Posts Categorized: Historical Romance

5 Star Book Review and #Giveaway: AN UNWILLING HUSBAND by Tera Shanley (@terashanley)

May 9, 2014 Book Review, Book Tour, Historical Romance, Past Giveaways 0

 photo Banner_zpsb7d1497c.jpg

 

 photo AnUnwillingHusband-small_zps7b091924.jpg
Title: The Unwilling Husband

Author: Tera Shanley

Genre: Historical Western Romance

Release Date: May 5, 2014

Cover Art: Renee Rocco

Publisher: Lyrical Press – A Kensington Imprint

Synopsis

For adventurous Margaret Flemming, arrived from Boston to be with her father, the Old West town of her childhood is a far cry from the drawing rooms and balls of the high society life she’s used to. Her fancy gowns and proper manners have no place in the dusty, cruel land inhabited by Indians and rough cowboys.And her fiercely independent streak constantly gets her in trouble. When tragedy strikes, there’s only one person she can turn to–her childhood friend, Garret Shaw–but he’s disgusted with her Society ways.

With his ranch under attack from the land-grabbing Jennings, the last thing Garret needs is to be saddled with a high-falutin’ lady. Even if she is his friend’s daughter and her kind ways tug at his hardened heart. Duty to her father forces them to wed, but he knows sure as anything, when the chance comes along, she’ll go back to Boston. No matter how much he wants her, loving her is not a risk he can take.

Add to Goodreads

 

Purchase Links

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iTunes | Kobo

 

My Review

 

My Rating: 5 Stars

 

“From the disconcerting way he stared at her, she couldn’t tell if he was going to kiss or kill her.”

I feel like I need to make one of those memes and have it say “I don’t usually read historical romance, but when I do, it’s by Tera Shanley”. It’s true, I don’t generally read this genre but I’m a big fan of the author so I thought I’d give a shot; I’m glad I did. I was rewarded with a totally delightful reading experience as I was transported back to a dusty Texas cattle town and right in to Maggie and Garret’s story.

If it’s going to be historical, I want it to be western. One word… cowboys. Rugged, hard-working, sexy cowboys. Garret Shaw fits the mold perfectly. He’s chiseled and hard from long days of work, brooding and moody, but also loyal and kind in his own way. He loved Maggie once, but that was years ago… he’s not sure he can trust enough to love her again. Then there’s Maggie. She’s absolutely the kind of heroine that makes a book great for me. She has a fantastic inner strength, stubborn determination, a sense of humor, sense of self, and a dirty mouth. She’s beautiful and tough as nails, but has just the right amount of feminine vulnerability. She’s smart and brave and not afraid to do what she believes is right, others’ opinions be damned. Garret and Maggie have some serious chemistry going on. They spend a good part of the story trying to find common ground, fighting with the past and an undeniable attraction. The struggle towards their happily-ever-after is filled with emotion and quite a few exciting misadventures.

“He wanted a piece of her soul. Would wrench it from her body and hold it in her hand. Asked her to trust him with a piece of herself, and she could only think of one thing that held any meaning to her.

‘I’ve loved you since we were children.’ “

This story is not only about Garret and Maggie, though it is their romance that drives the plot line; it’s much bigger. They are surrounded by an entire cast of characters. Lenny is a particular favorite of mine but they’re all great. This cast reminds us that family is not necessarily blood, it truly is the people we choose to surround ourselves with. We can choose our family, and we can choose our home: if you try hard enough, you will find where you really belong. A wonderfully written story shaped by romance, humor, friendship, adventure, and fate; I highly recommend this book… even if you don’t usually read historicals ;).

“The rhythm of the ranch matched those of the seasons and pulled at her heart. The more she saw of this life, the more she loved it.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

 

About the Author

 photo authorpicsmall_zps0e5f8402.jpg
Tera Shanley writes in sub-genres that stretch from Paranormal Romance, to Historic Western Romance, to Apocalyptic (zombie) Romance. The common theme? She loves love! A self-proclaimed bookworm, she was raised in small town Texas and could often be found decorating a table at the local library. She currently lives in Dallas with her husband and two young children and when she isn’t busy running around after her family, she’s writing a new story or devouring a good book.Any spare time is dedicated to chocolate licking, rifle slinging, friend hugging, and the great outdoors. For more information about Tera and her work, visit www.terashanley.com.

