Posts Categorized: Urban Fantasy

5 Star Book Review and #Giveaway: DIVINITY by Patricia Leever

November 12, 2013 Adult, Book Review, Book Tour, Paranormal Romance, Past Giveaways, Urban Fantasy 1

Divinity Banner

Welcome to the Divinity by Patricia Leever Book Tour! Read my 5 Star review and enter to win one of five ecopies of the book and the prequel!

 

CLICK HERE to follow the tour 🙂

 

About the Book

 

Cover ~ Divinity

 

Title:   Divinity (Divinity #1)

Author:  Patricia Leever

Genre: Supernatual Romance

Publication Date:  September 25, 2012

Publisher:  Omnific Publishing

Event organized by: Literati Author Services, Inc.

Demons.

They’re everywhere, hiding in plain sight. Chances are, you’ve interacted with one or two of them in your lifetime without even realizing it…

Demon hunter Evelyn Brighton saves unsuspecting humans from the malevolent creatures masquerading around them every day. Working under the Lebriga Corporation’s direction, she never fails to bring her A-game with her keen skill, fiercely independent spirit, and the best weapon in her arsenal: the Divinity blade.

Evelyn’s world is turned on its ear, however, when she is ordered to train cocky new recruit Daniel Summers. They both feel an instinctive pull drawing them to one another, the ancient spells tattooed into their skin illuminating whenever the two hunters come into contact. But with evil looming over the city of Los Angeles, Evelyn and Daniel’s mutual competitiveness and sense of duty to Lebriga and all humankind forces them to hold back their desires. Will their restraint be enough to keep them focused and save southern California, or will the dark forces prevail?

Set in modern-day Los Angeles, Divinity is an action-filled, fast-paced marriage of urban fantasy and paranormal romance. Edgy, witty, and sexy, it will bind you in its spell.

AddtoGoodreads

amazon

 

My Review

 

My Rating: 5 Stars

“All of it was wonderful and maddening at the same time. The two of us were like oil and water, and we were either going to kill each oner or screw each other stupid. If I had anything to say about it, it would be the latter.” -Daniel

Fun, fast-paced, action-packed, and romantic, Divinity is a fantastic paranormal read.

Evelyn is a century old demon hunter, with a fear of getting close to a man. She’s a kick-ass heroine, a focused killer with a tons of sass, but she’s seen what happens when a hunter loses the one they love, and she refuses to take the risk. Enter Daniel, the new recruit. Sexy as hell, with a cocky attitude, this talented rookie hunter makes Evelyn feel something she’s never felt before. The chemistry between this couple is undeniable; sexual at first, but morphing into something more. Their story and connection is sizzling and fun, filled with witty banter and stolen kisses and touches, eventually punctuated by real and intense emotion. I couldn’t get enough of this couple together. They are not just attracted to one another, it is clear that this couple belongs together.

The author tells the story from both Daniel’s and Evelyn’s points of view. The transitions are perfect, the book flows smoothly. The writing is clean and easy, just the right amount of detail when it counts, allowing for fast-paced action, great fight scenes, well realized settings, witty banter, balanced humor, and palpable emotions. A great cast of secondary characters adds another layer to the story.

A great read for paranormal romance an urban fantasy fans, this book is “unputdownable”: a perfect combination of romance, action, and magic. This chapter has a conclusive and satisfying ending, but I can only hope that we will get to read more of this series.

“In the ring and out in the field, I was in charge, I called the shots, and I was the one pushing him to mental and physical capacity. But this, right here, was where he ruled; this was where he pushed me to my breaking point, and Heaven help me, I liked the feeling of being putty in his skilled hands, bending to his will and trembling at his every touch.” -Evelyn

*I received complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Enter the Giveaway Below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About the Author

 

Author Pic ~ Patricia Leever

 

Patricia Leever is a wife, stay-at-home mom of four and owner of one dog and one really old cat. On the average school day she runs about town like a lunatic picking up and dropping off kids and trying to find a moment of quiet to write down a word or two.

