novella/Short Story, Past Giveaways, Romance 8

Welcome to the book tour for Escape to My Arms, a “Prepper Romance” from author Heather Thurmeier and Decadent Publishing! Read my review and enter to win the giveaway!

 

17826845

 

Title: Escape to My Arms (A Prepper Romance)

Author: Heather Thurmeier

Publisher: Decadent Publishing

Publication Date: April 16, 2013

 

About the Book

Sara’s been preparing for this moment her whole life—she just never believed it would actually happen. With her bug-out bag and emergency food already in her truck, her only goal is to get to her family’s hidden bunker and wait out the pandemic that’s hit every major cruise ship port in the US. But her plan quickly falls apart. She’s out of gas, her route to the bunker is now a two-lane parking lot with no alternative in sight, and her only weapon is a pocketknife. For an experienced prepper, she’s made every rookie mistake.

Dane believes he’s safe in his cabin, off the beaten path and in the woods with his own source for water, electricity and an endless supply of food to hunt. After finding Sara stranded and alone, he’s suddenly not only providing for and protecting himself, but also the girl who wandered out of the woods and into his life. When looters come looking to take what he has, Sara and Dane’s only option is to make a run for their last hope—the bunker.

Can Sara and Dane find safety in each other’s arms and will they survive long enough to escape to a future together?

 

My Review

My Rating: 5 Stars!

Yay, yay, YAY; another Prepper Romance! I love these stories; the combination of survivalism and romance. Escape to my Arms has a sexy hero, a strong heroine, plenty of action and danger, and some great, steamy scenes.

Dane is one of my favorite types of men; sexy, rugged, protective, and not afraid to get his hands dirty. Sara is a great compliment to his ruggedness. Feminine, with vulnerability, and a surprising and admirable strength and determination. There’s chemistry between the couple from their initial meeting, though they both try to fight the attraction. But things start to heat up when Sara asks Dane to teach her to fight: a fantastic scene where Dane teaches her to shoot a bow stood out to me for its palpable intensity and sexiness. It’s not long before they can’t keep their hands off one another. Can two people find love as society as we know it is is crumbling around them? I don’t know; but Sarah and Dane decide to seize what time they have together, because who knows what could happen next.

” ‘I want to enjoy this moment, right here, right now, with you. Just for a few minutes, I want to stop being afraid and feel something else. Something good. Something happy. I want to feel that something with you.’ “

In the book’s relatively short length, both the plot and characters are well developed. The story flows smoothly and quickly, slowing down to savor just the right moments. I absolutely loved this story for it’s romance with a rugged edge.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Excerpt

Sara sipped her wine and nibbled on another square of chocolate. He was right. Again.

They didn’t know what would happen in the future. Hell, they didn’t even know if there was a future to look forward to at this point. So why shouldn’t they enjoy the moments like this one while they could? Moments when they were safe, warm, fed, and comfortable. They might not get many more nights like this if things kept getting worse, as they seemed to be. Best to savor the time while you had it instead of squandering it away with fights.

At this point, she didn’t even know what future awaited her at the bunker. Would she live with her family for the rest of their lives, never to interact with people from the outside world again? That’s sort of what they wanted, wasn’t it? Wasn’t that why they hadn’t told anyone about the bunker, because they couldn’t trust anyone?

What if this was her last night on her own? It might be her last night to live her life however she wanted to before she had to start making group decisions with her family.

“You’re right.” She polished off the last of her wine in a big gulp. Her head already swirled with the effects of the alcohol. She’d always been a lightweight when it came to getting drunk. Tonight would be no different. Good thing she’d planned to stop at one this evening. She had other plans for the rest of the night.

“Right about what exactly? I said a bunch of stuff.”

She put her wineglass on the floor and took his hand in hers. “You were right about enjoying this moment we have tonight since we don’t know what the future holds, or even if we have a future.”

“Does this mean I’m forgiven?” He smiled, squeezing her hand.

“Yes. And then some.”

Sara took the wineglass from his hand and set it down next to hers, then straddled his lap, resting her hands on his chest. She pressed her mouth to his, delighting in the surprise on his face.

She wasn’t a throw-caution-to-the-wind kind of girl, but for once she was going to do just that, since she didn’t know if she’d have wind to be cautious of later on. Tonight, she’d live by her feelings. Tomorrow she’d go back to surviving.

 

AddtoGoodreads

amazon barnesandnoble

Decadent Publishing

 

Enter the Giveaway Below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About the Author

I’m a full-time stay at home Mum to two kids and a King Charles pup named Indy. I’m married to the uber-talented and creative Michael Thurmeier. He’s my own personal romance hero. He’s very supportive about my new career as a romance author and happily turns a blind eye to my Hero Hotness Pinterestboard.  In my defense, a girl has to have unrealistic celebrity man-candy inspiration for her books. The muse needs man-candy… And margaritas. And intravenous coffee, black with sugar. However, we do not need spiders.