FACEBOOK | TWITTER |GOODREADS | WEBSITE

 

Giveaway

$50.00 Amazon Gift Card

2 E-Books of An Unwilling Husband

 

 

 


Book Tour, #Review, and #Giveaway: EMMA: THE WILD AND WANTON EDITION by Micah Persell

May 3, 2013 Book Review, Book Tour, Historical Romance, Past Giveaways 5

Today is the *Unofficial* Historical Fiction Day here at Tattooed Book Review. I have reviews and excerpts from two very different historical romances, each great reads in their own way. Scroll down to the previous post for the second book…Enjoy 🙂

 

 Review Banner

 

Welcome to the Emma: The Wild and Wanton Edition Book Tour! Read on for my review of this sexy re-write of a classic, an excerpt from the book, and a wonderful giveaway.

 

About the Book:

Emma Woodhouse and Mr. Knightley won the literary world’s heart 200 years ago when Jane Austen first penned the story of their friendship-turned-love.  Emma is the young, rich, beautiful heroine with too much time on her hands and an overactive imagination; Mr. Knightley is her long-suffering friend who is always trying to steer her in the right direction.

Their love story is one of deep, dedicated affection blooming into passion.  But what about all of that sexual tension that crackles in the subtext?  In this Wild and Wanton edition of Austen’s classic, Emma and Mr. Knightley burn up the pages as they give in to their baser natures.  Discover the sexy scenes that readers of Emma have been imagining between Austen’s lines since 1815.

 

Emma

 

 

My Review:

 

My Rating: 4 Stars

I am definitely a fan of books that are rewrites of classics, especially when the book is upgraded to a sexier version! This “wild and wanton” rewrite of Jane Austen’s Emma did not disappoint.

I particularly enjoyed that the original text was not changed completely, Persell uses Austen’s original text and adds to it. The transitions are seamless, the writing styles matched extremely well. I like to think that Austen (after getting over a bit of shock) would have welcomed these spicy, but tasteful, additions to her story. I know that I certainly did 🙂

“His hands came up to wrap around her wrists, and he pressed her hands more firmly  against his skin. “Your fingers burn me,” he whispered briefly before pressing another more desperate kiss to her mouth. “Want to feel more of your skin,” he breathed against her lips. And the her shift was gone-lifted up over her head and fluttering to the floor.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Excerpt:

She was his own Emma, by hand and word.

He made a noise that seemed to emanate from deep within his chest, and the light kisses he had been gifting her with continued to travel up from her wrist to her inner forearm, to the hallow of her elbow at which point she completely forgot how to breathe.

He began to talk again, his breath caressing her skin as completely as his lips had seconds ago.  “You have made me a very happy man, my Emma.”  He punctuated the endearment with another kiss to her upper arm.  “I had dared not to hope—” a kiss to her cloth-covered shoulder “—dared not to dream.”

His words trailed off as he pressed an open-mouth kiss to her collarbone.  She felt the sweep of something velvety and wet, and her body jolted as she realised it was his tongue.  She heard herself make a noise, and heard him echo it.

“I am forgetting myself, dearest,” he said hoarsely into the patch of damp skin.  “Remind me,” he begged.  “Remind me of how I should behave.”

Her Mr. Knightley, Emma thought with exultation, always so concerned with how one should behave.  Emma was entirely uninterested in proper behaviour at this moment. “Not yet,” she whispered into his hair, the scent of the garden and sunshine greeting her as she rested her cheek against his head.  “Please not yet.”

He groaned and his kisses moved to the hallow of her throat.  “Your wish, my lady.”

 

Purchase this Book:

Amazon

iTunes

 

Enter the Giveaway Below:

(If you can’t see the rafflecopter, click on the giveaway link or try refreshing your page.)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About the Author(s):

Jane Austen is one of the most beloved authors of all time.  She never married, and as far as we know, she died a virgin.  More’s the pity.