She’s a sci-fi geek that loves to dress up like a zombie and participate in the local zombie march down Main St. and laugh as much as possible; laughter frees the mind and heals the soul.

Live. Breathe. Write.

Connect with the Author:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

 


Book Review and Excerpt: BROKEN DOLLS by BR Kingsolver (@brkingsolver)

November 4, 2013 Adult, Book Review, Book Tour, Urban Fantasy 2

Broken Dolls Banner Tour 450 x 169

Welcome to the Broken Dolls by BR Kingsolver Book Tour! This is not my usual romance/erotica but something I think fans of mystery/suspense with a bit of paranormal mixed in will enjoy! Read my review and an excerpt from the book… The ebook is only $0.99!

 

About the Book

 

Broken Dolls

BR Kingsolver

 Genre: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Suspense

Number of pages: 235

Word Count: 79,600

Cover Artist: Mia Darien

 

Private investigator RB Kendrick makes her living nailing cheating spouses, digging up other dirt to help in a divorce, finding long-lost relatives, and occasionally sniffing out criminal activity and fraud.

When she takes a job to find a missing girl, she has no idea she is headed for the most dangerous case of her career. Usually, her ability to read minds gives her an edge. But when the people she’s hunting are also telepaths, that advantage is limited.

The search takes her into the dark underbelly of telepathic society, where anything, and anyone, is for sale. She discovers that telepathic women and girls are being trafficked as the ultimate sex slaves.

With people trying to kill her, she’s on the run, not knowing who she can trust. Will she find the missing girl, or become a victim herself?

 

AddtoGoodreads

amazon barnesandnoble

 

My Review

 

My Rating: 4 Stars

“He dropped my right arm. I raised the pistol a pressed the barrel under his chin. His eyes widened. I hesitated, a part of me horrified at what I was doing. I was killing a man I had slept with. A man who had been tender and loving. A man who had briefly made me feel less alone. A man who planned to wipe my mind and enslave me. I pulled the trigger.”

A great reads for fans of action-packed mystery and suspense. Broken Dolls has the added bonus of a fantasy/paranormal twist and a sexy-as-hell, kick-ass female heroine.

RB (Rhiannon) Kendrick, is a telepath, and a powerful one at that. When a clan leader asks her to try and mind a missing telepath, she’s discovers a dangerous human trafficking ring, and as the story goes on, she finds out that this ring reaches far and wide. Government officials, powerful bankers, and powerful telepaths are all involved, and the human trafficking is just another layer of shaky and often violent clan politics. The plot line is quite in depth; though the plot moves quickly, with tons of action, there are a lot of key players. There’s a ton of information to absorb: Gifts, clans, people and places are thrown at the reader in quick succession. The author does a very good job in filling in information and background as necessary (there’s also important info provided in a forward and appendix) and keeping the story moving. Intense action sequences and moments of pure tension and suspense kept me on the edge of my seat for much of the book.

Our heroine, Rhiannon, is a fantastic female lead. She’s smart, sexy, and powerful, at times feeling like a superhero, and other times human and vulnerable. She usually works alone, and struggled with the amount of other people required to help her in this operation, but I loved her genuine interactions with them and the depth that the secondary characters brought to the story.

This book is paranormal mystery/suspense, with no romance and most sex was “off camera”. But, the story has a sexy edge: many of are main cast are extremely beautiful telepaths who aren’t afraid of their beauty or the effect they have on men. And these women will stop at nothing to end the men who might exploit these gifts in others of their kind. Much of the content is dark: they are dealing with sex-trafficking, and there are violent conflicts between good and evil, but there is humor added to balance it out. Overall, a great read for both fans of paranormal/fantasy and mystery/suspense.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Excerpt

 

I walked into the restaurant to meet my prospective client, scanned the diners and slipped into the booth with her. She started to say something, then her eyes widened and nothing came out of her open mouth.

“Mrs. Sanders? I’m RB Kendrick,” I said, extending my hand.

“Oh, my,” she breathed. “The description you gave me is wholly inadequate.” She stared at me for a minute, then said, “Copper.”