Now that I’ve published a few books, I feel like I’ve finally found my passion in life. This is it. Writing, telling stories, creating characters—it’s all awesome! I feel blessed that I get to spend my time with my family and my writing. Everyday I live my happily ever after.

Connect with Heather

 Website/Blog

 Email:  hthurmeier@gmail.com

Twitter: @hthurmeier


Author Guest with Malia Mallory!

July 12, 2013 BDSM, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, Favorite Books, Guest Post, Novella/Short Story 2

I’m so excited to have author Malia Mallory back at the blog today! She’s stopping by to share her newest book in the Dominating BDSM Billionaires Series. Read on to find out Malia’s must-haves for a long plane ride… Oh, and lots MORE, including a link to my new review of Book #3 in the series! Enjoy 🙂

 

My Reviews of the Dominating BDSM Billionaires Series:

His Need, Her Desire (Book #1)

His Desire, Her Surrender (Book #2)

**Brand New Review** Her Wish, His Command (Book #3)

*Coming Soon* His Passion, Her Temptation

 

Welcome back Malia! It’s so great to have you here again!

Malia:

I’m very excited about my new release, His Passion, Her Temptation, which is the fourth book in the Dominating BDSM Billionaires Series. His Need, Her Desire (Book 1) is currently free at most online retailers. His Desire, Her Surrender (Book 2) hit bestseller lists in the United States, United Kingdom, Canada and Australia. Her Wish, His Command (Book 3) released in June.

In the book, Monica and her brother, Marcus, take a trip to Hawaii. They are flying from New York and she arrives zonked out because she couldn’t sleep on the plane. I personally know that flying Chicago to Honolulu is a ten-hour flight. For New York, you can probably add two more hours. Ouch, right? So, what can you do to make a long flight more bearable? Here are my suggestions.

1. Pack Light. Seriously, I know this is hard, but how many times have you returned from a trip to find you didn’t even touch some of the things in your suitcase? Packing light means less to lug around and less to keep track of. On a long, crowded flight, consider checking your rollerboard so you can board with a couple carry-ons with things you’ll want for the flight.

2. Rations. We know what flights are like these days. High-priced, not so great food if they even have it. You do NOT want to get on a long flight only to find the sandwiches weren’t loaded in Newark. It happens. Bring food. Even if you purchase something on the flight, you’ll have something for later. You never know when you’ll wind up sitting on the tarmac or hanging around the terminal. Things could be closed or maybe they don’t have anything you want. Bring some non-perishable snacks. I’d advise a bottle of water as well even though you’ll probably be offered drinks on the plane. You don’t want to be dinging the flight attendant at 2 am for water for an aspirin if you can avoid it.

3. Headphones. Bring headphones for your phone or music player. Bring an adapter in case there is in-flight entertainment. You don’t need the $5 headphones if you bring your own. This is truly a flexible tool. You can use it to avoid conversation with you seatmate if you so desire. You can drown out the kids sitting behind you. You can also avoid inflicting your music or video games sounds on those around you.

4. Eye Mask. Also good for avoiding people around you J If you think you might sleep and you have trouble with the light, these are great. What happens if it’s midnight and your seatmate decided he’d like to read a magazine and puts on the light? Be prepared.

5. Entertainment. If you have a Smartphone, you might be set with music, books, games and movies. Now might be the time to spring for a few digital magazines. Download what you want in advance and make sure it is ready to go. You don’t want to find out your newest bestseller is stored in the cloud when you have no internet. Bring your eReader or your laptop or whatever will help. I really recommend the phone because it is small and light. It stinks though for movies so, do what works for you. Consider backups at well. If the person in front of you reclines, it’s possible you won’t be able to get your laptop open. No joke. Have a backup plan and a charger.

6. Dress Comfortably. Now isn’t the time for tight pants and high heels. You can be fashionable while wearing something with a looser fit. If you really need to, change in the bathroom when you get to your destination. I don’t recommend taking off your shoes and I don’t recommend changing into slippers. Your feet might swell, forcing you to disembark along a lot of dirty carpet barefoot. Wear comfortable shoes you’ll be able to keep on.

7. Bring Your Own Pillow and Blanket. There is no guarantee of a pillow or blanket being available for you. Even if you get it, it might not be clean. Bring your own. I purchased a small throw blanket cheap and it rolls up very small. I also bring a tiny pillow. I’m not a fan of the blow up kind. You have no control over how hot or cold the plane might be. You might need a sweater and if you don’t have it, the blanket will do in a pinch.

While I wouldn’t make such thorough provision for a short flight, on a longer trip you have to plan for the contingencies. You won’t be caught out if you are sitting under the air vent that won’t close. You won’t be thirsty if the crew runs out of water. You won’t be hungry if the only food left when they get to your row is a terrible, tuna sandwich. You’ll be set whether your flight is delayed or on time. Happy Traveling!