Micah Persell is the award-winning author of the paranormal romance series Operation: Middle of the Garden.  She holds a bachelor’s degree in English and a double master’s degree in English pedagogy and literature, and she found particular delight in driving her professors to madness by imagining the characters’ salacious untold stories during class discussions of “serious literature.”  She is beyond thrilled that the object of her professors’ horror is now her profession.

 Micah Persell

Connect with Micah:

website

twitter

facebook

pinterest

 

CLICK HERE to Follow the Review Tour!


Book Tour and #Review: A NOTE OF SCANDAL by Nicky Penttilla

May 3, 2013 Book Review, Book Tour, Historical Romance 1

 Welcome to the A Note of Scandal Book Tour! Today I have my review and an excerpt from this lovely historical romance.

 

About the Book:

 

What’s the harm in a little white lie?

Especially when it could carry so much good: a new life for a wounded soldier, catharsis after long years of war—and an opportunity for lady composer Olivia Delancey to finally hear her music played in public.

Newspaper publisher Will Marsh refuses to compound the sins of his father’s generation by taking money to print propaganda. But with the end of the wars in France and America, he needs something new to drive Londoners to grab his paper first. Why not publish the score of the “Tune That Took Waterloo,” by a wounded vet, no less?

As Olivia struggles to keep her secrets from this unsuitably alluring publisher, and Will fights to find the truth without losing his hold on this bright-eyed angel who has descended into his life, both discover another sort of truth.

Being the talk of London can be bad—or very, very good.

Interesting elements:

The newspaper-publishing setting is very rare in regencies but fascinating to the author, a former newspaperwoman.

Music plays a big role: Olivia plays pianoforte and Spanish-style guitar; there are three very different concerts in the story.

Water also is big: the hero falls in the sound and nearly drowns; the heroine surprises the hero during a steamy bath.

Olivia lies to help a wounded veteran and he is a strong secondary character. Services and conditions for war veterans were poor at this time.

 

Cover

 

My Review:

 

My Rating: 4 Stars

A lovely, thoughtful, and entertaining regency romance. 

There’s just something I love about a historical romance of this type. It’s sweet, there is very little sex and it’s not graphic at all. However, I always enjoy being reminded of a bygone era, in which simply flashing a bit of ankle was incredibly sexy. When a touch, caress, or kiss, or a single lady being in a man’s residence without a chaperone was dangerously scandalous. Somehow, it offers a bit of perspective and balance to what our world is like now. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE steamy, graphic, kinky sex scenes, but I certainly appreciate the qualities in this type of romance. Even it the confines of modesty, the author still creates a palpable heat, sensuality, and chemistry between Livvie and Will, and the progression of their relationship was definitely one I enjoyed.

In addition to the romance, the book highlights social issues of the time, including women’s rights, and the plight of military veterans returning from war. Not only is the book romantic, but thought-provoking as well.

Penttilla’s writing has a lyrical quality that is perfect for a romance set in this time period and is a lovely compliment to the “musical” undertones of the plot. This is a great read, I would recommend it to all romance fans and especially fans of historical  romance.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Excerpt:

 

“First Kiss”

“I might tell you one of my secrets.” She gave him an oddly timid smile, as if she were unsure of her allure.

“A false promise. You have no secrets from me.”

“No?”

“Not with that expressive mouth. And those eyes.” He stroked her chin. “And that jaw line.”

She leaned into his touch. “Can you be sure?”

“As sure as I am of anything. I knew you were hopping mad when you came in here, and it was not all about me.”

“True.” She lifted her head away, just a fraction, from his hand. “But you didn’t seem to know you’d stung me in Mr. Swizzlewit’s office.”

“I did know. But what you may not have known was that our solicitor had given me the worst of news, and I was angry with the world and ready to lash out. Unfortunately for you, and for me.”

“For you?”

“Most assuredly. For I knew it meant that later I would have to humble myself abjectly and plead for forgiveness.”

“You did not need to.”

“I did. You see, Miss Olivia Delancey, your good opinion means much to me, it turns out. I did not feel right after you left, not until I saw you walk through my door.”

“Such flattery.”

He shrugged. “Truth. We don’t go much in for lying here.”

It was her turn to put her hand over her heart. “I thank you for your kind apology. It is accepted. Now may I do something for you?”