Confused, I looked around. There weren’t any police in there. “Huh?” I said intelligently.

“Your hair. It’s not ginger, it’s like polished copper. It shines.”

Women notice different things than men. As I suspected from our conversation on the phone, Sylvia Sanders was a norm and so was her husband. What I read in her mind matched what she told me verbally. It’s so much easier when clients tell you the truth. I understood why she had suspicions about her husband. The changes in his behavior and schedule screamed other woman to me also.

“So what do you want, Mrs. Sanders? A report, photos, a confrontation? A basic report of what and who he is or is not doing will run a thousand pounds. Photos catching them in the act are another thousand, if I can get them. Unlike the telly, most people don’t conveniently provide evidence in front of windows with the shades open. If you want to confront him in the act, I’ll accompany you for an additional fifteen hundred pounds.”

She blanched at my rates.

“If what he’s doing isn’t obvious, and I have to put him under surveillance for an extended period, my rates are five thousand a week.”

“I don’t think that will be necessary,” she said with a quiver in her voice. She gave me a thousand and I wrote down all the pertinent information.

“I’ll check on it this afternoon. I’m going to be out of town for a few days,” I told her. “If I don’t find anything by tomorrow morning, I’ll call you when I get back.”

“Thank you, Miss Kendrick. This has been going on for several months. I don’t think it’s going to change.”

“Mrs. Sanders, you need to think about what you’re going to do if your suspicions are correct. Are you going to confront him and hope he ends it? Or do you plan to divorce him? It’s something you should decide before hand.”