*****

Need_600x900

His Need, Her Desire (Book 1) is currently FREE at most retail outlets.

Amazon | Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble | iTunes | All Romance | Kobo | Bookstrand

*****

passion_tempt_600x900

His Passion, Her Temptation (Book #4)

Granger Pharma executive Monica Granger is hiding her relationship from her family. She has to. Her lover is the son of her father’s biggest business rival. Ben Coron is more than Monica can resist; he’s everything she’s ever wanted—including dominant in bed.

But when Coron Health makes a play for Granger Pharma, Monica’s relationship—and her life—blow wide open. She loses her job, and her family rejects her. Someone’s stealing Granger’s vital trade secrets, and worse, Monica’s brother is dodging attempts on his life.

Their passion is too strong to keep Monica and Ben apart for long. They must thwart the takeover and heal the rift between their families. If they don’t, they’ll never trust one another enough to pursue the dominance and submission they both need.

*****

His Passion, Her Temptation Excerpt

“So, do you want to eat now … or later?” Monica’s smile turned seductive.

“Well, I think I might need you first.” His hand reached to touch the silkiness of her hair.

“I agree. Food can wait.” Monica pulled his head down and kissed him, greedy to taste his lips.

Without breaking the kiss, Ben guided her out of the hallway into the living room.

Monica slipped her finger under the edge of his collar. “You know, it doesn’t seem fair that you get to call all the shots.”

“Oh? I call all the shots?” Ben’s hands roamed to her rear and squeezed.

“Yes … you decide when and how …” Monica licked the edge of his lip.

“One, that isn’t quite true, and two, I haven’t heard you complaining.” He gave her a playful pinch on the ass.

“Oh no, I’m not complaining.” Her hand moved to the front of his pants, cupping him.

“Then what?” His hands slid down to the back of her thighs.

“I thought it might be fun to … try a little something else.” She rubbed him through the fabric of his pants.

“What did you have in mind?” Ben swept his hands up her back and tangled his fingers in her hair.

Monica tilted her head back. “Do you recall that night before I left for Hawaii?”

“I do believe it is burned into my memory.”

“Sometimes I wonder if it wouldn’t be interesting to reverse things.” Monica observed his face for a reaction.

“Reverse things?”

“Oh yes.” Her finger laid a trail down the front of his chest. “You,” she poked him gently, “would do as I say.”

“I see. Are you finding you have a dominant streak?” he teased.

“I’m not sure, but I have a desire to find out.” The thought of taking charge appealed to Monica, not all the time, but perhaps occasionally.

Ben smiled. “That sounds … enticing.”

“I hoped you’d think so.” Monica walked around him, patting his ass with her palm.

“How would you start?”

“I’d tell you to disrobe for my viewing pleasure.” Monica enjoyed looking at the hard planes of Ben’s body, so different from her own curves.

“Shall I?”

“Oh, yes.” Monica crossed the few steps to the seating area and settled herself into an upholstered chair.

Ben approached Monica and then turned his back toward her. He loosened his tie and pulled it free, tossing it over his shoulder in Monica’s direction before unbuttoning his shirt and letting the fabric fall to the floor. He turned slightly and caught her eye. Monica flushed under his wicked gaze.

*****

His Passion, Her Temptation is available for preview and purchase at the following online retailers.

 

Amazon | Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble | All Romance | Kobo | Bookstrand

Coming soon to iTunes.

 

*****

This month I’m part of the Insatiable Reads Book Tour, where the hottest authors in romance debut their sizzling new reads! We’re touring the web and awarding prizes the whole month of July.

To enter giveaways and meet the other writers, follow us at:

Web Site | Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | Pinterest

*****

widget1

IR Giveaway:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

*****

About Malia Mallory

Malia Mallory lives in Hawaii with her husband and daughter. She’s been working with words since alphabet blocks rolled into her crib, not only writing her own work but copy editing and proofreading the work of others. She has loved to read about relationships since she first sneaked off with her mother’s Harlequin.

Malia Mallory is the best-selling author of The ABCs of Erotica series, which covers the erotic spectrum from BDSM to ménage and everything in between. More releases in the series are on the way. She has also released the Mia’s Cop Craving series and Santa’s Backdoor Baby. Malia’s books have hit the bestselling erotica lists at both Amazon and iTunes. Her books are available in electronic format at major retailers like Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, Sony, Diesel, Smashwords and AllRomance Books.

For a free copy of B is for Beach from The ABCs of Erotica, head to her website and sign up for the newsletter.

*****

MaliaMalloryIcon

Connect with Malia Mallory

Twitter | Facebook | Blog | Web Page | Goodreads | Pinterest | Newsletter