He could imagine many things she could do. Likely none of them were what she was thinking of. “What?”

“Come to Plymouth. I know the town well, and can guide you. We might even arrange to row out and meet the ship in harbor. A first.”

“A scoop.”

“Meet me at our house at Manor Gardens above Union Street. I’ll get you your story.”

How could he say no? “Deal. And a finder’s fee.” He took her jaw in his hand again, thumb over her cheekbone, and pulled her gently toward him. He brushed his lips against hers. The barest whisper of a touch, but it pushed all the thunderclouds from his mind, making way for the sweet warmth of spring sun.

Then she pressed back, and the sun grew hotter. His hips moved of their own accord closer to hers, possessive. Her hand on his chest, over his heart, seared him, marking him as hers.

Footsteps sounded in the hallway, and they pulled away. Her gaze was softly intent, as if she were trying to read his mind. He prayed she could not.

 

Purchase this Book:

Amazon ~ Barnes and Noble

CLICK HERE to enter to win a copy on Goodreads.

 

About the Author:

 

Nicky Penttila writes stories with adventure and love, and often with ideas and history as well. Her favorite settings are faraway cities and countries, because then she *must* travel there, you know, for research. She lives in Maryland with her reading-mad husband and amazing rescue cat. She’s chattiest on Twitter, @sunshinyday, and can also be found at nickypenttila.com and on Facebook.

Nicky-Penttila-4.2Mb-150x112

Connect with Nicky:

Twitter

Website

Facebook Page: Nicky Penttila, author

Goodreads

Pinterest (sometimes)

Present but rarely on: Google+, FriendFeed, new.myspace.com, shelfari, Kindleboards

Member of: Washington Romance Writers (Romance Writers of America), The Beau Monde (RWA), Historical Novel Society, National Association of Science Writers

 

CLICK HERE to visit more stops on this tour!

blacklight-fantasy-1-1-3-1

Book Tour, #Review, and #Giveaway: FORBIDDEN ANGEL by Megan D. Martin

April 24, 2013 Book Review, Book Tour, Historical Romance, Past Giveaways 3

Forbidden Angel Tour banner

 

Welcome to the Forbidden Angel by Megan D. Martin Book Tour! Read my review of this compelling historical romance and enter to win a Kindle!

 

About the Book:

 

When captured by the Nazis, Sarah finds herself in a concentration camp that not only brings her closer to death…but closer to love.

Sarah Brenner, a young Jewish woman, is terrified when she finds herself in the heat of a railcar bound for a work camp in Nazi Germany. For years she, along with her mother and sister, had hidden from the SS, but no one could hide forever. Her hatred for those who have enslaved them is ever-growing, especially when they arrive and she encounters the shockingly handsome Nazi doctor who can’t seem to keep his eyes—or hands—off her.

Aurel Rothstein is not your everyday concentration camp physician. The endless prisoners and lack of care he’s allowed to give have made him numb to the work he so coveted. It isn’t until he comes face to face with a beautiful prisoner that his heart becomes involved with his job—a forbidden and fatal move to any Nazi.

When a vile soldier takes direct interest in Sarah, she will be forced to make a choice that will change her life forever: ignore the pull toward the handsome doctor or give in to the forbidden passion he awakens with only a look. Either way they both risk everything…

 

My Review:

 

My Rating: 4 Stars

In Forbidden Angel, Megan D. Martin tackles an incredibly horrific and heart-wrenching subject: the Jewish Holocaust. However, this story reminds us that even in times of great tragedy and turmoil great love can still exist against all odds.

I will admit that this was at times a difficult book to read:because it portrays real situations. I will not rehash the horrors, but getting through some parts was quite harrowing and extremely emotional.

What kept me reading was the characters: people that were living in inhuman conditions, struggling to maintain some semblance of strength and to simply survive each horrible day. The author brings Sarah and Aurel together, obviously the unlikeliest of couples. She manages to create heat, connection, and chemistry in the midst of such terror and the danger their relationship creates for them. They are complex characters, each brave and but weak in their own way, struggling to come to terms with their feelings about each other and their own hopeless situations. The relationship brings light, warmth, and bit of hope to a story filled with unspeakable horrors. In a dramatic and beautiful climax, it becomes obvious that the perceived rights and wrongs of their relationship are not really all that important, when life and death are the stakes.