“I want a divorce,” she said. “I know he’s cheating on me. He called a little while ago and told me he had to work late this evening.”

~~~

Edward Sanders worked about a mile away. I took the Tube to his building. About twenty minutes after I arrived, I saw him come out and head for the Tube station. Obviously, he wasn’t working late.

I followed him and sat behind him on the train. I read his mind to get his destination, then sat back and used my phone to check my email.

When we left the tube station, I took a slightly different route than Sanders to reach the house of his mistress. I stood across the street and watched as she answered the door for him. I could understand why he was attracted to her. She was even more beautiful than what I had expected from the images in his mind.

I read her mind, also. She was the lonely trophy wife of a successful businessman who traveled often. Edward Sanders was good looking, and twenty years younger than his mistress’s husband. She wasn’t in love with him, but considered him a wonderful diversion. He wasn’t in love with her, either, but was infatuated that such a rich and beautiful young woman wanted him.

The shades in the living room weren’t drawn, and the amorous couple started their activities immediately upon his entering the house. I pulled my camera from my bag and walked across the street and across her lawn. There was a small tree in an ugly plastic pot sitting in the middle of the lawn, and I had to detour around it.

I could see glimpses of the lovers through the living room window, but reflections in the glass prevented me from a good view. It appeared he was doing her on the dining room table. This was going to be the easiest thousand pounds I’d ever made.

I was so focused on what was going on inside that I didn’t see the hole hidden by the small tree sitting in front of it. I should have realized what a potted tree was doing on the lawn. Someone planned to plant it.

I took a step and my left foot found only air. The world spun around and the camera slipped out of my grasp. My chin hit something hard and I bit my tongue.

When I came to my senses, my right leg was sticking straight up and the rest of me lay twisted in the bottom of a hole. My chin felt like it was on fire, and my tongue hurt like mad. It took me some time to get myself situated and crawl out onto the grass. I looked back. The hole was about two feet deep. I spit, and a spot of bright red blood landed on the green lawn.

I picked up my camera and checked it to make sure it was still working. Looking around, I didn’t see anyone. I waited until my head stopped spinning, then crept up to the window. They were still going at it on the table. I took some pictures, but had to wait for them to shift positions so I could get his face. After a few minutes, I had all I needed.

A sudden noise behind me caused me to turn around. A white-haired woman with binoculars hanging from her neck stuck her head out of the window of the house next door.

“You clumsy cow,” she shouted at me. “Get out of the way. You’re blocking the view.”

I retreated in a hurry, and she raised the binoculars, trained on the window through which I’d been snapping pictures.

Case closed. I walked back to the Tube and went home, holding a handkerchief to my still-bleeding mouth.

 

About the Author

 

I made silver and turquoise jewelry for almost a decade, ended up in nursing school, then took a master’s in business. Along the way I worked in construction, as a newspaper editor, a teacher, and somehow found a career working with computers.

I love the outdoors, especially the Rocky Mountains. I’ve skied since high school, with one broken leg and one torn ACL to show for it. I’ve hiked and camped all my life. I love to travel. I’ve seen a lot of Russia and Mexico, not enough of England. Amsterdam is amazing, and the Romanian Alps are breathtaking. I was in Paris and Iceland this summer.

I have a very significant other, two cats and two Basset Hounds. I’m currently living in Baltimore, nine blocks from the harbor, but still own a home in New Mexico.

Connect with the author

Website ~ Blog ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Goodreads ~ Amazon

 

Bewitchingbutton

 

 

 


Book Review and #Giveaway: DREAMS OF THE CURSED (Dreamers #2) by Allie Jean (@alliejeands)

November 1, 2013 Book Review, Book Tour, Fantasy Romance, Past Giveaways, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult 9

 Dreams of the Cursed Allie Jean

Welcome to the Dreams of the Cursed (Book #2 in the Dreamers Series) by Allie Jean Book Tour! Read my review and enter the fantastic giveaway! Enjoy!

CLICK HERE to follow the tour!

 

About the Book

 

Dreams of the Cursed

Dreamers #2

By: Allie Jean

A secret war has waged underneath the notice of humanity since the beginning. The Warriors inherited this fight and are honor bound to rid the world of an ancient evil by guarding the most precious, piercing light against the darkness – their female kin known as the Oracles.

Chantal Breelan has suffered from horrific nightmares for most of her life, believing something to be wrong with her to have such visions of destruction. But when creatures of darkness came crawling out of the shadows to hunt her down, her dreams became reality.

Now, Chantal has picked up the reigns of her birthright and stood by her Warrior kin. She’s on a mission to rescue others like herself. Yet in this challenge a battle of wits is exposed. New players are discovered, throwing strategies into question. When the truth comes to light, can Chantal hold her band of brothers together, or will they crumble under the weight of betrayal.

 

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00074]

AddtoGoodreads

amazon barnesandnoble

View the Book Trailer HERE!

 

My Review

 

My Rating: 4 Stars

“Dark versus Light, Evil versus Good… the war raged on, intense and to the death, hidden away from the wary eyes of humanity.”

An excellent read for fans of action-packed fantasy with a strong female lead, Dreams of the Cursed is a great follow-up to the first book in the series.

Chantal is not a damsel in distress, far from it actually. She’s tough, smart, and brave. She has faced and conquered so many obstacles in her young life, including the revelation that she is of a race she never imagined when she thought she was merely a human. She’s a fighter and a leader, but still a girl, still touched by romance. Chantal is funny and real, with an entertaining and accessible voice and perspective and I rooted for her throughout the whole story.

The book has a well-realized and fully fleshed out fantasy elements. The plot has tons of action and is very fast moving, but the world building is still smoothly integrated in to the story. The reader is provided a clear picture of this often frightening fantasy realm that exists alongside our own and the beings that inhabit it: some good, some evil, and some we just can’t be sure of just yet.

This book succeeds as a second book in a series: it answers the questions of the first book, while providing more question to be answered in another story. I do think that reading Legacy of a Dreamer, book #1 in the series, will make this book more enjoyable, but the author does a good job of providing some background so that first time readers won’t be completely stranded. We get to know the characters better and are drawn even deeper in to their world, personal relationships, and emotions, leaving the reader invested in and eagerly anticipating what is to come next in this series.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

Enter the Giveaway Below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About the Author

 

Allie Jean was born with an overactive imagination. She spent her childhood inventing stories and telling tales. Her mind never shut down, even while she slept. Vivid dreams containing extensive, elaborate plot lines of good overcoming evil villains captured her nightly visions, lingering into her waking hours and filling the pages of her well-loved bounded diaries. She was encouraged by her parents, even at a young age, to write down her tales, and it has remained a somewhat secret hobby. As a busy wife, mother and critical care nurse, Allie’s love of storytelling has been reborn through the adventures of her unforgettable characters.

Connect with Allie Jean

Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Goodreads

 

 


#Review and #Giveaway: LIGHTNING RIDER by Jen Greyson

May 25, 2013 Book Review, Book Tour, New Adult, Past Giveaways, Urban Fantasy 4

Lightning Rider large blog tour button

Welcome to the Lightning Rider Book Tour! Read my review and comment on this post for a chance to win an ecopy of the book!

 

About the Book:

 

For Evy Rivera, thunderstorms have always caused her physical pain, but she’s never known why. When a record-setting storm arrives on the same night her father finds ancient ancestral documents, Evy is set aglow with mysterious tiny lightnings she can command.

Even worse, she alerts some people in the universe who’ve been looking for her family for a very long time.

Thrown back into ancient Spain and tasked with killing a Spanish legend, she must train alongside Constantine, a sexy yet obstinate Roman warrior. He teaches her how to wield her lightning as a weapon, through more errors than trials. With a relationship as explosive as their late-night training sessions, Evy and Constantine battle their push-pull relationship while trying to ignore the two-thousand-year difference in their birthdates.

Ilif Rotiart, her quasi-mentor, is appalled at Evy’s skill. He would prefer to train her father and keep Evy on the sidelines—where women belong. Evy has a feeling Ilif is keeping something from them, but she must play nice until she uncovers the truth. And if he’s lying, it will be the worst day of his four-hundred-year life.

Penya Sepadas claims she’s Evy’s rightful trainer, and she has the prophecy to prove it. Penya doesn’t share Ilif’s misogynistic attitude, but she does have her own agenda…and her own secrets.

Evy must sort through the lies and find the truth behind her family’s time-traveling past before the wrong history obliterates the future. She’s spent her whole life fighting for her place. Now, as the first female lightning rider, she’ll dedicate her existence to fighting to save the world.

But will Evy learn to manage her lightning and find the truth before it’s too late?

 

lightning_rider

 

AddtoGoodreads

amazon

BarnesandNoble

TWCS

*Don’t forget to comment on this post for a chance to win a copy of the book!

 

My Review:

 

My Rating: 4 Stars

Original, exciting, and action-packed with a kick-ass heroine and a super-sexy alpha male. I really enjoyed this book!

Evy, a welder and motorcycle builder, is at a low point in her life when she discovers she is the only female in a long line of “Lightning Riders” or time-travelers. It is the very difficult job of a Lightning Rider to travel through time and change the future for the better. Quite a daunting task! Evy shows great strength and courage, and with some coaxing takes the challenge head-on. The author cleverly gives the reader glimpses into Evy’s head and her often humorous inner-dialogue, adding another layer to the story and Evy’s character.