“He crossed the space that separated them and wrapped his arms around her as gently as he could. He had no excuse for his actions. There was nothing he could say to make it better. The cold, hard truth was that they were both here, and the only reason for this was because of the circumstances they were in. He couldn’t bring himself to regret meeting her. Something seemed so right about her in his arms. They fit together, almost like it was meant to be.”

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Megan D Martin

Purchase this Book:

Amazon ~ Bookstrand ~ ARe ~ Breathless Press

 

Enter the Giveaway Below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About the Author:

 

Megan D. Martin is a multi-published author, mother, student and editor. In her spare time she enjoys decorating her house with strange things that do not match, playing her old school Nintendo Entertainment System, and buying fish for her many fish tanks. To learn more about Megan, check her out on these social networking sites.

Megan D Martin Author Pic-1

Connect with Megan:

Blog ~ Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Goodreads ~ Google+

 

CLICK HERE to visit more stops on the tour!

Book Tour, Review, and Giveaway: THE VISCOUNT’S PLEASURE HOUSE by Suzi Love

March 27, 2013 Book Tour, Erotica, Historical Romance, Past Giveaways 17

Embrace the Pleasure Tour Banner

 

Welcome to the Embrace the Pleasure Review Tour! Today, I have my review of The Viscount’s Pleasure House the opportunity to win a $20 Amazon or Barnes and Noble Gift Card.

 

About the Book:

Cover

Title: The Viscount’s Pleasure House

Author: Suzi Love

Lady Chrissie Wellsby and her two country friends research dozens of rogues before selecting the notorious Viscount Hawkesbury, owner of London’s most exclusive and expensive brothel, to educate them in erotic seduction. The ladies abandon respectability and coerce Justin Tremayne into letting them visit The Pleasure House and to teaching them the sensual tricks mistresses and prostitutes use to entertain men.

Though Justin believes three naive ladies will see the debauched romps in his themed rooms, cover their eyes and ears, and run back to their sheltered lives, he underestimates the desperation of abandoned women who imagine a wider knowledge of sex will keep the men in their lives at home, in their own beds. But despite watching several of their friends, men and women, perform raunchy acts at his brothel, the ladies insist on participating in the last of Justin’s infamous Sultan’s galas, held in numerous silk tents and outdoor bathing areas on his estate.

Justin concedes to Chrissie’s demands only to gain information about his long-lost mother and sisters, but the world-weary viscount falls head over heels in love with his emotionally bruised pupil. He yearns for a wife, children, and an uncomplicated wife, but can he convinced Chrissie to take a chance and marry again? Because Justin never wants to leave her bed.

 

My Review:

 

My Rating: 4 Stars

I thoroughly enjoyed this sexy, historical romp! I was immediately whisked away to another time and place, and I was quite happy to stay for a while.

I was drawn in by the main characters, especially Justin, the “Virile Viscount”. His is an intriguing, lovable, and flawed character, engaging in the most dishonorable of activities in order to become the honorable man he seems in his heart to be. When Chrissie enters the story, sparks fly and I loved the chemistry the author so easily creates for the pair.

The book has an engaging plot. I was hooked: I wanted to keep reading, find out what happened next, and learn more about the characters. The author creates a vivid and sexy world then captures the reader’s attention. Love flawlessly uses tone, dialogue, and details to completely transport the reader to another time, while still keeping the characters and story relatable and intriguing. I felt like I was inside one of the period films I so adore. Though there is drama, heartache, and intensity, there is also an underlying sense of humor. I often caught myself smiling as I turned the pages.

The characters, plot, steamy sex, and beautiful romance combined with the extremely well done historical aspect of the book make this a great read!

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Excerpt:

Justin, Viscount Hawkesbury, stepped closer and in reaction the black-clad lady moved back. As if remembering her reasons for coming, she shook her head and moved that same pace forward. Not as close as before, yet near enough to appear fearless.

He sighed, and rubbed a fist across his aching eyes. “I’m fatigued, out of sorts, and my friends and I have business to conduct. Either join in, or leave.”