Traveling to ancient Spain, Evy discovers her destiny, which includes Constantine. A super-sexy ancient warrior, his and Evy’s relationship is fraught with delicious and electric sexual tension. I enjoyed the relationship between these strong characters. She is not a damsel in distress; he sees her strength and trains her to be even stronger. The author did a fantastic job of creating a connection between Evy and Constantine; a chemistry that is greater than time and space.

The beginning of the story is a bit difficult to grasp at first. There is a lot of information thrown at the reader. It’s necessary to simply suspend disbelief and go with it; I’m glad that I did! I was rewarded with a clever and exciting page-turner, an interesting cast of characters, and the potential for an epic series.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

About the Author:

 

From the moment she decided on a degree in Equestrian Studies, Jen Greyson’s life has been one unscripted adventure after another. Leaving the cowboy state of Wyoming to train show horses in France, Switzerland, and Germany, she’s lived life without much of a plan, but always a book in her suitcase. Now a wife and mom to two young boys, she relies on her adventurous, passionate characters to be the risk- takers.

Jen also writes university courses and corporate training material when she’s not enjoying the wilds of the west via wakeboard or snowmobile.

jgreyson

Connect with Jen:

Facebook

Goodreads

Website

Twitter: @jengrayson

5 Star Book Reviews: PLAGUE TOWN and PLAGUE NATION by Dana Fredsti

April 16, 2013 Book Review, Favorite Books, Urban Fantasy 0

I’m super excited to share these books with you. I realize that they are not really “romance”, but there is a romance as part of the story, some sex, and a hot guy! I enjoyed both books immensely, and I hope you check them out 🙂

*Both of the reviews originally appeared in the April issue of the BTS eMag.
CLICK HERE to view the Emag!

 

plaguetown

 

Title: Plague Town

Author: Dana Fredsti

Publisher: Titan Books

Publication Date: April 3, 2012

 

My Rating : 5 Stars

 

 

 

About the Book:

Ashley was just trying to get through a tough day when the world turned upside down.

A terrifying virus appears, quickly becoming a pandemic that leaves its victims, not dead, but far worse. Attacked by zombies, Ashley discovers that she is a ‘Wild-Card’ — immune to the virus — and she is recruited to fight back and try to control the outbreak.

It’s Buffy meets the Walking Dead in a rapid-fire zombie adventure!

 

My Review:

I want to be Ashley Parker when I grow up!

This action-packed zombie adventure features Ashley Parker: a cool, sexy, bad-ass zombie fighting heroine. Her inner and outer strength, quirky sense of humor, and relatable vulnerability make Ashley one of my favorite female leads of all time. Put her in the midst of the motley crew of immune “Wild Cards” that are her supporting cast and the result is a brilliant group of characters.
As they fight to contain a budding zombie outbreak, our characters face gory battles with rotting zombies and struggle to come to terms with the fact that their lives are forever changed. Despite the dramatic horror aspects of the book, Fredsti manages an undertone tinged with humor. All of this, with a touch of romance and an epic climactic battle make this a fantastically addictive first book in the series.

* I was provided a copy of the book by BTS eMag for purpose of an honest review. I was not compensated for this review – all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

Purchase this Book:

Amazon

 

plaguenation

 

Title: Plague Nation

Author: Dana Fredsti

Publisher: Titan Books

Publication Date: April 9, 2013

 

My Rating: 5 Stars

 

 

 

About the Book:

Sequel to the thrilling zombie novel PLAGUE TOWN.

The undead have been defeated in Redwood Grove, CA, but reports of similar outbreaks are coming in. What seemed to be an isolated event is turning into a pandemic.  The last thing Ashley Parker wanted when she went to college was to join the military, but she is one of a select few who are immune to the virus. Gifted with enhanced speed, strength, and senses, she’s recruited by a shadowy international organization that’s existed for centuries, its sole purpose to combat the zombie threat.

Dark secrets begin to emerge, and when an unknown enemy strikes, Ashley and the other zombie hunters—known as “wild cards”—embark on a desperate mission to reach San Francisco. If they fail, the plague will sweep the nation unchecked. And the person she cares for most may die. Or worse.

 

My Review:

What?! It’s done?! But… What about…?!

The second book in the Ashley Parker series could be read as a stand-alone, but the first book is too good to miss!

As a zombie outbreak worsens and threatens the entire country, Ashley and a band of misfit “Wild Cards” must face more zombie mayhem in this gory, action-packed and entertaining thrill-ride. As the situation becomes dire, the mood becomes darker and bleaker. Even Ash’s constant, witty pop-culture references have a dark tinge. As we become more attached to the characters, their mortality is brought to the forefront, and we must watch sadly as their strength and bravado deteriorates, along with the civilized world.

Questions are answered but more are raised and a dramatic cliffhanger left me desperate for more of this clever and addicting horror series.

*I was provided a copy of the book by BTS eMag for purpose of an honest review. I was not compensated for this review – all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

Purchase this Book:

Amazon