He waved towards the door, hoping she’d walk out and leave him in peace, but also hoping, ridiculously, that she’d unveil, undress, and stay. Because something about this particular woman was different. Something about her stirred his first true sexual interest in many months.

He smiled a little. “I’d still like to see a little more of you. I can’t even see the color of your hair.” He pointed towards her groin. “Top or bottom. Here, let me unbutton you,” he said, his fingers set to work on her top button, brushing the soft skin of her nape as he did so.

She flinched and held tight to the gaping neck of her dress with clenched fists.“Please. Listen to me. I’m not seeking employment.”

“Ah, then you’re simply a bitch in heat like all the others. Wanting a lusty tale to recount to your upper-class friends over tea and cake. Perhaps compare notes on Viscount Hawkesbury’s infamous prowess.”

Her quick series of breaths hissed and sizzled like water spitting on hot coals. He heard the girls tut-tutting nearby, but taunting, teasing, and arousing the lioness who’d dared brave his den so late at night had proved too delicious a temptation to resist. Only one more jest at her expense and then he’d summon the butler and a couple of strong footmen, and bid her farewell.

He turned, slowly and deliberately, and spoke to his two friends. “Gentlemen, which of you is capable of keeping your prick upright long enough to provide such a lusty lady with the thrill she so clearly came to my house seeking?”

Justin knew that in their heightened state of inebriation, neither Bart nor Thomas would be capable of servicing any girl tonight. And the Virile Viscount had given up such jaunts. The only business he involved himself in now was the palace and even then he kept a very low profile. By next month, he’d no longer own that either. His pleasuring days were finished. Investing in the rapidly expanding railway tracks and steam engines was far more profitable, and respectable, for a man who hoped to bring his mother and sisters home to live with him.

Thomas, red-faced, lurched to his feet. “I say, Justin, she seems like a lady.”

“Thomas, you should know by now, on the outside they’re all ladies. However, underneath they all seek the same thing.”

The woman flinched. Justin yawned, not bothering to cover his mouth, and then collapsed back into his armchair. Leaning his head back on the headrest, he laughed.

“My love, if you’ve better to show me than them, do as I’ve asked. Undress!”

She muttered something that sounded like, “Rude swine.”

He laughed and indicated the empty space on the chaise longue beside Bart. “If you’re suffering personal timidity, at least take a seat and watch. Give the girls your opinion on what tricks attract gentlemen the fastest. What do you do to entice a man?”

Her hands fisted at her sides but she stood her ground. “I realize you’re amusing yourself at my expense, but I give you fair warning, my lord. If you continue with these childish taunts and force me to leave without letting me speak to you, in private, you’ll regret it later.”

He pointed to the door. “And I’m also issuing a warning. Join in or leave. Perkins will show you out. I’ve run out of patience with the so-called weaker sex and the schemes and lies that women seem to delight in bringing to my door. ”

Bart spat out an uncouth curse while Thomas muttered under his breath, both scolding him for his rudeness. Disgust suddenly flooded Justin’s body and the heart he’d assumed was frozen in his chest clenched, hard. Despite being forced into unseemly money making ventures, the three of them had vowed to remain, at heart at least, gentlemen. They all needed to take their places in society, which was why Justin never usually entertained this sort of female at his house. Too many watching neighbors and too many wagging tongues in this respectable neighborhood.

Had he now passed the point of no return? Had the indecent acts he’d committed, all to either survive or earn his some of the ready, tainted his thinking to this extent? It terrified him that his morals were as lost as those idiots who assumed a title and riches gave a man leeway to be rude, arrogant, and even to inflict pain on those they considered inferior.

He’d picked out this woman and had intended on using her as an example, encouraging her to pass along his message to long line of societal whores who would continue to plague him. He wanted to stand in the street and scream and yell,“The Virile Viscount is finished!”

Behavior such as his here showed the arrogance he’d always deplored. Rude attacks on a woman were despicable, and it was especially ill-bred of him to tease and taunt what he now suspected was a well-bred lady. But he’d underestimated the woman’s pluck, or perhaps her determination to make herself heard.

“Be warned, my lord, I shall return. Tomorrow. Early. Very Early. And if you refuse to speak with me, I’ll haunt your house until you are prepared to listen to me.”

Her ferocious expression made him burst out laughing again. Bart wiggled his eyebrows in a suggestive manner and held out his hand to encourage the woman to take a seat on the thigh of the woman he still held.

“I like her, Justin. Can I have her?”

“Feel free, Bart. If you dare! Though I suspect Thomas is correct. I’ve come to the unwilling, and unfortunate, conclusion that she’s not here to audition for the Harem.”

“Certainly not.” Her tone was icy. “I’m offering you an exchange. Your skill in tutoring my friends in return for information.”

“Regrettably, my services are no longer for hire.”

She inhaled so sharply he swore her ribs vibrated. Then she made her announcement.“If I leave this room, I’ll take with me what may be your last chance to see your mother. Alive, at any rate.”

 

Purchase this book:

Crimson Romance ebooks

Amazon

B&N

iTunes

Bookworld Australia

All Romance

Books On Board

Goodreads

 

Enter the Giveaway:

(If you can’t see the rafflecopter, click on the giveaway link or try refreshing your page.)

a Rafflecopter giveaway


About the Author:

Suzi Love lives in a sunny part of Australia and loves to travel – anywhere and everywhere.

Her romances, ranging from sexy to erotic, are set in Britain, Australia, and the South Pacific, while her historical romances take place during her beloved late Regency to very early Victorian years. Best of all, Suzi loves exploring the many-layered and ever-changing aspects of society from the end of the Regency through to Queen Victoria’s very early reign.

Her titled heroes and heroines may appear to live privileged lives in and around London, but these strong characters challenge traditional manners, morals, and occupations, either through necessity or desire, and expose the seamier sides of tonnish life. Though Suzi’s books often have a grittier side, she tries to make history fun, one year at a time.

Apart from writing and reading, her favorite thing is traveling. She loves to visit historically famous places and speak with fascinating people and uses her research in her vivid and romantic books.

Author Pic

 

Connect with Suzi Love:

Glos.si Magazine – Suzi Love’s Web roundup

Suzi Love’s Daily Gossip Newspaper

Web / blog

Pinterest

Goodreads

Suzi Love Face Book

Suzi Love’s Face Book Author Page

Twitter

Diigo Research Links

Delicious

Picasa Web Albums

Google +

Flickr

LinkedIn  

 

Other places I blog:

Sultry Scribes – Aussie romance authors

Historical Hearts – Australian historical romance authors

Ladies in Red – Crimson Romance authors

 

 


Book Review: THE BLIND CUPID by Karyn Gerrard

December 31, 2012 Book Review, Erotica, Historical Romance, Novella/Short Story, Romance 2

 

Title: The Blind Cupid

Author: Karyn Gerrard

Publisher: Decadent Publishing

Release Date: December 14, 2012

 

My Rating: 4 Stars

 

 

 

Another story in The Edge Series

Was cupid blind?

Anne Sommer, a spinster firmly on the shelf, does the unthinkable. She hires a man to give her pleasure for one night. Anne wants the erotic memories to keep her company in the lonely years ahead. She did not expect the young man who showed up at her door to move her in ways she never imagined.

Desmond Glover gives pleasure—for a price. An orphan whose childhood was mired in scandal and poverty, Desmond has learned to close off his emotions with regard to his occupation. He did not count on a lonely spinster to awaken his hidden passion.

Not only do the years separate them, but their social standings. Can Anne and Desmond cross such a chasm and find mutual desire—or love?

 

This is a well written, erotic and sensual historical romance, set in Victorian era England. It has an engaging storyline, and interesting characters.

Desmond and Anne have such different backgrounds and life-stories, but ultimately they ache for the same thing: a partner in love and in lust.

With steamy sex, a beautiful and damaged male lead, and a bit of romance, this is a thoroughly enjoyable short story. It is edgy and a bit dark, punctuated with sexual heat. It’s perfect for a single sitting, maybe waiting for an appointment; try not to squirm 😉

*I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Purchase this book [amazon_link id=”B00ANEKKOE” target=”_blank” container=”” container_class=”” ]AMAZON[/amazon_link]

Decadent Publishing